We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An opulent oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An opulent oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Just returned from Marrakech after a 3 night stay at La Sultana with my wife and her parents. Situated in the bustling Kasbah area to the south of the medina, the hotel is just up a small alley off one of the busy streets. Once you enter through the large golden doors, the noise behind disappears.

The hotel is a combination of four riads merged into one hotel - with a maze of corridors and winding stairs leading off to increasingly opulent rooms. The attention to detail in every aspect and finish is incredible - and you can really see why the hotel has been used in countless magazines. Each of the suites has it's own theme and is almost worth a tour just to see the intricate designs alone. The hotel was vast - with a number of courtyards, one for the pool, another for a water garden, and another with a jacuzzi and above the spa. When we arrived we were greeted with an array of delicious pastries and a glass of mint tea.

My wife and I stayed in the spacious Crocodile junior suite - a stunningly red room with intricate carvings and a grand king-sized bed. The bathroom was also something else - with gold finishings, a marble bath and shower area. The windows of the room looked inward to the centre of the riad courtyard on the first floor.

My parents in law were lucky to be upgraded to the Hippopotamus suite, due to a problem with the air-conditioning in their first room. Situated over two floors, and with two balconies, it was simply incredible, again with its own themes and exotic finishing. The bathroom had two levels itself - with steps up to a stunning plunge-pool style jacuzzi. Air conditioning worked very well in both rooms, which was particularly crucial as our first day was 43 degrees...

On our first night we ate at the restaurant on the spacious roof terrace. The food was wonderful - sampling an assortment of delicious salads, harrira soup (definitely try this), along with varying tagine and cous-cous dishes, all of which were to a high standard. This was accompanied by live musicians in the corner, creating an incredible atmosphere.

One thing we did notice - and something you have to get used to - was that service was fairly slow everywhere (particularly evident in bars and restaurants). It was simply just that life was so much more relaxed there. It made us realise how ridiculously fast-paced our lifestyle is back home. This is most summed up when you take a taxi ride around the city. To say driving is erratic there is an understatement - nobody knew how to drive, or in fact where to drive, and so quite often cars would end up on the opposite side of the road, face to face with another. People don't drive quickly there though, so we only once saw an accident, which was a minor bump.

Just looking over the wall of the roof terrace in the early morning let us watch life unfold down below - with stalls selling fresh fish, fruit and pastries quickly appearing. The view from here was something else - a panorama all round Marrakech and to the Atlas mountains.

The city itself was a sensory overload, with a bombardment of sights, sounds and smells! We decided to book a local guide for a day and a half, which was a very wise investment - and he took us on a tour of the city, through the Kasbah, into the Saadian tombs, through alleys across town, past the Koutobia, the Djemaa el Fna and into the labyrinth of souks. We visited stores akin to Aladdin's Cave and into a grand carpet store (where we did feet tests on an array of rugs!). He was most helpful in the souks though - fending off over-eager sellers and beggars, and keeping an eye to make sure we weren't ripped off. Frankly though, all you need to say is a simple 'Non' and people get the message - nobody went too far, we never felt threatened (as some reviewers have said) and the people were friendlier than in the majority of European cities. In fact, the banter with sellers and at the Djemaa el Fna at night was part of the fun.
Anyway - I could go on for ages, so here's a list of recommendations:
- hotel - as above, it is very expensive, but quite simply the most exotic place we have ever stayed, with service and attention to detail to match. The spa is also incredible.
- Djemaa el Fna - a chaotic frenzy of activity and sensory overload you would be crazy to miss out on. Snake charmers and monkeys by day, endless food stalls and storytellers by night.
- Le Marrakchi - a restaurant on the side of the main square, and has wonderful food at reasonable prices, with the best view on the second floor - but be warned you should sit next to a window as it got very hot in there.
- Cafe de France - sit back with a fresh orange juice on the roof terrace. You will not get a better view in the city.
- Le Riad Monceau - a small riad with a small restaurant near to the square, the food was simple but nice.
- camel trekking - in the Palmeraie to the north of the city.
- Jardin Majorelle - beautiful gardens, with vibrant blue, restored by Yves Saint Laurent.
- Saadian Tombs - definitely worth a visit.
- souks - goes without saying - go when it's busiest in the morning!!
- food and drink. Fresh orange juice. Is amazing. Also, the food was wonderful - kefta (meatballs in a tomato sauce with an egg on top) was amazing, as was harira soup and also berber breads.
- mint tea. Best. Drink. Ever. We rarely felt the need for alcohol, and it was a blessing that few places served it. Why don't they make this drink more in England?

Bear in mind...
- it can be expensive in town, and try to remember the exchange rate when you are bartering (think how much you'd value the purchase back home). We had to bring someone down from 9000 dirhams to 1500 in one store for a some antiques. The same applies to taxis - agree the rate before you get in. Most times they will ask you for the price first, so go in way below your ideal amount.
- take sterling or Euros. You can change at La Sultana, and there are loads of ATMs around town, which we had to use. Many places didn't take card (despite guidebooks saying that most did...).
- be sensible. Although we had a guide, when we didn't, we just used common sense around town. In the souks and Djemaa el Fna, most people will try to stop you to engage in conversation before getting you to buy something. Watch for the Henna tattoo artists too - dont let them grab your hand!! A simple 'Non' does the trick. If you take a photo of a snake charmer expect to pay them.

If you want an oasis of calm to return to in the city, then I'd definitely recommend La Sultana. The location was perfect and we could not fault it. Ignore previous reviews - I cannot understand why this hotel is not nestled at the top of the list. Marrakech is a wonderful place with incredible people, and we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    60
    13
    13
    9
See reviews for
60
363
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed in La Sultana for 4 days having stayed at the Kasbah Tamadot in the Atlas mountains for the first part of our trip. Unfortunatly for La Sultana, I doubt any hotel could easily follow Tamadot... that said for the prices they charged the hotel was just not up to scratch.

