We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm and intrigue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“an oasis of calm and intrigue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The noise and hustle and confusion of the streets, the high no-windowed walls of Marrakech were a bit of a shock, only highlighted by the warm welcome we received as the large carved door opened, and we were introduced to a calm and amazingly authentic world apart.
The tranquility of the pool, the carved dining room, the suite we were in on the ground floor was so comfortable, a bath room to stay in all day, it's own sitting room a nd private courtyard, slippers and a robe to take away, little cookies and things to devour...amazing.
The best bits were the staff who made you feel so at home, lighting wood fires, offering drinks, cool towels, and the roof garden wsa fantastic with it's views to the snow capped Atlas mountains, a great place for a cocktail...we sipped there for ever.
The longer we stayed, the better it became..I wish home was like this!
A real oasis of calm, fantastic service, and all traditional, and such warm smiles

Room Tip: every suite seemed to be very different..web site shows them, so have a look there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
154
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Riad Farnatchi

We had 3 wonderful days in this excellent Riad. We were welcomed by James, son of the British owner, who personally showed us around and then to our suite, one of only 9 in the Riad. Ours, Suite 5, was on the first floor, overlooking the quiet second courtyard. In fact, we had three sides of that courtyard, one taken up by our balcony on the way into the main room (taking up another side of the courtyard) and the bathroom taking out a third side.
The room itself elicited a response of ‘Wow’. It is huge, with wonderful high ceilings and a sitting area (3 sofa/chairs) in the main room. There was a TV but we didn’t use that (or the films apparently available for free on demand). The bathroom includes a separate shower with a domed ceiling in the centre of which is the shower head - excellent design. There was a selection of Molton Brown products in there too (but sensibly these are refillable bottles, rather than ones that guests might take home). What you can take home is the slippers and robes provided for everyone - and we also managed to get different sizes of slippers from a quick call to the reception.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served within 5 minutes of a phone call saying where you’d like it, and we were told we could have it any time of the day we wanted. Certainly there was no problem with our 11am dining.
We had dinner at the Riad on our first night, which was excellent, and accompanied by a wine list (with a down-to-earth guide in the room to explain what was worth trying). Whilst you need to order food earlier in the day, and officially the first people to chose effectively determine what will be available to everyone else, flexibility was shown to us, and even though someone else had ordered, we were still given the full range of the menu to chose from. The Moroccan salads and lamb tagine that we had were very good - better we thought that at the well-known Al Fassia in the Nouvelle Ville, though the Riad’s were not perhaps as enormous as their portions.
Taxis were arranged for us, with an excellent driver (we had Samir) who drops you off at the door - this is quite impressive when you see how narrow some of the streets are, and you wonder how you get round some of the bends without the car getting scratched. When a parked car prevented us getting to the Riad door on the last night, the taxi driver escorted us on foot to ensure we got back without incident.
The Riad is well-placed near the Ben Yousef Madersa, which is a helpful landmark to find your way back through the chaos of Marrakech. We were left with the dilemma of whether we should stay in the Riad and enjoy its facilities, or get out and see the city. A bit of both was ultimately what was necessary!
The Riad has one courtyard with a swimming pool (but we were there in November when it was a little cool for that), another courtyard with lemon and other trees growing in it, with alcoves and rooms off these in which you could have a meal or just sit and read, enjoying the free tea and coffee on demand. Other little freebie nice touches included pastries, fruit and bottled water replenished in your room each day.
If quibbling, I would question what is meant by ‘free use of the hammam’. Unsurprisingly, you do have to pay for this (430 Dirhams per person), and it is also something that you need to request in advance so that the room can be warmed up properly. The price of the dinner was something that we could not see stated anywhere in the room literature, though no doubt you could ask and be informed.
Overall, an excellent place to stay - if we go back to Marrakech, we won’t want to try anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Riad Farnatchi was a lovely experience! It was our first trip to Marrakech and having spent almost a full day of traveling in 3 different planes we were exhausted but excited!
Upon our arrival we were welcomed with hot towels and sweet moroccan tea. Checking in was a breeze! We got a quick tour of the Riad then were set up in our suite. It was quite cold in the suite but the staff were quick to start the fire place. It was nice to have complimentary canapés, a fruit plate as well as complimentary morrocon treats in our room.
We stayed 2 nights and changed suites each night.
Overall the experience was wonderful and we truly felt at home, the staff were warm,accommodating and everything was done to our liking..

