We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolute Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I enjoyed two nights at Riad Farnatchi after three days trekking in the Atlas Mountains. It is the perfect solution for some peaceful relaxation and an escape from the hustle and bustle of the souks. All of the staff were so helpful, allowing us to get the best out of our stay. They booked us a restaurant, gave us hints and tips about the city and showed us how to get around. We took advantage of the excellent on site facilities including a massage and the hamam. There is a roof terrace for enjoying breakfast overlooking the city or if the weather isn't so good there are various lounges to eat and relax in. The traditional decor is very impressive as well. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
152
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi in February for five days. From the moment I arrived from the airport, their hospitality and attention to detail were exceptional. I stayed in Suite 8, and it was enormous. It has a beautiful living area, log fireplace (which was lit for me each night), balcony, comfortable bed and pillows, separate shower and toilet, sunken tub, Molton Brown toiletries, bottled water, fruits, snacks and a turn down service (with rubber hot bag to keep the bed warm...toasty and cosy). The canapés were delicious and served early evening every day. Breakfast and dinner were simply exquisite - perfectly cooked, very tasty, fresh and imaginative, and they served whenever you are ready and wherever your heart desires (in your suite, dining area or rooftop terrace). They also arranged private tour guides for me and gave recommendations regarding shopping in the souks. I had the Hammam/Gommage and an hour massage at the Riad which I highly recommend. The location is a short walk to many of the sights, and such a lovely oasis of calm and luxury. James, Murad, Mariam, Saida and the entire team did a fabulous job in making my trip so memorable and wonderful. No request was too much for them and always smiling. Riad Farnatchi is definitely the place to stay when in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have just returned from Morocco and from 2 nights at Riad Farnatchi with a couple of friends. I don't normally write reviews but our time at the Riad was exceptional so I thought I would get online and write one!
We had been trekking in the Atlas Mountains for 3 days beforehand with a fantastic guide recommended by Riad Farnatchi but after a few days in a mountain refuge we were looking forward to some TLC when we got to Marrakech.
Riad Farnatchi did not disappoint. From the second we arrived the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The room was amazing, with a beautiful living area and a wonderfully comfy bed. Canapés were served both evenings and a toasty fire was lit in one of the salons where decided to have pre dinner drinks.
The staff were only too happy to give advice on places to eat and shopping/bartering tips for the medina- all of which is a short walk away.
Both mornings we were served a beautiful breakfast. We had it once in the fire-warmed salon and then on the second day, wrapped up and enjoyed it on the roof top terrace. The terrace is fantastic and a wonderful place to absorb the ambience of Marrakech.
We also had a Hammam followed by a massage at the hotel. The Hammam was a great experience but the massage was incredible-just what we needed to ease the trekking aches and pains! Apparently Riad Farnatchi is to open a new spa in the future which I'm sure will be equally luxurious.
For a luxurious tranquil retreat in the heart of Marrakech Riad Farnatchi would certainly not disappoint. My only regret is that we couldn't stay any longer!

Room Tip: We had room number 6 which had a lovely roof terrace and was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your whole Moroccan experience and that the guide that we set you up with in the Atlas mountains was a success. We certainly try to make sure that there is nothing that we cant organise for our guest, if Marrakech allows it we can normally find it!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this review, I hope that it will inspire lots more people to take up the challenge of climbing Mt Toubkal in winter conditions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from Marrakech after a 4 day magical trip to celebrate my birthday. 15 of us stayed at the Riad Farnatchi . I am not sure words can express just how amazing this beautiful exquisite Riad is. James and his wonderful team made our stay unforgettable . The rooms all 9 were sumptuous and decorated in traditional style with beautiful sitting rooms and open fires. The bathrooms were just stunning and the best bed I have ever slept in. The service is impeccable with attention to detail being the order of the day. The food was sublime and James ensured the my Birthday was truly special . If you go to Marrakech you must make this your place to stay . Superb thank you James, Murad, Saida and the team.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We all so enjoyed having you and all your friends here to celebrate your birthday with us. The house is made for private parties with all its little hideaways and we love having all types of parties at Riad Farnatchi. I hope very much that you will all come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for choosing us and for taking the time to write us such a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had five days here - the room was lovely, our comfort and happiness was the priority of all the staff members. No request was to much for them and met with a smile. I can't speak highly enough for them. Our room was a joy to be in. The winter fire made it cosy and hard to leave. Great location - you can get to everywhere quickly without facing huge crowds the moment you step out of your sanctum.

Room Tip: Suite 5 is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Riad Farnatchi and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Marrakech soon. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your review, every one really counts and we are all very grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Marrakech and throughout our holiday we stayed in 3 different Riads, two of which were considered 'luxurious'. This was definitely the case for the Riad Farnatchi where we spent our final evening.

The service was impressive, really 5* quality and made the experience that much better. We were taken aback with how much guidance was offered for our trip, information on places to visit, tricks for getting cheaper taxi fares, and so on. We stayed in room 6 which is one of two suites with a private terrace...perfect for sunbathing and outdoor lunches or evening drinks. The room was enormous, over two floors with main reception and fire place on the first floor, rainfall shower + separate bathtub and beautifully decorated bedroom on the 2nd floor. For those of you Molton Brown lovers, bathroom comes fully equipped! Upon arrival the owner left a booklet for us to read through, everything you need to know about the Riad, lunch, dinner and breafast menu which pretty much offers any type of egg imaginable and a personal (and quite humorous) guide into the best restaurants to visit in Marrakech. Would recommend eating elsewhere than the Riad as there are some amazing restaurants with better food and value, but we are aware that the owner is expanding and will be opening a new restaurant alongside the Riad and I'm sure that will be something worth experiencing.

If you fancy a movie after a great night out, they also offer a portable disk drive with great selection of US and other foreign films (just ask reception).

The luxurious and personal experience ended with the owner (James) personally driving us to the airport!

FYI, if you are in a dilemna or torn about which luxurious Riads to choose from, then look no further than the Riad Farnatchi!

Thanks again for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Raid Farnatchi! We are all hugely grateful for your kind words and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was particularly happy to note your thoughts on our service which is something that we are constantly striving to improve. With 20 staff to 9 Suites we hope to make sure that everyone gets a very personal service. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I cannot express in words the outstanding excellence of the Riad Farnatchi Everything including staff is/are to the highest of standards and it is faultless from the moment of entering "the Hole in the Wall" to exiting is PERFECTION to mind body and soul.

Carolyn Seel.
November 2013

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words it makes such a difference to all the team to know how much their efforts are appreciated! We very much hope that you will be back to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.