We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could hardly be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could hardly be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent six nights at the Sultana Hotel in Marrakech and can only say that it was an almost flawless experience... right from beginning to end. The hotel itself is in a perfect location in the old part of the city, right on a very bustling street, but as a guest you don't notice much of the fuss, because upon entering La Sultana you are overtaken by a feeling of tranquility. Sitting in the bar/restaurant of the hotel, which is on the roof, you have a picturesque view of the near-by mosque, the storks, the date trees... The hotel has absolutely lovely interiors - air-conditioning (very useful!), a beautiful pool, a spa section, fresh flowers delivered and placed all around every morning... But the very best thing about La Sultana is the staff - right from the flower deliverer to the porters, to the driver to the cleaners to the chef to the waiters to the reception staff... A never-ending flow of always smiling, always helpful, always interested people, who seem to be there right when you need them, or even before you know that you need them. I can only think of two things that could have been a bit better - one is the lighting in the room, which was a bit too dim (there are no windows towards the street in the rooms), and the second is that I got the impression that some members of the staff did not know English very well, which is a bit frustrating for those of us who don't speak French or the local lingo, but would like to respond to the friendly staff in a like-wise friendly manner. It's a bit sad when they don't understand your jokes.... Oh, and one evening I was served an incredibly sour Mai Tai cocktail on the roof terrace - better order a Casablanca beer or some Maroccan wine instead! If you are looking for a "one-of-a-kind" hotel experience in Marrakech, I can't imagine anything more appropriate than La Sultana.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    63
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
95
495
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Booked this off the internet from the strength of the pictures and website.

Was slightly worried when we got dropped off right next to a small market stall in the middle of the old town but then spied the valet and found the hotel. For check in they took us straight to the roof terrace, serving us mint tea and pastries. This gave us a tour of a huge building that has been refurbished to a stupidly high standard and is even more beautiful than the photos suggest.

The room itself was called Gazelle and was full of characterful touches and was about as luxurious as we could have wanted. The fully marble bathroom was breathtaking.

The service in the hotel was top class and always felt that they were providing a service first and trying to make money second - a huge relief in a city where you feel that you are seen as a walking wallet.

The holiday we had was then made by this hotel - being able to wander into town and explore the area but then return to the pool when it got too hot was the key.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One word: Amazing! not sure there is anything else to say here.

The staff always went above and beyond to make sure everything is "as you wish", from planning trips to arranging dinners to as something as simple as making conversation to find out about your days, can't wait to visit them again.

The rooms and hotel itself feel like you are staying in some Arabian dream. The location is perfect, inside the medina and close to the central square but once you turn on the street it is actually quite peaceful. The roof top terrace is so tranquil and peaceful we actually had to force ourselves not to go there every night ... food is also great and I would definitely recommend the restaurant and to get breakfast included in your stay.

Also of special note is the art, furniture and pool ... WOW!

Can't wait to visit La Sultana again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have only been here two days but this place is magical. The 15 yr old and 12 yr old would have preferred a bland American hotel but for us adults this is something quite different and special . We came with Virgin hip hotels and stayed in the Lion apartment. Mint tea and pastries and cold towels on arrival . Complimentary tagine and bottle of champagne in our room along with another tray of pastries. We ate in the rooftop restaurant on our first night and the service and food were impeccable. We had the tasting menu for approx £46 each and it was London dining standard which was a wonderful surprise. Tonight we are trying the international tasting menu and it is just as good. The local wine well priced and actually much better than anticipated. The levels of service at this hotel are excellent and you feel they really do care and know your name( benefit of a riad as opposed to large hotel) the apartment was very unique and we had a wonderful marble jacuzzi in our room. My only minor complaint would be re the water pressure in the shower but this is a small point and something that many hotels suffer around the world. The pool was a welcome relief and felt chilled. Staff here really care especially the manager and the concierge. I would come back here again minus unappreciative children as this road is very well located. Do not miss the rooftop dining experience. Yet to try the spa but may add to my review later.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

When I think of Morocco, I think of tale of adventures like Arabian Nights, Aladdin and his Lamp, Ali Baba and the 40 thieves. These stories center on a hero and his adventures in the markets of Marrakech saving the damsel in distress or searching for hidden treasure. I found such a treasure in the heart the medina of Marrakech in La Sultana, a grand dame of Marrakech’s riads.


My adventure began with my entrance into the Medina, which is a UNESCO World Heritage site with a thousand years of history and an amazing true open-air. It is a bustling market even at night, as I passed through the winding streets of vendors selling their wares. A sense of adventure quickly sets in as I enter the long corridor with Moroccan lamps along the carpeted walkway leading to La Sultana Marrakech. It is a grand and fitting entrance.
The doorman gives me a friendly greeting, welcoming me to La Sultana. It is a bit late when I arrive, but the staff has been waiting and provides me with attentive and personalized service making me feel welcomed.


