We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Recently stayed for one night in la sultana. Firstly the reception staff and porter were very helpful, friendly and professional. The building itself is simply amazing both inside and out. Location is perfect, 5-10 minutes walk and your in the main square, a taxi to the airport from here was 150drh the roof terrace even overlooks the tombs and gives an amazing (and free) viewpoint. I simply cannot fault the building, 5 beautiful riads make up the hotel, each with its own style but each as good as the last. Everywhere was spotless, the service impeccable and staff spoke fluent English and also understood my poor French!!
The food in the restaurant was very good quality and not overpriced, the beef tag one with almonds and sultanas was very nice. There is a huge roof terrace area with plunge pool, a swimming pool In one of the road courtyards.
The staff all look very smart in uniforms and their attention to detail was plain to see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    58
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
82
464
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a truly beautiful hotel...four courtyard houses...each one very different...finished to a very high standard.
The room we were given (an upgrade to Panther...low season) was comfortable and well appointed. In the evening (it was cold and rainy in January) a man came with logs and made a very welcoming fire,
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, from the front desk people to the waiters and the driver who picked us up from the airport.
I found the food a little expensive though the evening meal was good, but the breakfast could have been better...the cooked breakfasts were not inspiring and there could have been a much better selection of breads and cold foods rather than so many sweet things.
The spa looked lovely but treatments were very expensive.
I would stay here again...no reason to look any further and hope to enjoy the beautiful roof terrace in sunshine next time.

Room Tip: All rooms are very different...ask if you can choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I would have liked to given this hotel 5 stars. The service is impeccable and the breakfast is wonderful. The people are just so amazingly nice. But my room was small and very claustrophobic and felt like a cell. This is a riad, so the architecture is typical, but my room was small and felt like it had no air. Moreover, everytime I needed to adjust the air conditioning (absolutely necessary as there was no window in the room), I needed to call reception and they had to send up someone with the remote control - something I have never experienced before. It meant that I was sometimes way too cold or too hot, as I did not wish to call someone at 3am.
Perhaps the larger rooms are better, but if you are at all claustrophobic, don't take a smaller one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an amazing "Riad" (hotel with traditional inner court).

The design is, to say the least, impressive. Once through the gates you will be struck with the "1001 nights" middle eastern atmosphere. It might be extravagant and a little over the top but Marrakech is not the perfect setting for a minimalist, isn't it?

The rooftop -that we regretfully couldn't use to full effect because of chilly nights in January- is a class of its own. It is a real blessing to be able to escape the chaos of the Medina and enjoy the views with a nice drink.

Located at a 10-12 minutes walk from the Jama el Fnaa square (on a main street), it might not be as close as other Riads, but being a little away from the center is a bonus when getting in and out of the Medina (the old city). In addition, I have seen some Riads on dark alleyways and I can guarantee you will want your hotel on a main street accessible by car.

The restaurant, located in the main courtyard in the winter looks surreal. Dark, candlelights, oriental music, inner pool, etc... You get the idea. Food is very good. Service at the restaurant is ok but not perfect. The music is very nice the first night (an old musician playing a stringed instrument with occasional arabic vocals) but if you dine twice, it kind of gets on your nerves. I would suggest removing the amplifier to reduce volume and maybe have different musicians.

Service in the hotel was excellent. The concierge was extremely helpful in organizing every aspect of our trip, the drivers we had for airport transfers and day trips were excellent. Everything was perfect.

Highly reccomended!

Room Tip: There are five areas that each have their own design. If you like lighter shades and prefer a more m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went twice in our last day in Marrakech. It was a surprise got us the place was very close our Riad. It was a very sophisticated hotel with an amazing restaurant. In the lunch we enjoy the sunshine of Marrakech at the roof terrace we had little food and local beer. All was super and very well served. We asked to our waiter if would be possible to have a reservation for dinner and although they were full she managed to find a table for our dinner. The place was so especial that night, the singer song adorable arabic musics during out time there. We had very good food!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for a few days and had a great time. Dinner was superb as well as the service. Clean and very comfortable place, with good location. Beautiful inside, a real gem. We agree with all the comments listed and highly recommend this hotel. Would also like to mention a wonderful Mr. Abdelmoula, who can can transport you to any place you like in Marrakesh for a very low fee. His taxi is usually stopped just outside of the La Sultana entrance (Mr. Abdelmoula mobile is 06 66 169 181). He is super honest and was driving us around for several days. He is local so can recommend good places to see and indeed showed us some interesting locations. We were really impressed with him so wanted to include him in this review in case someone would like to have an honest and pleasant guide in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was one of the most surreal experiences ever, and this is coming from a couple that travels a lot. The staff was so sweet and friendly, we got an upgrade on arrival, the room was beautiful with a beautiful bathroom that had a balcony overlooking the courtyard, the food was delicious, and the location was to die for.

We went in September and it was really hot so we didn't really enjoy the pool that much (too hot to lay out) but the spa was excellent and you just get this relaxed vibe when you're there. Th bed was a little stiff/hard for us, but that's a personal preference and I'm not sure if all the rooms have the same bed/mattress.

This is a must if you're going to Marrakech, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Giraffe room and it was AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Escapio, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.