We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Authentic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Five Star Authentic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived with high expectations and Riad Farnatchi does not disappoint. The Riad is in the heart of the oldest part of the medina. You will be greeted and your luggage placed in a wheel barrel for the short walk past the stalls to the property. You are steps away from the activity of the souks and markets. The service at the property and the decor is classy in every way. Said a and Mourad and the owner helped arrange all our tours, guides, dinners, day trip to Atlas Mountains without tacking on a penny. We did all of this via email and had the most wonderful experience. The hammam treatment was great and they arranged for massages which were by far the best we have ever had. One evening we had a private dinner on the rooftop by candlelight. If what you are looking for is to experience Marrakesh the way in an authentic setting, you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 , very very large on the ground floor. We felt as if the Riad was our home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
147
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter arrived the day before me and texted to say ' I think I have died and gone to heaven'. and when I arrived at Riad Farnatchi I understood why. A little piece of paradise in the centre of the old town, 5% star service though not at all intrusive, a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, fabulous accommodation, delicious food, sunroof and a spa on the way. We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi in April 2013 for a design inspiration trip focused around Marrakech. My initial reaction was that I didn't need to bother with the rest of the city as there is enough inspiration in the road alone. From the intricately ornate plaster work to the architecture, furniture and art work - it was all beautiful. The service was also to a level i have not received before. Attention to detail was key and the staff could not do enough for us, without invading on our space at all. Breakfast is always wonderful in Morocco - but i would say this riad is a go to destination for its home made yoghurt alone and being a pain, i have a wheat intolerance so i was treated with home made gluten free pancakes for breakfast - a real treat. We also had a Hammam in the spa of the hotel. Do not give this a miss - it was pure indulgence and a real experience. We were there for 2 nights and both nights took options given by the proprietor, James and his lovely manager. The first night we went to le Comptoir where the food was the nicest i have experienced in Morocco - apart from the fresh grilled sardines in Essaouira. However i did find the atmosphere a tad crass, with the belly dancing routine being the nail in the coffin, however all fun and games and the food definitely made up for it. The next night was the real deal though - only a few yards from Franatchis door is Le Fondouk. We sat on the roof terrace and were blown away by the location. I would long go again if we could sit here as its truly spectacular. The food was great - not as nice as le Comptoir, but it didn't matter as we were overcome by the place. Both great recommendations by the team and very different. On our final day we had had enough of the heat of Marrakech and the hotel organised for us to go to The Beldi Country Club, just outside the city. It was an oasis filled with flowers, a massive swimming pool and a gorgeous restaurant. I real must. Thank you so much Riad Farnatchi!!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 - i didn't see the other rooms but I loved this one. It had a balcony over loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent five days at the Riad Farnatchi recently and were sorry to leave. The riad itself (actually five 'riads' joined together, so a network of secluded courtyards) is very beautiful with just 9 suites. Our room was enormous, with its own private terrace on the roof above, a sitting area and a wonderful wood fire - which we did have lit most evenings, since the weather was cool.

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, and did an excellent job of catering to our every need. Breakfast is excellent and we had some great evenings out following the hotel guide.

We both enjoyed a hammam and a massage in-house, both wonderful. We also took a trip to the mountains arranged by the riad and that was perhaps the highlight of our trip. A terrific long weekend, thanks to James and his friendly staff.

Room Tip: They are all entirely different; each one has its own distinctive features. We loved our terrace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautifully restored interior with delightful shady courtyards and wonderfully decorated and appointed suites. James, the proprieter could not have been more welcoming and accommodating and the service and staff were simply first class. Highly recommended. (Tip for the riad – there was a lack of space for suitcases in the bedroom which perplexed us at times, but that didn’t distract from the overall very positive impression of this lovely accommodation). Dinner was wonderful too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad in Marrakech. I spent five nights there recently and found everything excellent. All members of staff were always pleasant, courteous, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious, our suite was wonderful and the whole decor and ambience of the Riad was in thoroughly in keeping with local culture and traditions. Thank you all. Julia Fleming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My partner and I are frequent visitors to Morocco and in particular Marrakesh, and have stayed in many Moroccan Riads and hotels. Riad Farnatchi is by far the best of all the Riads we have stayed in Marrakesh. Tucked into the craziness of the Medina, once you are inside the door it is overwhelmingly peaceful, tranquil and absolutely beautiful. We stayed one night, after being on the coast at Essaouria (which I would also highly recommend) before travelling back to the UK. I booked the room as a treat for my partner, who has stayed at this Riad before and loved it. It did not disappoint, we had an amazing room, with log fire (which was lit for us) and a private terrace. The service was perfect, and the hamman was really worth doing. We stayed in and ate dinner at Farnatchi as we did not want to go out, the food, wine and service was equal to any of the good restaurants in Marrakesh. We will go back again, thank you James for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.