First the good stuff... The hotel itself was very nicely present - a new-ish hotel done in a Riad style. The maze of corridors around 3 courtyards, with beautful moroccan lanterns, tiles and stonework certainly gave an interesting and authentic feel. The swimming pool in the largest coutyard was very nice (and one of the better Riad pools or so I have read) but it was a shame there were only a couple of loungers around it. There were mainly tables as this was one of the places breakfast and lunch was serviced.

The roof terrace was great - spacious with plenty of loungers, good views and pretty lanterns and plants. You could get breakfast and lunch on the roof and there was also a small plunge pool up here to cool off.

I was a little disappointed in our room. It was quite cool in its own way with funky lights and OTT bathroom, but it was also quite small and dark (painted all dark blues and greens) with no natural light. It was set on one of the smaller riad courtyards and from peering into the other rooms, I'd say there were better rooms than ours. Rooms are named and ours was called "Poun" so if you end up in this room and have checked in early enough (we got there early evening) ask to look at some other rooms in case there are any you like better.

Areas where I thought the hotel wasn't up to scratch are the service, the spa and the general attention to detail. Whilst the staff were friendly, the service was patchy and slow, particularly at breakfast. Breakfast was meant to start at 8am and on our last day we were leaving for the airport at 8.30 so wanted to eat before we went. Tables were still being set at 8.15, half the buffet was empty and I had to go and look for someone in the kitchen to order coffee.

The spa was the worst though. The spa staff were unfriendly and incompetent - it took 3 visits and a complaint to the hotel manager before we could get treatments booked at times we wanted (having actualy made an appointment already that was flatly denied when we popped back to confirm). Our treatments were also not great - my back massage done by a surly unsmiling theraprist was almost as aggressive as it was ineffectual. My husband had the hammam which he desribed as "brutal" and again, following by a pointless massage. Whilst the spa is extremely good looking, the large show- piece jacuzzi was on the cold side and not very vigourous.

Overall attention to detail also showed me the hotel cuts corners - e.g. thin, stained scratchy towels in the bathrooms, poor quality toilettries, the stale welcome pastries brought on our first day then left for the duration. This may sound picky but for nearly £400 a night I expected more.

Finally - make sure you use the safe in your room and keep it locked at all times as we both had cash taken from our wallets (which were in the safe, although unlocked) around the time of the evening turn down service. It was GBP that was taken, and not all the cash we had so we did not notice until back in the UK. I have complained to the hotel but after 5 days have still not heard from them.

Overall, La Sultana is a good looking, interesting hotel with a good location (only 10-15 mins walk from the main square) but ultimately the spa, service and prices let it down.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

A magical hotel, with lush decor exquisitely attentive to the finest detail ... a feast for the eyes. This hotel and riad right in the Medina of Marrakech is one of the most stunningly beautiful to behold, with an outstanding staff. The spa was outstanding, as was the staff and hammam. Probably the most romantic hotel in all of Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We didn't stay in the hotel but booked a spa there as we thought it looked lovely from the pictures eve though it was "5 star" and therefore expensive. We were rushed in by spa staff stomping around looking grumpy, not given a towel and left in the jacuzzi which was to cold to stay in for more than 2 minutes. When we were retrieved for our massage we were given a flimsy gown but no towel and not given anything to dry off with so left shivering( all 3 of us independently) The massage was rushed and the masseuse left me at the end in the pitch dark with no indication she was finished. just a slammed door behind her. I had to ask for a shower afterwards to wash off the oil and then again was not given a towel afterwards. We were then rushed out ( of the very splendid looking hotel) Based on this I wouldn't rate the sultana. The hotel was also hard to find.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We booked La Sultana because of the reviews on Trip Advisor, this was supposed to be a deluxe hotel. The architecture, furniture, artwork etc were truely amazing and staff were very friendly. However, when we checked in to our Junior Suite it was just a regular room, the hotel literature stated every room has a CD/DVD player, nowhere to be seen. No mention of the builders working on the roof above our room, I mentioned this to the manageress and nothing was done. After 3 days of our 7 day stay we left and went to the Royal Mirage Deluxe. On checking out we were offered a much larger suite, but the building work could still be heard on the sun terrace. Didn't go on holiday to listen to builders. Breakfast is served in the open air courtyard, which is OK, but at night gets quite cold. They have no bar, but numerous seating areas and you have to find a waiter in order to get a drink, which can be quite a lengthy process. We ate only once in the restaurant, this was only average. My fillet steak was half fat and gristle, not impressed! On checking out early they also tried to charge for some crisps and chocolates from the Mini Bar, which had been consumed by the previous occupants, this was deducted from the bill though. On to service generally in Marrakech - very poor and very slow. Cool places to visit - Cafe 16 (outstanding food and drinks) and La Cortinia (smart place, nice food, good service, amazing belly dancers).

  • Liked — Real Marrocan experience
  • Disliked — Builders knocking, size of room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

This was the first place we stayed in Marrakech & by far the best. The pool is a delight & the staff could not do enough... Very friendly & highly professional.

Beautiful staff & a lovely atmosphere.

This was a perfect sanctuary for us to acclimatise to Morocco. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — All good
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticino
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We spent four full days at the Sultana. Absolutely amazing! The location, the personalized welcome, the rich furnitures, the atmosphere, the spa facilities, the rooms and the kindness of the staff is really something that we will hardly forget.

  • Liked — The style of the hotel, the inner space, the quality of the services and of the accomodation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel
Hotel La Sultana
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio and Otel so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.