We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi last week and absolutely loved it. It is the perfect haven from the hustle and bustle of the souks which are just a few minutes walk away. From the moment the car picked us up from the airport we were treated like family and nothing was too much trouble. They even opened the kitchen back up at 10pm one night to make us dinner! We were given suite 6, which has a beautiful living room, with a bedroom upstairs and its very own roof terrace. You can see how much thought has gone into every detail of the design of the riad. The owners have perfectly combined a calming, tranquil atmosphere with little splashes of vibrant Moroccan colours. Little touches such as afternoon pastries and evening canapes were a real treat. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
147
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We recently embarked on a two week honeymoon in Morocco, staying in over six hotels in various regions and without doubt, Riad Farnatchi was our favourite of the entire holiday.
Everything from the service to the atmosphere to the amazing breakfasts and delicous dinners made our stay here very special. We loved the laid back atmosphere, were nothing was too much trouble. Quite simply, this place has a sophisticated air about it. I'm suprised it's not higher up in the ratings, although I think this may be because the owners don't push you to comment on here as many other hotels did.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, we can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJWswitzerland, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
I was thrilled to read your report about your stay. I am regularly asked why we are so low in the rankings and have penned the following response, which I do hope that you find useful:

Although I built Farnatchi and continue to own it, it was run under management from the day it opened until November 2010. The manager was generally much liked but in 2008 it came to light that she had had a health scare which resulted in her being hospitalised in 2009. All our reviews that fell below the Excellent or Very Good rating related to visits between 2007 and 2009 and I suspect that they were not unrelated to her health issues.

The second reason is that until this year we had failed to realise that the quality of an hotel's reviews was not in itself sufficient and that quantity was equally important. Some of the smaller riads that are riding high have miraculously had almost as many reviews as potential clients and we have fallen well behind on that score.

Finally, there is no mechanism to make an adjustment to an hotel's rating following management changes or alterations to the property itself. I am not permitted to comment here on that policy, but we are all the more grateful when potential guests read our more recent reviews and ignore the (relatively few) slip ups in the past.

After all, imagine a property that was once a pizza hut being taken over by a three star chef and yet still being rated as a pizza hut 3 years later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

This was our first time in Marrakesh so we do not have a yardstick for comparison but I cannot see how a place can better this! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Riad Farnatchi is the kind of place you wish you never have to leave. The Riad has been designed with such attention to detail, the owners have the most amazing amount of vision to have produced somewhere so luxurious and unique. Round every corner is something different - from the gorgeous decor - which is totally stylish but also massively welcoming and comfortable, to those little touches that make such a massive difference to how enjoyable somewhere is to stay. This is a truly luxurious place to stay - the rooms are all different to each other and all spectacular - and (goes without saying) absolutely spotless - you want for nothing - from your Bose ipod dock to the delicious pastries and fresh fruit in your room every day. The service here is fabulous - slick, professional and warm and friendly - food is beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. I was in Morocco for a week and this was certainly amongst the best food I was lucky enough to experience - from the delicious, beautifully presented breakfast to an amazing 3 course evening meal in the fabulous dining room. This Riad is in a great location - central, right in the heart of the Souks and only a few minutes walk to the main square. However, once behind the gate, you really are in such a peaceful place - it's incredibly relaxing. Although I was at this Riad for work purposes, this review is totally my professional opinion, in that I rarely use Trip Advisor due to the risk of fake reviews, but in this instance, I felt compelled to post my experience. I'd thoroughly recommend Riad Farnatchi and would urge anyone to book it and experience this fabulous place. One final word - the Hammam and massage here is indescribable, you just need to experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Beautiful haven on the edge of the Souk. We booked last minute (at the airport before we got on the flight in fact) and they sent a car to pick us up from the flight. They had a meal ready for us which was sumptuous and by the time we got to our suite, they had a fire burning in the grate.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious, overlooking the Atlas Mountains. The staff were exceptional, a hamam and massage a must. Peaceful, quiet and romantic. One of the most memorable hotels I have ever stayed in. So memorable, we went back and weren't disappointed second time round.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I had been told about the wonderful Riad Farnatchi by a number of friends who had stayed there. On looking it up on Trip Advisor, I was nearly put off by its “position”, which was in the 50s at the time of booking, although now a bit higher. I am so glad that we weren’t! The reception staff went out of their way to ensure that every aspect of our trip was taken of care of prior to our arrival, even recommending and then offering to book hotels in other parts of Morocco that we planned to visit. When we arrived at the airport, we were immediately offered a cold towel and chilled water before being whisked away in the hotel car. Our welcome at the riad and the service that we experienced throughout our stay was truly faultless, as was our beautiful suite. Dinner on the terrace was so good on the first night that we booked again for our fourth and fifth nights. I particularly recommend the shoulder of lamb and aubergine and beef tagine, although everything we tried was delicious - even the spiced lamb’s hearts!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJWswitzerland, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
I would first of all like to thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at Riad Farnatchi and for all your kind comments.

I fully understand you confusion of our lowly ranking and feel that a brief explanation may be helpful. We have been marked down fro three reasons, each of which is historic.

Although I built Farnatchi and continue to own it, it was run under management from the day it opened until November 2010. The manager was generally much liked but in 2008 it came to light that she had had a health scare which resulted in her being hospitalised in 2009. All our reviews that fell below the Excellent or Very Good rating related to visits between 2007 and 2009 and I suspect that they were not unrelated to her health issues.

The second reason is that until this year we had failed to realise that the quality of an hotel's reviews was not in itself sufficient and that quantity was equally important. Some of the smaller riads that are riding high have had almost as many reviews as potential clients and we have fallen well behind on that score.

Finally, there is no mechanism to make an adjustment to an hotel's rating following management changes or alterations to the property itself. I am not permitted to comment here on that policy, but we are all the more grateful when potential guests read our more recent reviews and ignore the (relatively few) slip ups in the past!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

This Riad is truly the hidden jewel of the souk. Perfectly located to experience all Marrakech has to offer. The rooms are individually decorated with style and precision. Every guests need is considered. You feel as if you are at home with the the most charming and attentive staff. Worth going to Marrakech just for Riad Farnatchi.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.