We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were treated royally and nothing was too much for the staff .riad was stylish and elegant and enjoyed having breakfast either served on the roof terrace or by the pool . we ate in the restaurant twice during our stay and food was very enjoyable and of a high standard.
rooms very clean .

Room Tip: we had room 3 with a balcony overlooking the inside pool .our sleepdidn't get disturbed by the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Riad Farnatchi, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope very much that we can look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
147
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having never been to Marrakech before, the initial arrival in Place Moqef was an extraordinary assault on the senses followed by a rapid walk through the medina avoiding bikes, mopeds, street vendors, donkeys, piles of rubbish, trolleys loaded with food, beggars, etc. etc. Having navigated the madness, we reached Riad Farnatchi - an extradordinary oasis of peace with cool flannels, sweet mint tea and with no noise other than the tweeting of birds and water. Our room was palatial and comfortable and we were made very welcome. Great service. Very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for what I know from our chats during your stay, you had intended as a complimentary report. We are always thrilled to get reports from our guests and take all comments extremely seriously. We were all a bit disappointed that your description of "palatial rooms" was not matched by your star rating for the same room. Perhaps because our rooms are regularly praised as being the best in town (the preceding report, from a particularly well travelled guest, comparing our rooms favourably with those in the world famous Mamounia is a case in point), your 4 star marking was even more disappointing. I would really be immensely grateful if you were to get the chance to drop us the quickest of emails just clarifying what caused the poor star rating alongside the high praise in your description. With regard to the equally uncharacteristic value rating, I think that one has to accept that there are plenty of cheaper places in town, some of which will match some of the services and facilities that we offer. In unashamedly positioning Farnatchi at the top of the Riad market, I accept that some guests may feel that they would have been happy to manage without some of the comforts and services we hold dear and to take a corresponding saving. I really do hope though, that on reflection, you might accept that the 3 stars that you awarded to "value" was rather harsh. We don't expect our guests to give a moment's thought to our fastidious attention to international standards of health and safety, our 21 staff for just 9 rooms, or our wet central heating system in the winter which is so much more comfortable than everyone else's warm air system. These are the things that we believe our guests have a right to take for granted but are all extremely rare in the medina and do need to be paid for. Our accountant is forever trying, without a hope of success, to persuade me to trim them! In reality, you may only use a few of them during your stay but the fact that they are always there waiting in the background is what makes the difference between a great hotel and one that merely looks good on the surface. I really do hope that you will agree that it is also what defines value, as opposed to cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st,simons island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful start to our honeymoon. The place is beautiful and so peaceful. The staff is very good at the balance of being extra attentive to your needs but also giving you the freedom to use the place as your own home during your stay. Extremely clean and safe. We hope to return again sometime. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially as it was the start of your Honeymoon. We all wish you every happiness for your future and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful riad with incredible attention to detail.Room with private terrace. breakfast on the roof terrace. Fires lit in our room in the evening ( we stayed in January). Friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Nothing was too much trouble for James and his team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Riad Farnatchi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent one week at the incredible Riad Farnatchi in July 2013. It is such a special place. Firstly you step from the hustle and bustle of the souks into a tranquil, calm oasis. The riad itself, offers privacy; such wonderful support and service from the brilliant staff; first class dining opportunities; facilities which will delight you.
Our suite was luxurious - large with a huge, comfortable bed, sitting area, television, etc. The bathroom was amazing. We were able to leave our suite by another door, go up some steps on to a private roof terrace, specifically for our suite, which had a table, chairs and sun loungers. We had our breakfast there every morning - wonderful!!
The pool is small but offers a wonderful opportunity to cool down and relax in calm, cool surroundings, after a busy day in the heat! It has a powered underwater jet, so you are able to swim against a powerful stream of water - great for those who want to exercise.
We ate at the riad twice - food and service were both amazing. The riad arranged courtesy transfer both to and from the airport which was really helpful. We utilised their services to arrange a 4 wheel drive trip to the Atlas mountains which I would thoroughly recommend.
The riad is situated to the northern end of the souks. Don't be afraid to ask the staff for a map, directions and also for a contact number for their approved taxi driver. Finding your way back to the riad in the evening can be a bit of a challenge but staff are happy to help.
All in all a wonderful and special experience - we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are all so grateful for your wonderful review! I am also extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed our day-trip to the Atlas mountains and the food at Riad Farnatchi. I very much hope that you will revisit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a very special place. You end up feeling as if you are the only guests and the service is discrete and impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble - a rooftop barbecue was organised for my birthday - magic! The real Marrakech experience, it does not get better than this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the BBQ on our terrace. I hope very much that we will see you at Riad Farnatchi again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Truly a labor of love by James and Jonathan Wix. Perfect in every way imaginable. Once you enter the door on a side street off a side street one enters a magical yet authentic Riad. The rooms are over the top luxurious yet have maintained their original character not an easy task. Hence every room is completely unique and authentic in feel. The staff uniformily were perfect in service and friendliness . Saedi, Meryem and Murad excellent managers . The Hammam was fantastic. This place is truly an oasis within the beautiful cacophony that is Marrekech

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a review for us, the team are all so grateful for your kind words. I was particularly pleased to note that you enjoyed your Hammam, we try to make it an authentic experience in a more luxurious setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.