We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Luxury Oasis"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Luxury Oasis"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having never been to Marrakech before, I had mixed feelings of excitement and trepidation on entering the Medina. All feelings of nervousness was instantly dissipated upon arrival at the Farnatchi. The staff were charming, helpful, discreet and exceptionally polite. The villa its self can only be described as a "luxury oasis" quietly tucked away in the centre of the old town. The rooms deliver on every level to that expected of 5 star accommodation, whilst each room retains an individual theme with a blend of traditional Moroccan and uber chic. James Wicks, manager of the Riad was not only extraordinarily helpful but also a most delightful host. His suggestions and advice on restaurants, food, wine and sightseeing were all superb, and his knowledge and recommendations of the city and outside of Marrakech allowed us to see and do everything we could have hoped for. Would have been utterly lost without him! Our stay at the Riad was exceptional and I very much look forward to going back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
154
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Wellow, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

OK - so Marrakesh is wonderfully and gloriously mad, and a truly great place to visit with its moped-filled alleys and general chaos. But it is only fun in short, hot, dust filled snatches. Among this madness, the Riad Farnatchi is an oasis of much needed calm. Despite all the hubbub outside, as soon as the front door shuts, you are in total peace and quiet... even in the beautiful open courtyards, you can't hear a thing. The pool is fabulous to cool off in or to admire how the swallows can swoop down to drink from it. James - the British owner - and his staff are just superb. This IS your home for the few days you stay there. But make sure you don't stay here without experiencing Ahmed's fantastic massage (the best in the world!) and their excellent Hammam. Highly recommended, and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own private balcony.... the staff will bring you your breakfast to enjoy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Absolutely beautiful, wonderful staff and an oasis of calm within the madness of Marrakesh.
This was our first visit to Morocco and could not have wished for a better place to stay. The Riad was close to the Souks and square. THe staff were very helpful with information regarding trips either within the Medina walls - which can be a little daunting to the uninitiated and also also further afield. Breakfast was great and very fresh. The pool was very welcome at the end of a hard days exploring.

The staff were wonderful, all of them. Everything was done for you, usually before you realised you needed something and in an unobtrusive way. Book a massage, I can guarantee you will love it.

The rooms were among the best I have stayed in. The beds, the lounge area, the products....everything! Will happily return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Riad Farnatchi is quite simply superb. The rooms and courtyards are beautifully designed and the entire place has an atmosphere of elegant sophistication. After a busy, hot day exploring the souks it is heavenly to arrive back at the riad which is quiet, cool and peaceful and oh some comfortable. The staff are sensational. You are made to feel completely at home. One day there was a knock on the door of our room and it was a member of staff holding a pile of my clothes which i had left on the floor of the bathroom and the staff had washed and ironed them while i was out for the day. And of course there was no charge for this excellent service.

Make sure you eat dinner at the riad as many times as possible. The berber chef is a genius and the service makes you feel like royalty. We ate at one of marrakech's best restaurants but can honestly say the food there was not in the same league as what is being served at the riad farnatchi.

The staff also arranged for a large box of things we purchased in the souks to be shipped back to us in Australia. This was a great help and again was done with no fuss and a lot of care.

Do yourself a favour and stay a few nights at the Riad Farnatchi.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I had planned 4 months ahead our first getaway to Marrakech, I read in details all reviews and tips from tripadvisor.
I divided my vacations in half of the time at The Medina and the other half at the tranquility of La Palmerai.
I picked Riad Farnatchi because reviews and pictures were fantastic, but, after experiencing the paradise of this riad I just think the comments were underestimating.
First don't get fool when dropped by the driver in the middle of the medina's labyrinth because once you transpass Farnatchi's wood doors you will find yourself in a calm, 'zen', stunning, moroccan riad, decorated with taste and introducing you with the indulgence of the culture.
Immeditely the staff members will greet you and will make you feel comfortable and "at home", they gave us suite #7 as I requested: spacious, outstanding room with a private terrace and an amazing shower, and the nice touch of welcoming gifts.
They guided us to pick restaurants, excursions, discovering walks and visits.
They booked everything for us : from taxi rides to restaurant reservations to hot balloon excursion!
The first night we decided to dine at the Riad and we loved the food, maybe one of our best meals and surprisingly very good moroccan wine.
We also decided to try out their hammam and was incredible!
You are always sipping on mint tea and snacking on moroccan treats.
The touch of free laundry: I love it!!!
We left after 2 nights to La Palmerai to "escape" from the busy Medina but next trip to Marrakech: nobody will move me from Riad Farnatchi"s cozy couches, their relaxing terraces and beautiful pool.

Room Tip: Check web site and email the staff requesting your top 3, they will please you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

More than just a break, staying at Riad Farnatchi was a sublime experience. From the moment of our arrival, when we were greeted with warmth and genuine hospitality, to our departure.

This was a special celebration combining both my 50th and our Wedding anniversary. A Birthday card was a lovely touch as was the general approach of all staff who were ever present but not obtrusive; providing the most excellent standard of service I have experienced.

This from a hotelier, who prides herself on meticulously high standards. Much to learn! Well done Riad Farnatchi, we'll be back for more.

Room Tip: Our stay was in room 3, a large and luxurious suite with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had 4 fantastic days in this magnificent oasis. Wonderfully friendly staff in one of the most stylish Riads in Marrakesh. Nothing was too much trouble and we always had helpful advice on where to eat and what to see. (Advice that we found you could really trust, Johnathan and his team have impeccable taste.) We had restaurants booked for us and they organised the most brilliant official guide to show us just what we wanted to see, on and off the tourist trail. Situated in the heart of the Medina it's brilliantly located and you get the total Marrakech experience. Just go.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.