We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent luxury, fantastic service, nothing is too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Cronulla, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent luxury, fantastic service, nothing is too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our trip to Marrakech, where we stayed in Riad Farnatchi for two nights. 28th and 29th May. We are a family of four, our kids are 2 and 4, we were worried before we arrived that it might not be child friendly or they might get bored, how wrong we were. As soon as we arrived - on foot after our transfer ended at the edge of the medina, we then were met by a man with a cart, who brought our luggage through the narrow alleyways where life was in full colour and we then entered the calm and coolness of Riad Farnatchi.

The owner James, greeted us and showed us to the palatial room 9 on the ground floor. It really is breathtaking, a lounge where they had put our 4year old's bed, but there was still plenty of room even with the large desk, coffee table and comfy chair.
Across the courtyard was our bedroom with a super king size bed, leading on to the dressing room and really impressive bathroom with huge copper bathtub and a separate massive shower.

We ate dinner at the Riad and it felt as if they were catering only for us, in that we asked for some kid's food and they asked what the kids would eat and they had it made for us, brought it to the room along with some canapés for us. The kids loved it! We then had dinner in the restaurant that evening with a monitor on, the food was delicious, it was definitely Moroccan, a good choice of all 3 courses.

Breakfast at the Riad can be taken in your room, in the restaurant or on the roof! We chose to dine beside the swimming pool, which is so ornate, you almost don't want to spoil the way it looks by swimming in it. The breakfast is traditional Moroccan with fresh pancakes, breads with butter and jams.

My wife and I both had had massages from the on-site masseuse and had a hammam, which was vigorous and relaxing in equal measure in the Riad's own cellar hammam.

James has managed to create the ultimate luxury hotel, but with only 9 suites it feels like you are staying at a very successful friend's house who gives you all the hints and tips you need to make sure no time is wasted in getting to know Marrakech and recommends restaurants across the city if you choose not to eat in the Riad, James will help you avoid any tourist traps, and even where to buy anything you might have spotted around the souks, so that you pay the best possible price.

If you are choosing a Riad to stay in during your stay in Marrakech, make it the Riad Farnatchi and you will be longing to return as we are, with or without the kids!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
171
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jumilhac-le-Grand, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

excellent. Clean , beautifull and full of very helpfull people. Would stay here again if back in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: book early as heavily booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Farnatchi is beyond praise. We stayed for three days, at the end of a 12-day trip to Morocco, and this beautiful riad ended our vacation on a very high note. When we asked for something, it was never too much trouble. The pool was almost too beautiful to swim in, and the tile, plaster, and wood work were museum quality. We found the meals to be extraordinary, and the chef was very accommodating, allowing us to reserve for dinner quite late in the day, even when we were the only people eating in that evening. The orientation materials prepared by the owner gave us valuable information about the city and its restaurants, as well as the food and wine of the region.

Room Tip: We were booked into the smallest room, but we loved living in this charming duplex, with our sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I have busy working schedule and were expecting to find the right spot to stay when in Marrakech .... for some days away from business.

After few search on various websites, the Riad Farnatchi came os our preferred option. The personel was so reactive on email and everything was pre-arranged as our wishes.

We stayed 5 days in suite #7 and it was so lovely to wake-up early morning with the birds and be able to take our breakfast anywhere as well as spent some time on our private roof-terrasse.

If you are looking for a top-notch place in which everyone is dedicated to your service.. do not hesitate. My wife and I will efinitely recommend it to our friends and stay there for our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
321 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a fantastic place. They are organized to deliver service that exceeds every expectation. It is rare to find any place where they clearly are actively trying to think how they can exceed every desire by something exceptional. I stayed for 3 nights in suite #4. This is a spacious room, with a balcony to one central courtyard and a private rooftop terrace off another one.They truly do deliver on those little extras, bringing tidbits to eat every early evening. The breakfast is scrumptious, as are the dinners. I liked the restaurant so much that I ate here every night except for one night at Jemaa el Fna. All employees are pleasant and knowledgeable; there simply are no shortfalls from top to bottom. As a result, the stay was magical, even for one such as me that by and large does not believe in magic! I would return in a second. By the way, the location is very close to the souks, just perfect! Congratulations to management; their product is unmatched.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I travelled with two teenage girls to Marrakech and had the good fortune of staying at the Riad Farnatchi. We credit the Riad owner (James W) and his staff for making our first visit to Marrakech special and unique. In this day of chain hotels and conglomerates, we are finding exotic travel experiences to be difficult to attain. The Riad Farnatchi wholly satisfied our desires for mixing adventure and luxury within our budget.

This is the first time I am writing a review for tripadvisor because I feel very energized after returning from our trip. Without having done much pre-trip research on Marrakech, we felt very much at ease the minute the Riad driver greeted us at the airport. We were dropped off in the middle of the ancient city centre (Medina) where our bags were transferred to a donkey cart and escorted to the front door. We were offered Moroccan mint tea in the fabulous courtyard next to the pool while our bags were being moved to our room.

We requested a room such that the four of us could stay together. The Farnatchi was flexible enough to convert their two story villa unit to accommodate us by replacing their sofas with two twin beds. This worked out brilliantly, providing some amount of privacy for us and our girls, and yet still having the security of being in one room. This arrangement is difficult to find in Marrakech! Our villa had a beautiful rooftop terrace where we had our coffee in the mornings and drinks in the evenings. The interior of the unit is decorated with authentic Moroccan furniture and artefacts. I believe the other reviews highlight the old-world beauty of the entire Riad and its amenities very well.

In terms of our time while in Marrakech, James was able to recommend and organise a very bespoke itinerary for us. He set us up with a private guide through the Atlas Mountains, taking us through several Berber Villages. Our guide was English-speaking and from one of the local Berber villages. He shared his knowledge of Berber life and historical events in the area. We spent another day walking through the desert areas which included a camel ride and a gourmet lunch in an oasis camp. We ate several meals at the Farnatchi, one of which included a delicious barbeque on their rooftop terrace for just our family. The experience was unparalleled, grilling and dining in privacy in the middle of the ancient Medina... The Farnatchi’s luxury accommodations and their approach for creating personal vacation experiences truly sets them apart from other options in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Their two story villa accommodates a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I should have written earlier regarding my stay at Riad Farnatchi. I have not reviewed an hotel before - probably through simple inertia - but having recommended (actually insisted) that any friend who would listen should stay at Riad Farnatchi, I was astonished to hear from one of them, who had just looked it up on Trip Advisor, that someone had trashed it`s otherwise impeccable record. I suppose that it is impossible to be all things to all men, but it is truly impossible to understand how anyone could have actually visited Riad Farnatchi and found the staff and management anything other than totally and happily solicitous.
I have visited Marrakech at least a dozen times over the past 20 years. Without naming names, I have been lucky enough to stay in many of the city`s best addresses, but none have combined the charm and genuine happiness that personified all at Riad Farnatchi.
Riad Farnatchi is such a special place from the architecture to the staff, but I can see little point in re-iterating all the plaudits that it has received from your other recent reviewers. In fact, I would leave it at that if it wasn^t for the fact that James (Wix), the owner, had looked after us with such obvious joy. His natural efforts go way beyond the call of duty and the description as "impersonal" is simply absurd.
We are often told that "it takes all types" but it is utterly wrong that one strange individual should be allowed to mislead your readers so comprehensively without comment from a rather more objective (and regular) guest.

Room Tip: Every room is special - talk with the management when you book and they willingly talk your through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words which were hugely appreciated by all of us at Farnatchi.

We all look forward to your speedy return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.