We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This being my forth holiday to Marrakech, I was looking for somewhere a little different and totally spoiling to stay with delicious food, impeccable service and in close proximity to the main square. In Riad Farnatchi I certainly found all this and much more. A traditional riad that has been beautifully restored and transformed into a stunning luxury boutique hotel. With it's stylish contemporary and Moroccan design it has a wonderful peaceful atmosphere. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly and the food was out of this world - the best I have tasted in any retaurant in Marrakech.

The Riad can serve your meals in any part of the hotel, breakfast on the roof terrace is a must, with views over the city and up to the Atlas mountains. There are also many hidden alcoves, sitting rooms and private balconies to choose from and not forgetting the dramatic main dining room with intricately hand carved walls.

One of the highlights of our stay was the hammam, in keeping with Moroccan tradition, a real eye-opening experience and I have never felt so clean!

The beauty of this charming hotel is that it is family run so the owner and his son have an active interest in the business and you will be sure to meet one of them on numerous occasions during your stay. They have a very hands-on approach and are more than willing to help you plan your day, recommend restaurants or arrange a special treat for you.

We had a very fantastic holiday at Farnatchi and I would happily recommend it to anyone. In fact I have already booked to return later this year and am counting down the days.

Room Tip: Suite 9 is well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
154
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We visited Marrakech to try a different break to the usual beach holiday, with my partner and brother & sister in law. Riad Farnatchi was a wonderfull tranquil refuge from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The decor and detailing in the Riad was exceptional,We both had superb suites, very spacious with great bathrooms, and our own private roof terraces to relax and enjoy the sun. The staff were very friendly and helpful although not all spoke great english. We had an evening BBQ on the roof top which was fun, we used the hamam several times and the massage was the BEST ever. Going out :The Foundouk was a great restaurant within skipping distance of the Riad, very good food and atmosphere.One word of advice would be if you enjoy a drink is that the medina is pretty much alcohol free except restaurants , the hotel beer is not the best and quite expensive. The location of the Riad is excellent, it was easy to walk out into the souks, the square,& musuems etc and still be able to call back into the Riad whenever you needed a break from the chaos outside. Overall we had an incredible time and fell in the with the beautiful Riad Farnatchi and Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I normally never put a review on an hotel but I'll make an exception for Riad farmatchi.

I have stayed for 5 nights in March 2011 with my girlfriend and I have to say that it has been an amazing experience.

Being used to stay in Aman resort, my expectation for good service was extremely high and I have to say that they have exceeded my highest exception.

The staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful decorated and the riad is perfectly located in the medina.

I highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants a top luxury holiday in Marrakech.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed here twice in January - 1st for a quick weekend break and then we liked it so much we came back - went to the coast and had a few nights on the way back.

This Riad is lovely - the rooms are very special indeed, the attention to detail and the small things like Molton Brown products, nice thick towels make a huge difference. The attention to detail in furnishing and the service are very special too.

We ate twice in the spectacular dining room and they went out of their way to make Dinner very nice and reasonably priced.

The roof terrace is very nice - lovely for breakfast or for sundowners.

Nice to have the owner and his son with a presence - always there to say hello and ask if anything can be done to assist - makes a nice change these days for that level of customer care.

Would highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Went to Marrakech between Xmas and New Year and stayed at Farnatchi. We had such a nice time that we went back three weeks later.

Location, standard of room, staff Farnatchi delivers all of the key elements of a top class hotel with added extra's.

Will be back! A special thanks to all of the team for making our stay a very pleasant and memorable.

I will be back and I have no critisism at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I recently spent the weekend at the Riad Farnatchi and my thoughts are as follows:-

The location is excellent, a short drive from the airport into the Medina, within minutes walk of the souks and the main square and many other museums and points of interest.

The hustle and bustle of Marrakesh can be quite overwhelming with donkey carts and scooter riders alike haring round the dusty, narrow busy streets of the medina. From the moment you enter the riad the mayhem of the streets is left behind, replaced by the tranquillity of a traditional riad with the ambience, service and facilities of a five star hotel. Be under no illusions, this is not a place to stay if you enjoy large, generic multinational institutions, what Farnatchi provides is far more personal Moroccan experience.

The kitchen specialises in local cuisine, with excellent tagines and other classic Moroccan dishes on offer. Breakfast are excellent with a selection of home made yogurt and breads, freshly squeezed local orange juice and fresh fruit. What I particularly like is that meals can be eaten whereever you like in the riad, be it in the dinning room or one of the many secluded seating areas situated around the riad.

As far as accommodation is concerned, the suites (of which there are nine) are palatial in size, extremely comfortable and very well appointed. Aside form the sitting room in my suite, there are numerous places to sit and enjoy the tranquil surroundings of the riad, be it by the pool in the central court yard or on the roof terrace looking out towards the atlas mountains over the roofs of Marrakesh.

The staff are friendly and very efficient, without be overbearing, and will as expected of this type of establishment arrange any reservation or activity that you may want to do whilst in Marrakech. It is worth noting that the riad had a change of management at the beginning of the year, the current management seems to have everything well under control and it is clear, that they are actively improving the property, as noted in the current programme of refurbishment that sees upgrades to some of the suites and the massage room amongst other things.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My partner and I are fairly well travelled and we're both picky to say the least when it comes to hotels. Riad Farnatchi and it's staff all far exceeded our high expectations. We stayed in room 5 and it was so comfortable and gorgeous we had a hard time pulling ourselves away to explore the city. After frenetic days exploring the Medina and haggling with the local merchants, Farnatchi was the perfect escape. The entire staff, without exception, took very good care of us and did everything to make us feel welcomed. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.