John the owner was truly informative for entertainment and any restaurant inquiries we had and all his suggestions were spot on!

We'll definitely be back again..(inshala)

Room Tip: We particularly loved suite#6 its a duplex with its own terrace thats a wonderful spot for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed in the Riad Farnatchi for two nights and were wowed by the lovely Wixes and their staff. The suites are five star all the way, offering a wonderful blend of Moroccan architecture and modern design. It's located five minutes from the souks, making it a great base for shopping. It's not cheap but it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Four days spent in this wonderful riad was perfection. The accommodation is luxurious and full of character. It is an oasis of peace in the middle of Marrakech. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly, with nothing too much trouble. James Wix, who runs it, could not have been more attentive.The food is delicious and imaginative. It is worth staying simply to have the massages.If you don't want to stay in a luxurious large characterless 5 star hotel but still want luxury and service, this is the place to be. Like previous reviewers, I simply cannot understand why this gem is not ranked at number one.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a verandah overlooking one of the internal courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJWswitzerland, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time and the trouble to write a review about Riad Farnatchi and for all your kind words.

I fully appreciate your comment about Riad Farnatchi's ranking. It is as frustrating to us as it must be confusing to our potential guests. After Conde Nast Traveller named Farnatchi as the best luxury riad in Marrakech we had hoped that a re-evaluation may have taken place, but unfortunately not. We had a total change of management almost exactly a year ago. Since that time, every single review has been exceptional and has awarded Farnatchi the highest possible score.

Although Riad Farnatchi has risen over the past year from 59th to 39th at the time of writing, there is little hope of it going significantly further due to a couple of poor reviews posted in 2007 and 2008. One was simply a work of fiction but the others, correctly highlighting some shortcomings at that time, are now 4 years out of date and related to incidents involving the old management. That there are riads in the top 10 that have had fewer "Excellent" reviews in the past year while Farnatchi is obliged to languish 30 places below them is immensely disappointing.

On a more positive note, I was thrilled to note your comments about the food. A lot of work has gone into raising the standards throughout the riad and the results achieved by the kitchen crew have been particularly well received - thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I didn't stay here as were were booked into another hotel but it was recommended to us by some friends. We booked (by email) dinner on the terrace one evening which was simply awesome.

On arrival we were greeted by James, the owner whose good humour and extensive local knowledge were welcomed.

The food we had was excellent. clearly well sourced and cooked to perfection. We had to order in advance so they could properly source what we wanted. The wine was beautiful and reasonably priced (between 150 and 400 MAD) and the meal was also great value.

You can't beat an awesome view at dinner and Riad Farnatchi delivered on that front too. A perfect romantic venue and a must for any guy wanting to score some points with his lady.

The service was also top-notch and we had a tour of a room and the Hammam which has convinced us we'll be staying there when we come back.

Highly recommended to those wanting to sample what a beautiful Riad has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Imagine arriving off a flight into the stifling heat of the afternoon in a bustling North African city like Marrakech. Collected from the airport very efficiently by hotel representatives and car, you and your bags are escorted protectively into, and through, the apparent chaos of the Medina area. When the car can go no further, you are invited to accompany the hotel staff member on a brief walk down the busy little alleyways, until you come to an inconsequential archway that will become increasingly familiar over the next few days of your stay in Marrakech. Out of the gloom of a guard house steps a welcoming figure dressed in hotel livery, who reaches up to a bell on a huge, but discreet, ancient wooden door tucked into the wall. Within that huge door there is a smaller, more manageable one, that is opened by yet another smiling member of staff. You step through, and you feel the extreme relief of finding yourself in what can only be described as the most wonderful Oasis of Sanity in Marrakech. We were told by a tour guide that "Riad" means "Internal Garden (of Paradise)" and the Riad Farnatchi certainly is that! The hotel exudes luxury, right from the entrance, through the public rooms, to the bedrooms. The spaciousness of the bedrooms is almost excessive. The furnishings and artwork are stunning. The quality of the food was superb. And on top of all of that, the hospitality and the service, from all the staff we encountered, without exception, (and we have never stayed in a hotel before where we could honestly say that!), was extremely friendly, courteous and above all, efficient! Truly an "(Internal) Garden of Paradise". Would we go back? THAT is a rhetorical question!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent value for money. Stretch the wallet to the best you can afford and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.