We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Hampshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As first time travellers to Marrakech we were keen to stay in the Medina to get a taste of the real Morocco. We were met at the airport and brought direct to the Riad which is in the heart of the old city. On arrival we were greeted with mint tea, a tour of the hotel and an opportunity to learn more about how to plan our short stay. Our room was fantastic with a balcony overlooking the pool, our own courtyard, a separate sitting room, a good sized bedroom along with a monsoon shower and marble bath. Each morning we had breakfast on the roof overlooking the Medina. Nothing was too much trouble. A highlight was the opportunity to book a Hammam at the Riad. We would highly recommend Riad Farnatchi for those looking for a taste of luxury in a boutique style setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your first stay in Marrakech so much and hope that you will come again soon! I was especially pleased to note that you enjoyed your Hammam, it is a great authentic experience that i would recommend everyone trys on their first trip to Marrakech. Thank you for taking the trouble to write review, every one counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
171
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

All you read about Riad Farnatchi is true. It is an amazing place, an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The public areas are beautifully presented and relaxing, the bedrooms individually decorated to a high standard and very comfortable after a long day around town. Once inside the Riad it’s hard to believe you are only a 2 minute walk from the souk

What makes this a great place to stay are the people who run the Riad. Nothing is too much trouble for this friendly and attentive bunch. From serving a simple cup of tea in the cool of the courtyard to arranging an evening’s entertainment. Thank you to all the staff at the Riad for making our holiday truly memorable but special thanks to Miriam, Saida and Karim who looked after us so well.

The location is not just handy for shopping, around the corner is a good restaurant and two museums are on the doorstep. We would recommend you eat at least once at the Riad, not just for the excellent food but to enjoy the opulent design of the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time and effort to write a review for us, it really is so kind and makes such a difference. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Farnatchi and the shopping on our door step in the heart of the old town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The experience of dealing with Riad Farnatchi set the whole standard for our trip.
My reservation was dealt with efficiently and confirmation sent instantly together with detailed information regarding the menu offered, hammam, treatments and reviews by the Riad's owner of other places to eat.

On arrival at Marrakesh airport we were met by a driver that was arranged and included by the Riad - He was standing at the exit with our name clearly displayed on a Riad Farnatchi board. We were then driven to the riad and once we got to the medina we were met by a host and our luggage was transferred to a cart we followed the host a short distance through the Medina to reach the riad - This was our induction to Marrakesh, crowds of people, donkeys, motorbikes that seem to aim at you and cobbled streets.

We arrived at a wooden door in the wall which was opened up and we were greeted by the manager Mourad and with cold towels. We were then given a tour of the riad which is peaceful and tastefully decorated. It is extremely calm and it truly felt like we were the only guests despite it actually being full.

We were in Suite 3 which is on the first floor. It comprised of a spacious bedroom, lounge with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and a huge bathroom with sunken bath, separate shower and toilet. All products were Molton Brown and robes etc are supplied. The suite is air conditioned and complimentary water is provided. The room does not have any tea/coffee facilities,however this can be ordered at any time and is provided complimentary.

The service at the Riad is exceptional and efficient. It really does feel like a home and you can have anything you want anywhere. They even presented my husband with a delicious birthday cake

We ate in the small dining room and the menu is limited but the food provided was exceptional, it seems such a shame that we appeared to be the only ones eating there..

The Farnatchi is in a great location within the Medina which means you are very close to everything - The square, souks, spice market etc. The one down side to this is that the mosque calls prayer every morning at around 5 am which is very loud, this is part and parcel of being central and should not reflect on the Riad.

I highly recommend the Riad if you are looking for a tranquil haven in the bedlam of Marrakesh and you will not be disappointed with the levels of service offered or the level of accommodation offered for the price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so grateful to you for going to the trouble of writing this review of your stay especially as your words are so kind! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Riad Farnatchi and Marrakech and certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

I was so pleased to note that you enjoyed eating at with us. We serve a lot of dinners at the riad and our food is something that we take huge pride in, we are always looking for ways to improve and new things to add to our menu and hopefully when we get permission to build a restaurant opposite us we will be able to expand the menu further.

Again thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were treated royally and nothing was too much for the staff .riad was stylish and elegant and enjoyed having breakfast either served on the roof terrace or by the pool . we ate in the restaurant twice during our stay and food was very enjoyable and of a high standard.
rooms very clean .

Room Tip: we had room 3 with a balcony overlooking the inside pool .our sleepdidn't get disturbed by the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Riad Farnatchi, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope very much that we can look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having never been to Marrakech before, the initial arrival in Place Moqef was an extraordinary assault on the senses followed by a rapid walk through the medina avoiding bikes, mopeds, street vendors, donkeys, piles of rubbish, trolleys loaded with food, beggars, etc. etc. Having navigated the madness, we reached Riad Farnatchi - an extradordinary oasis of peace with cool flannels, sweet mint tea and with no noise other than the tweeting of birds and water. Our room was palatial and comfortable and we were made very welcome. Great service. Very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for what I know from our chats during your stay, you had intended as a complimentary report. We are always thrilled to get reports from our guests and take all comments extremely seriously. We were all a bit disappointed that your description of "palatial rooms" was not matched by your star rating for the same room. Perhaps because our rooms are regularly praised as being the best in town (the preceding report, from a particularly well travelled guest, comparing our rooms favourably with those in the world famous Mamounia is a case in point), your 4 star marking was even more disappointing. I would really be immensely grateful if you were to get the chance to drop us the quickest of emails just clarifying what caused the poor star rating alongside the high praise in your description. With regard to the equally uncharacteristic value rating, I think that one has to accept that there are plenty of cheaper places in town, some of which will match some of the services and facilities that we offer. In unashamedly positioning Farnatchi at the top of the Riad market, I accept that some guests may feel that they would have been happy to manage without some of the comforts and services we hold dear and to take a corresponding saving. I really do hope though, that on reflection, you might accept that the 3 stars that you awarded to "value" was rather harsh. We don't expect our guests to give a moment's thought to our fastidious attention to international standards of health and safety, our 21 staff for just 9 rooms, or our wet central heating system in the winter which is so much more comfortable than everyone else's warm air system. These are the things that we believe our guests have a right to take for granted but are all extremely rare in the medina and do need to be paid for. Our accountant is forever trying, without a hope of success, to persuade me to trim them! In reality, you may only use a few of them during your stay but the fact that they are always there waiting in the background is what makes the difference between a great hotel and one that merely looks good on the surface. I really do hope that you will agree that it is also what defines value, as opposed to cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st,simons island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful start to our honeymoon. The place is beautiful and so peaceful. The staff is very good at the balance of being extra attentive to your needs but also giving you the freedom to use the place as your own home during your stay. Extremely clean and safe. We hope to return again sometime. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially as it was the start of your Honeymoon. We all wish you every happiness for your future and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful riad with incredible attention to detail.Room with private terrace. breakfast on the roof terrace. Fires lit in our room in the evening ( we stayed in January). Friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Nothing was too much trouble for James and his team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Riad Farnatchi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.