We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax in your own hideaway from hustle and bustle of the souk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in Marrakech
st,simons island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax in your own hideaway from hustle and bustle of the souk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful start to our honeymoon. The place is beautiful and so peaceful. The staff is very good at the balance of being extra attentive to your needs but also giving you the freedom to use the place as your own home during your stay. Extremely clean and safe. We hope to return again sometime. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially as it was the start of your Honeymoon. We all wish you every happiness for your future and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
166
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful riad with incredible attention to detail.Room with private terrace. breakfast on the roof terrace. Fires lit in our room in the evening ( we stayed in January). Friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Nothing was too much trouble for James and his team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Riad Farnatchi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent one week at the incredible Riad Farnatchi in July 2013. It is such a special place. Firstly you step from the hustle and bustle of the souks into a tranquil, calm oasis. The riad itself, offers privacy; such wonderful support and service from the brilliant staff; first class dining opportunities; facilities which will delight you.
Our suite was luxurious - large with a huge, comfortable bed, sitting area, television, etc. The bathroom was amazing. We were able to leave our suite by another door, go up some steps on to a private roof terrace, specifically for our suite, which had a table, chairs and sun loungers. We had our breakfast there every morning - wonderful!!
The pool is small but offers a wonderful opportunity to cool down and relax in calm, cool surroundings, after a busy day in the heat! It has a powered underwater jet, so you are able to swim against a powerful stream of water - great for those who want to exercise.
We ate at the riad twice - food and service were both amazing. The riad arranged courtesy transfer both to and from the airport which was really helpful. We utilised their services to arrange a 4 wheel drive trip to the Atlas mountains which I would thoroughly recommend.
The riad is situated to the northern end of the souks. Don't be afraid to ask the staff for a map, directions and also for a contact number for their approved taxi driver. Finding your way back to the riad in the evening can be a bit of a challenge but staff are happy to help.
All in all a wonderful and special experience - we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are all so grateful for your wonderful review! I am also extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed our day-trip to the Atlas mountains and the food at Riad Farnatchi. I very much hope that you will revisit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very special place. You end up feeling as if you are the only guests and the service is discrete and impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble - a rooftop barbecue was organised for my birthday - magic! The real Marrakech experience, it does not get better than this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the BBQ on our terrace. I hope very much that we will see you at Riad Farnatchi again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Truly a labor of love by James and Jonathan Wix. Perfect in every way imaginable. Once you enter the door on a side street off a side street one enters a magical yet authentic Riad. The rooms are over the top luxurious yet have maintained their original character not an easy task. Hence every room is completely unique and authentic in feel. The staff uniformily were perfect in service and friendliness . Saedi, Meryem and Murad excellent managers . The Hammam was fantastic. This place is truly an oasis within the beautiful cacophony that is Marrekech

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a review for us, the team are all so grateful for your kind words. I was particularly pleased to note that you enjoyed your Hammam, we try to make it an authentic experience in a more luxurious setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was my second time in Marrakech and where else would I go back to stay but Riad Farnatchi, no question! We had a late night arrival, but were nevertheless met at the airport and welcomed at the Riad very warmly, and a refreshing drink of mint tea. Shown to our room which this time was up a level with a delightful balcony overlooking the pool courtyard. One of the best moments of the day was sitting with a gin and tonic in the early evening on our balcony with a choice to look down over the peaceful courtyard, or up to the piercing blue sky and listen to the swallows. True heaven! Breakfast on the roof terrace was the morning highlight, and what a spread, how many ways are there to have an egg presented for eating? Well you have to go and peruse James' special egg menu! Also, how could you not have his home made yoghurt with fresh and delicious fruit. The staff could not be more helpful and caring without being intrusive, and appear from nowhere just as you have a request or need help with planning the day ahead...............a trip to the desert, the Atlas Mountains, shopping in the souks, a local culture tour, anything. The service is impeccable...........we came back from a very dusty walk in the mountains and before you knew it our shoes had been de-sanded and polished as I had not seen them before! An added extra thoughtfulness. All the little things count and certainly are attended to by James and his team. I am certain I will be back and won't even hesitate that Farnatchi will be where I stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We were delighted to welcome you back to Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi and we of course very much hope that it will not be your last visit! I am also so pleased to note that you enjoyed our new Egg menu. With eggs cooked 16 different we hope that there is something for everyone! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, it really is a huge help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A beautiful, immaculate and spacious riad which I would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech! It is blissfully peaceful and in a superb location, very close to the souks in the medina. The team were charming and could not have been more happy to help, nothing was too much trouble for them.Breakfast was absolutely delicious.
Worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so grateful for your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed our traditional breakfast! I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Riad Farnatchi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.