We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed at the La Sultana for 4 nights at the start of our holiday in Marrakech, a 5 star hotel which is actually a group of Riads. From the moment we were greated by the porters in their splendid livery we were transported from the hussle and bussle of the Medina and swept into a hidden paradise which was certainly full of charm and character. The check-in was very informal and relaxing, sipping Mint Tea (the first of many) and eating Morrocan pastries while sitting in the courtyard surrounded by fine art, plants, and a cooling fountain.
We had booked 2 x Prestige Deluxe rooms and were very pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to Junior Suites. My wife and I were in the Camel Suite whilst our daughters were in the Giraffe Suite. Both suites were very well appointed and spacious, the bathrooms were tremendous with huge sunken baths as well as showers. Each room had a number of welcome gifts including Wine, a Tagine, and various fruits and pastries.
The hotel itself was extremely quite and peaceful, the facilities were excellent. The pool was great for a morning dip and the roof-top restaurant was ideal for breakfast. The breakfast itself was very nice, some may find the choice a little limited though the quality was exceptional (as was everything at La Sultana).
We spent most of our days in and around the Medina, the Souks, and the Square (more on that in a separate review).
When returning mid-afternoon after the heat of the Morrocan sun, we found out perfectly air-conditioned rooms provided an immediate relief. We would then spend most late afternoons at the roof-top bar sitting under the Pergola sipping cold drinks whilst reading a good book. All the time we were being cooled by water vapour which was raining down from above - very refreshing and much needed in the Marrakech heat.
In the evenings the food and the ambience was wonderful. Service was tremendous, lots of little surprises and treats, and the food was wonderful. The menu may appear expensive at first glance, however, the chef will create bespoke dishes for you and all were reasonably priced. This was great for as all 4 of us are vegetarian and we had a great choice as a result of the chefs flexibility. I would certainly recommend the mushroom lasagne as this was the best lasagne i have ever tasted.
Finally, i would just say that the service we received was the best we have ever experienced. The front desk staff were always courteous and helpful, the room staff were efficicient and kept our rooms wonderfully fresh and clean. and the bar and restuarant staff were extremely accomodating.
I would certainly recommend to anyone that they should stay at the La Sultana as it is without doubt one of the most romantic and authentic small hotels you will ever find.

Room Tip: We stayed in Giraffe and Camel Junior Suites and then the Elephant Deluxe Suite - all rooms are exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    58
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
464
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Wonderful Riad hotel, excellent location, excellent service and very caring staff. My fourth trip to Marrakech and this was by far the best experience. We were given a room upgrade on arrival and things just got better all the time. I would recommend to anybody as the place to stay in this special city

Mike Saunders

Room Tip: Lion Suite outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Not knowing what to expect when the taxi dropped us off but when a porter arrived from just around the corner with the gold coloured luggage trolley and wearing an immaculate attractive uniform we began to realise this hotel might be a bit special. We were not wrong. Reception greeted us with smiles and friendliness and took us to our Riads with the lovely surprise of an upgrade to a junior suite with complimentary mint tea and pastries. The facilities of this hotel are second to none and the attentiveness , politeness , helpfulness and amiability of the staff can't be praised highly enough. Food is delicious, served on the roof terrace for breakfast and dinner or by the pool for lunch. All this in complete contrast to the outside which is fascinating to look down upon from the hotel roof. A much appreciated oasis of comfort and luxury

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is such an amazing hotel. At first when I booked I thought that it would be just like any other local charming hotel around in Marrakech since it was a "Riyadh". Well I was not wrong but then all our expectations have been exceeded. It's not too small but not big either. The hotel has a number of swimming pools around including a jacuzzi and a little one on the roof. The breakfast area on the roof is amazing where they also prepare Barbar Omelet. The location is also very good as it's not too busy and the famous "Jame'a Al Fana" is about 10 minutes walk. Theere a nice coffee shop close to the hotel which I also recommend and some other little shops around. The neighbourhood is very friendly. What else can anyone ask for. Ms. Speed at the reception was very helpful since the day we checked in till when we left the hotel. I highly recommend this property for couples and families too. Might also be good for solo travellers.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent six nights at the Sultana Hotel in Marrakech and can only say that it was an almost flawless experience... right from beginning to end. The hotel itself is in a perfect location in the old part of the city, right on a very bustling street, but as a guest you don't notice much of the fuss, because upon entering La Sultana you are overtaken by a feeling of tranquility. Sitting in the bar/restaurant of the hotel, which is on the roof, you have a picturesque view of the near-by mosque, the storks, the date trees... The hotel has absolutely lovely interiors - air-conditioning (very useful!), a beautiful pool, a spa section, fresh flowers delivered and placed all around every morning... But the very best thing about La Sultana is the staff - right from the flower deliverer to the porters, to the driver to the cleaners to the chef to the waiters to the reception staff... A never-ending flow of always smiling, always helpful, always interested people, who seem to be there right when you need them, or even before you know that you need them. I can only think of two things that could have been a bit better - one is the lighting in the room, which was a bit too dim (there are no windows towards the street in the rooms), and the second is that I got the impression that some members of the staff did not know English very well, which is a bit frustrating for those of us who don't speak French or the local lingo, but would like to respond to the friendly staff in a like-wise friendly manner. It's a bit sad when they don't understand your jokes.... Oh, and one evening I was served an incredibly sour Mai Tai cocktail on the roof terrace - better order a Casablanca beer or some Maroccan wine instead! If you are looking for a "one-of-a-kind" hotel experience in Marrakech, I can't imagine anything more appropriate than La Sultana.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Booked this off the internet from the strength of the pictures and website.

Was slightly worried when we got dropped off right next to a small market stall in the middle of the old town but then spied the valet and found the hotel. For check in they took us straight to the roof terrace, serving us mint tea and pastries. This gave us a tour of a huge building that has been refurbished to a stupidly high standard and is even more beautiful than the photos suggest.

The room itself was called Gazelle and was full of characterful touches and was about as luxurious as we could have wanted. The fully marble bathroom was breathtaking.

The service in the hotel was top class and always felt that they were providing a service first and trying to make money second - a huge relief in a city where you feel that you are seen as a walking wallet.

The holiday we had was then made by this hotel - being able to wander into town and explore the area but then return to the pool when it got too hot was the key.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One word: Amazing! not sure there is anything else to say here.

The staff always went above and beyond to make sure everything is "as you wish", from planning trips to arranging dinners to as something as simple as making conversation to find out about your days, can't wait to visit them again.

The rooms and hotel itself feel like you are staying in some Arabian dream. The location is perfect, inside the medina and close to the central square but once you turn on the street it is actually quite peaceful. The roof top terrace is so tranquil and peaceful we actually had to force ourselves not to go there every night ... food is also great and I would definitely recommend the restaurant and to get breakfast included in your stay.

Also of special note is the art, furniture and pool ... WOW!

Can't wait to visit La Sultana again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Escapio, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.