La Sultana is actually comprised of five connecting buildings and has 28 unique and special accommodations from rooms to grand suites to accommodate a family. The five buildings are riads which are traditional Moroccan houses with a central patio and all the windows overlooking the interior rather than the outdoors as in European houses.


The tile, wood, and metal work in each building are nothing less than functional pieces of art with every inch of this property being a celebration of Moroccan craftsmanship. Each of the five buildings is different, so there is a new level of amazement as you explore and enter each building and room.


The buildings are designed with Moorish or Andalusian architectural influences with high vaulted ceilings. The spaces are decorated with precious woods, marble and copper and littered with paintings and objets d’arts.


I was in the Pelican suite on the first floor, which opened into a beautiful courtyard. I felt that I was staying in someone’s home and not a hotel. Inside my room was absolutely remarkable. It was blue with vaulted ceiling and Moroccan details. What I love about Morocco is the artistic craftsmanship and detail that you find here is like nowhere else in the world. The bed was on an elevated platform and below there was a comfortable sitting area around a fireplace and mantel. The bathroom was elaborate with an artesian shower and deep sunken bath.


Every corner was tastefully decorated with design surprises such as the stained glass window that opened into the courtyard. All of the modern conveniences of a five star hotel were there from the flat screen TV, complimentary high speed internet, and complimentary soft drinks. After my long trip I was pleased to be greeted with the snack tray and a selection of fruits.


My favorite feature at the property was the rooftop terrace which connects the five roofs of the building into a massive outdoor space with spectacular views of the snow capped Atlas Mountains, the vibrant markets below as well as the nearby Royal Palace, Koutoubia Mosque and other landmarks. There were large palms and orange trees, an outdoor bar and restaurant, and trellised patios with places to sit or sunbathe.


Indoors, there is a beautiful pool in a garden of palm trees, bougainvillea bushes, and large art pieces surrounded by red brick walls and an arched walkway. It is the place for breakfast where a friendly and attentive staff brings you fresh croissants, fruits and juices to start your day. The dining experience is as perfect as the lodging and combines Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine in are fined ambience. The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables. Dinner is served either in the cozy atmosphere of the patio in the winter or on the rooftop overlooking the vibrant city and the Atlas mountains in the summer. A favorite experience for guests is that La Sultana delivers the secrets of popular Moroccan cuisine with daily cooking classes.


The spa at La Sultana evokes the sensuous world of the harem with ancient doors opening onto an interior of crimson marble, illuminated by wrought-iron lanterns, with a vaulted ceiling suspended on pillars rising up from a turquoise pool. The Sultana Spa offers two superb hammams, a Jacuzzi, sauna, beauty centre, hairdresser, balneotherapy baths, massage cabins in the open air. It is in the heart of the Sultana, the hammam serves as a temple of body relaxation and spirit massage.


My adventure from this sanctuary called La Sultana lead me to explore the Medina just beyond the entrance. In the souk you’ll find a fascinating array of handicrafts from rugs and spices to hammered copper and brass goods and colorful fabrics. You can also take a horse drawn carriage to take in the sights.


La Sultana is in the district Quarter of the Imperial Kasbah which was a citadel and has been continuously occupied by the Sultans of Morocco since the twelfth century. Consequently this area focuses within the vicinity of the splendid palaces and magnificent monuments built by the Sultans. The Bab Agnaou is the most beautiful and impressive of the gates in the entire city ramparts; it was constructed in the twelfth century using local stone as the ceremonial entrance of the Sultans into the Kasbah. The gardens and pavilions of the Royal Palace dominate the view to the East from roof terraces.


After some touring and exploring I return back to my temporary sanctuary, La Sultana, for a few more days of rest and rejuvenation. La Sultana is a treasure of the Medina, a remarkable and special hotel that will provide you with a not-to-be-missed experience in an exciting location.

Room Tip: Make sure you take advantage of the spa and restaurant there. After that, go on an adventure beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staying at La Sultana was an experience of a lifetime. I felt like a Marrakech princess walking down their intricately textured, decorated and lighted hallways. I stayed in the camel suite, and I can honestly say I've never stayed in a hotel room quite like this before. The bathroom was fit for a king, beautiful, intricate doors, a bathtub with beautiful pillars surrounding it (it was a little small to fit 2), but best of all was the service. Upon checking in, we were warmly and graciously welcomed. It was the perfect place to end my trip.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After taking a little magazine in a store in the new town of Marrakech - Madame a Marrakech - we have read a nice review and decided to have a dinner on the rooftop. The way to the Riad was quite an adventure, since it was Ramadan and it was after eight o'clock. The Riad is right behind the mosque so there was quite some crowd in rue de Kasbah.
There was a strong wind this evening, the staff inmediately gave us a nice fleece blanket. The dinner was sublime, we started off with an amuse bouche and for starters the best pastilla I ever had. After I had a stuffed young hen which not even just looked good, it tasted fantastic!

Room Tip: You might get a bit bored by the local musician
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers
La Villa des Orangers
#28 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#64 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#10 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.