We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Farnatchi- best hotel in Marrakech by far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riad Farnatchi- best hotel in Marrakech by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Riad Farnatchi last year and found a little bit of paradise right in the heart of Marrakech’s medina! Impeccably run with excellent attention to detail and sumptuous rooms all decorated to a high end and all individual. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and the owner has superb local knowledge and gave some excellent recommendations in and around the city I cannot recommend Farnatchi enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
147
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A city oasis, small discreet and more like a private home than a hotel. Everything was very personal, attentive and authentic. The Hamman was wonderful, with one of the best massages I have ever experienced, strong and deeply satisfying. The sights and sounds of the city from the roof garden were lovely. Would I go again.................yes, yes, yes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect escape from the xmas hustle and bustle and the hurly burly of the enormous souk, this riad is just perfect. A sun drenched terrace for breakfast, a log fire in the evening lit for you, fine private dining, neutral advice on trips and stuff to buy in the souk are just the start.
Above all, James the owner. has created a team of people who quite obviously really enjoy working there. He has a passion to overcome all the little irritations you may encounter in a chain 5 star hotel. Internet is free and you feel you are a guest in a private house. Once you are there, everything is about pleasing you. The actual prices for drinks in the riad are cheaper than anywhere outside. The place is obviously a family's passion first, commercial gain is a deserved side product.. Please keep that idealism, it is so refreshing after spending so much of my time in antiseptic 5 star hotels.
We were in Suite 7. it had a beautiful private terrace, our own log fire, a huge bath and very quickly was like home. We miss it already.

Room Tip: in winter months, buy the rooms higher up with a terrace... downstairs is cool, upstairs is very war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip without kids after a busy Christmas. We chose Riad Farnatchi for the great reviews it had received on this site and elsewhere, and are glad we did. Cliche it may be, but the Farnatchi really is an oasis of calm away from the madness of the souks: indeed I am not sure that the madness would have been bearable without the counter-balance of the Farnatchi. The staff were extraordinary: from James, the proprietor, and Myriam, Saida and many others we received an absolutely exceptional service, both friendly and professional. The food in the Farnatchi was so good (they have a great Berber cook) that we decided to "eat in" on most of our evenings there. Breakfasts on the roof or in one of the salons were a joy. The entertainment put together by James and his team on new year's eve, a group of Moroccan musicians, was great fun. Our principal outing, to the High Atlas mountains (with lunch in a Berber village) was also organised for us by the Farnatchi, and was a high-light of our stay.

We stayed in Suite 9, the largest of the suites in the Farnatch, which was absolutely beautiful: only two slight gripes, the first we should have spotted so is our (or rather my!) fault, the second was resolved. Gripe 1: the suite was on the ground floor of the Riad, and my wife had thought we had booked a suite with a roof terrace. It was consequently a little darker than some of the accomodation nearer to sky level (and of course didn't have a terrace, although it did have its own private courtyard, with fountain). Gripe 2; when we arrived, and for our first evening, the suite was very cold (which in late December/early January is normal once the sun has gone down). On our mentioning the issue, it was immediately rectified.

We are much seasoned travellers and stay in many 5 star hotels every year on both business and pleasure: the Farnatchi certainly ranks amongst the best of them. We would unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Simply stunning we finished our honeymoon at the riad and had a wonderful time. The staff are superb, and James the owner is both knowledgable and friendly. The only vague criticism one could have are that the rooms are a tad cold at night, but I imagine if you go in summer this would be a benefit.
So if you are thinking of staying in the medina then this is a great base. If you are brave enough to try the street food I would as the lunch menu Is a wee bit limited and quite expensive.

Room Tip: Suite 1 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi with a big group of friends for one of our birthdays. We rented the whole place. James and his crew were just amazing all the way and also set us up with a lot of local guides and activities. Every meal was incredible...you have to try the almond cookies which are homemade by the chef there. In addition, the Riad was beautifully decorated, designed by James and his father. I wanted to purchase the furniture and bring it home! Every single room had its own character, each other is like its own little oasis. The location also can't be beat, walking distance to the main square and markets in the medina. Most impressive was the service there. Thoughtful yet not overbearing, attentive with a personal touch. I felt like I was staying at a friend's house...so comfortable and relaxing? Can't thank you enough, James! We will be back for sure, soon!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We truly loved Riad Farnatchi. It was authentically exotic, beautiful and discreet. From the moment Mafoud, (sp), collected us at the train station, we had a very good vibe of where we would be staying for the next four nights. The Riad itself is of country. You know you are in Morocco. It is what my husband and I look for when we are exploring a city. The property has an excellent location in the medina. The service was superb. Oh, and James the proprietor is like meeting an old friend... Very warm, extremely helpful, and behind the boyish grin, one knows he is sharp as a tack. We are in a different country nearly every month. Travel is about exploration and being of ones surroundings, albeit temporary. To experience Marrakech for us, meant being in the walled city, and Riad Farnatchi. C and T Bohn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.