We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent one week at the incredible Riad Farnatchi in July 2013. It is such a special place. Firstly you step from the hustle and bustle of the souks into a tranquil, calm oasis. The riad itself, offers privacy; such wonderful support and service from the brilliant staff; first class dining opportunities; facilities which will delight you.
Our suite was luxurious - large with a huge, comfortable bed, sitting area, television, etc. The bathroom was amazing. We were able to leave our suite by another door, go up some steps on to a private roof terrace, specifically for our suite, which had a table, chairs and sun loungers. We had our breakfast there every morning - wonderful!!
The pool is small but offers a wonderful opportunity to cool down and relax in calm, cool surroundings, after a busy day in the heat! It has a powered underwater jet, so you are able to swim against a powerful stream of water - great for those who want to exercise.
We ate at the riad twice - food and service were both amazing. The riad arranged courtesy transfer both to and from the airport which was really helpful. We utilised their services to arrange a 4 wheel drive trip to the Atlas mountains which I would thoroughly recommend.
The riad is situated to the northern end of the souks. Don't be afraid to ask the staff for a map, directions and also for a contact number for their approved taxi driver. Finding your way back to the riad in the evening can be a bit of a challenge but staff are happy to help.
All in all a wonderful and special experience - we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are all so grateful for your wonderful review! I am also extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed our day-trip to the Atlas mountains and the food at Riad Farnatchi. I very much hope that you will revisit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
155
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a very special place. You end up feeling as if you are the only guests and the service is discrete and impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble - a rooftop barbecue was organised for my birthday - magic! The real Marrakech experience, it does not get better than this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the BBQ on our terrace. I hope very much that we will see you at Riad Farnatchi again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Truly a labor of love by James and Jonathan Wix. Perfect in every way imaginable. Once you enter the door on a side street off a side street one enters a magical yet authentic Riad. The rooms are over the top luxurious yet have maintained their original character not an easy task. Hence every room is completely unique and authentic in feel. The staff uniformily were perfect in service and friendliness . Saedi, Meryem and Murad excellent managers . The Hammam was fantastic. This place is truly an oasis within the beautiful cacophony that is Marrekech

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a review for us, the team are all so grateful for your kind words. I was particularly pleased to note that you enjoyed your Hammam, we try to make it an authentic experience in a more luxurious setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was my second time in Marrakech and where else would I go back to stay but Riad Farnatchi, no question! We had a late night arrival, but were nevertheless met at the airport and welcomed at the Riad very warmly, and a refreshing drink of mint tea. Shown to our room which this time was up a level with a delightful balcony overlooking the pool courtyard. One of the best moments of the day was sitting with a gin and tonic in the early evening on our balcony with a choice to look down over the peaceful courtyard, or up to the piercing blue sky and listen to the swallows. True heaven! Breakfast on the roof terrace was the morning highlight, and what a spread, how many ways are there to have an egg presented for eating? Well you have to go and peruse James' special egg menu! Also, how could you not have his home made yoghurt with fresh and delicious fruit. The staff could not be more helpful and caring without being intrusive, and appear from nowhere just as you have a request or need help with planning the day ahead...............a trip to the desert, the Atlas Mountains, shopping in the souks, a local culture tour, anything. The service is impeccable...........we came back from a very dusty walk in the mountains and before you knew it our shoes had been de-sanded and polished as I had not seen them before! An added extra thoughtfulness. All the little things count and certainly are attended to by James and his team. I am certain I will be back and won't even hesitate that Farnatchi will be where I stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We were delighted to welcome you back to Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi and we of course very much hope that it will not be your last visit! I am also so pleased to note that you enjoyed our new Egg menu. With eggs cooked 16 different we hope that there is something for everyone! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, it really is a huge help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A beautiful, immaculate and spacious riad which I would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech! It is blissfully peaceful and in a superb location, very close to the souks in the medina. The team were charming and could not have been more happy to help, nothing was too much trouble for them.Breakfast was absolutely delicious.
Worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so grateful for your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed our traditional breakfast! I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Riad Farnatchi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arriving in the souks is a culture shock, a good one! Travelling into the Atlas Mountains is a refreshing experience, quad biking in the desert is an adventure, and all the rest, but to be honest, none of these activities would mean so much if it wasn't for the amazingly different experience of staying at the Riad Farnatchi.
Forget five star hotels and all that lovely stuff...this was different...
Well, it is authentic Morocco, draped and cosseted and just full of local character, comfort, and a sense of peace, an oasis in the maelstrom of Marrakech.
It is more like being a guest at a private home, with service always on hand, nothing too much trouble, a male masseur who is properly world class, a hamman to die for, delicious food in a beautifully hand decorated cosy intimate dining room, breakfast on the roof garden overlooking the roofs and out to the Mountains, listening to the mosques calling their flock in for prayers, birds chattering, orange trees, peace and such a restoration from the daily trials of living in UK.
Would I go back and stay there...yes, yes yes, very special...does anybody gives six or seven stars!

Room Tip: Each room seems to be different in design, shape and character...we were shown a couple of others, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We were all delighted to read your kind words thank you! I was particularly pleased to note that you enjoyed your massage with Ahmed. We very much hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Marrakech and all it's wonders can be quite an assault on the senses - it's incredible and magical but can actually become somewhat exhausting by day three. Well that was certainly what I found on my first visit 10 years ago.
However this time I decided to stay at Riad Farnatchi based on the reviews I had read, the beautifully laid out website and of course - the photos. As a result it completely changed my perspective on the city and I just can't recommend it enough. The Riad blew my away - not a single photo really does it justice. When you arrive in the Old city it's inevitable that you are hit by the mayhem and sensation of the city and then amidst all of this you arrive, down a small shaded back alleyway to this beautifully looking door, you are greeted by a beaming member of staff and enter the Riad.
People have mentioned in their reviews that it is a hidden gem - and there's not really a better way to put it.
It's tranquil and calm and beautiful - the attention to detail is beyond any place I have ever stayed before.
I'm one of those people that love to explore cities, I wanted to disappear into the souks and eat couscous from the street vendors in the square and not to spend all day sunbathing on the rooftops. However returning to the Riad, be it in the morning, afternoon or evening, was really - for lack of a better word - blissful. It was a world removed from the chaotic atmosphere of the buzzing alleyways and souks that were a stones throw away. Location wise it was the perfect place from which to discover Marrakech.
Me and my friend (who really did spend her days simply relaxing in the pool or catching the rays from the Riad rooftop) would sit and have a drink and watch the sunset over the noise of the city from the Riad us in the evening and it really was magical. So chilled, so charming and exactly the way anyone should enjoy Marrakech.
It is the only place I would now stay when I'm in Marrakech, without a doubt. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more efficient and James (the owner of the Riad) was delightful to sit and chat to as well as brilliantly helpful with all aspects of our trip.

If you are heading to Marrakech - really take my word for it - this is hands down the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this very kind review, it really is hugely valuable to us especially when the review is such a glowing report! The team take great pride in their work and will very much enjoy hearing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.