We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and can't praise this place or the staff enough. The Riad is gorgeous and our suite was beautiful, with large private balcony overlooking the courtyard pool, lounge, bedroom with doors to a privare sun terrace, rainfall shower with an array of Molton Brown shower gels, shampoo and conditioner (girls will definitely appreciate this!) and sumptuous bathroom with jack and Jill basins and sunken bath. We had heard fab reviews about the food here so decided to eat in the first night. Before dinner, we found the duty manageress to ask a few questions - I had just had some henna art done (at Henna Cafe- it's brilliant) and didn't want to stain any towels or linen so asked for an old towel, to ask if they could rearrange a dinner reservation for us the next evening and if we could have our meal that night on the roof. Well, she made me a mixture of lemon and sugar up for my henna to help set it, gave me some advice and advised she would put a sheet in my room to take the henna off with, that it was no problem at all about altering our reservation for us and that thirdly, they had just set up a table on the roof for us. When she led us to the rooftop, they had prepared the most romantic table covered in rose petals, surrounded by candles and lamps with our own private waiter and no other diners! The food was excellent. On returning to our room, we were met by rose petals, roses and candles everywhere- it was stunning and so thoughtful. The next day was my husband's birthday and we were out all day. Upon returning quite late after dinner (we were held up due to awful service at Le Foundouk), we were met by a lovely lady who had just called the restaurant as they were concerned we had taken the wrong turn and got lost. She then appeared with a birthday cake they had made for my husband and had waited up for us to return to give it to him! We were so touched! The only slight negative is the location of Farnatchi - it's really in the old Medina near the Souks and can be quite confusing to find (no signposts) and you do get hassled by people young and old wanting to take you places or pestering you when you look at a map. The Riad does have a 'guardian angel' as we called him, who was an older gent who seemed to appear from nowhere when we got a bit muddled, walk us back to the Riad and put a fly in the ear of anyone annoying us! I know this place is a bit pricey but I urge you, save up a little bit more and stay here, even for a night, it is really worth every penny and you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your Honeymoon and am delighted that you enjoyed the private dinner on the roof terrace. I am so very grateful for you leaving this review for us, every one counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
147
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What an incredible hidden gem, the service was brilliant throughout our four day visit to this amazing city, the Riad is a perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of the Medina and the rooms are all exquisite with beautiful attention to detail. Given its location, the room size and quality, and the friendly service (not to mention the stunning roof top terrace for breakfast) it was our favourite of the numerous places we have stayed in Marrakech. Many thanks to everyone at Farnatchi and i look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Suite 5 was beautiful, looking onto the orange tree courtyard in the centre of the Riad, very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and also for mentioning how big our rooms are, to my knowledge they are the biggest in the Medina! I hope that you will visit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

James Wix and his staff are nothing but superb in the way they run this hidden gem in the mists of old Marrakech. The rooms in the riad are all magnificent and you are pushed for choice.
Staff meet you at the airport and escorted us back to the hotel arranging a fantastic meal as soon when we were settled even thou it was late in the evening. They arranged all of our tours nothing was any trouble they were always pleased to help, will be returning as soon as I can for another beautiful long weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully kind review. We certainly look forward to having you to stay at Riad Farnatchi again and I am sure that we can come up with lots more suggestions of things to do and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay in mid-May 2013 was very relaxing and tranquil. Staff were polite at all times, very friendly and relaxed. Common areas were plentiful and food and drinks could be taken in a variety of locations in solitude. Breakfast was good - especially the yoghurt - although there could have been a bit more variety from day to day. We dined in the hotel one evening and the food was comparable to other upper end options in town in terms of quality. Staff arranged day trips and taxis and transfers without any hitches. Call to morning prayers woke us up each morning at five -Riad is next to a mosque - although this became part of the trip and we missed the call to prayers on our first day back in normality. Hotel is well placed for visiting main sites which can be reached by foot. Room was large and well equipped with modern tech and local decoration. Trip to Atlas Mountains to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your day trip up to the Atlas Mountains and your stay at RIad Farnatchi. We serve a traditional Moroccan breakfast with a variety of home made stuffed breads, eggs made any way you would like (there are 16 different ways on our menu), Home made jams, Moroccan crepes, home made yoghourt, fresh fruit, Fesh coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We are only too happy to bake fresh croissants for you or even find your favorite breakfast cereal. I very much hope that we will see you at Riad Farnatchi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Riad Farnatchi was a beautiful oasis within the walls of the medina. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a lot of great amenities (Molten Brown toiletries, wi-fi access, robes, etc.). The staff was very gracious and helpful - always ready with a smile and a helpful suggestion. Every morning, we had a delicious breakfast of fruit, yogurt and eggs with coffee, tea and fresh squeezed juice. We also ate lunch and dinner in the Riad and were not disappointed. The attention to detail makes the Riad Farnatchi much more than just a hotel. I would highly recommend the Riad Farnatchi to friends and family who are traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Riad Farnachi, is a magical place to stay, chill & dream about floating back into the past of this amazing city! The hospitality I can only say is triple AAA and our host James Wix and his Team are just the most friendly, professional, nothing is too much for them to make your stay unforgettable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are FAB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose the Farnachi as I liked the look of the rooms, especially the room with the sunken bath. When i emailed to book they said they would be happy to reserve that room,.The Riad's private car collected us from Marrakech airport, where inside the car was a bottle of cold water and frozen towels to refresh us.
When the large wooden doors open you walk into the Raid which is like an oasis....it is simple stunning. We were very lucky in that there were no other guests staying at the Riad, so we have the whole place to our selfs. The owner James showed us around and indeed if we wanted we could chose which ever room we wanted. We chose the room with the sunken bath and private balcony.
Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble, we were treated like royalty. We could have breakfast whereever we liked within the Riad......we choose to have ours on our balcony every morning, fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads, pancakes and poached eggs
Every evening around 5pm they brought us a plate of canapes......we ordered wine and beers to our room and was really expecting a large bill at the end, but we were very surpised that it was very reasonable!
The inner courtyard has pool, whilst it is small it is fitted with a jet to enable you to swim against. Although we just enjoyed dipping in to cool down whilst enjoying a book and the best mint tea i have ever tasted!
We wanted a day up the mountains which James organised for us in the Riad's car, which was stocked with water, fruit and frozen towels for the journey. They also recommended us lunch at Richard Branson's retreat, which was although pricey,.....well worth the views! When we arrived back at the Riad we were greeted with a glass of mint tea and frozen towels to refresh
I cannot recommend this hotel enough.......if you like beautiful things, made to feel special and attention to detail....dont stay anywhere else, chose Riad Farnachi

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Hotel
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.