We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for a few days and had a great time. Dinner was superb as well as the service. Clean and very comfortable place, with good location. Beautiful inside, a real gem. We agree with all the comments listed and highly recommend this hotel. Would also like to mention a wonderful Mr. Abdelmoula, who can can transport you to any place you like in Marrakesh for a very low fee. His taxi is usually stopped just outside of the La Sultana entrance (Mr. Abdelmoula mobile is 06 66 169 181). He is super honest and was driving us around for several days. He is local so can recommend good places to see and indeed showed us some interesting locations. We were really impressed with him so wanted to include him in this review in case someone would like to have an honest and pleasant guide in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
385
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was one of the most surreal experiences ever, and this is coming from a couple that travels a lot. The staff was so sweet and friendly, we got an upgrade on arrival, the room was beautiful with a beautiful bathroom that had a balcony overlooking the courtyard, the food was delicious, and the location was to die for.

We went in September and it was really hot so we didn't really enjoy the pool that much (too hot to lay out) but the spa was excellent and you just get this relaxed vibe when you're there. Th bed was a little stiff/hard for us, but that's a personal preference and I'm not sure if all the rooms have the same bed/mattress.

This is a must if you're going to Marrakech, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Giraffe room and it was AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

First time to Marrakech. The hotel is situated near the tombs and palace. Very convenient. Great room, excellent service and very good, knowledgeable and helpful staff.

The restaurant is also very good with a good tasting menu. Wonderful to have a warm pool and the spa is also superb (though there are cheaper ones outside, you will find the hotel one a nice experience).

All in all, a wonderful stay and will return to stay when next in Marrakech again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

La Sultana Hotel in Marrakech has an excellent location in the Kasbah in Medina. We have 40 years of business and private traveled and stayed in luxury hotels but Hotel La Sultana in Marrakech is the nicest hotel in all facets together. We enjoyed the excellent hospitality, service and very friendly staff. The dinner in lovely inside garden was a fairy tale, especially with the beautiful Arab live music. We felt at home and a fairy tale of 1001 nights. What a class. What a special Arab atmosphere, we would never really go away, so we will book soon a new stay at La Sultana in Marrakech.

Everything in Hotel La Sultana is High Quality.

Gerdy Harteveld Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherland

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't have been happier. The decor was fantastic and the roof top terrace truly amazing. The service was exceptional and the staff literally could not do enough for you. Being 'checked in' with mint tea and a cake stand of pastries was a great touch. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose La Sultana after looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor.

Every single good point that you read in other reviews is correct. It is a wonderful hotel, tucked away down a small street it is a seperate world of calm in the middle of the madness and mayhem that makes Marrakech so fantastic.

The hotel is beautiful, 5 seperate Riads linked together make it spectacular. The rooms are all decorated in the seperate style of the individual Riad, very well equiped and furnished. Sitting on the roof for breakfast was wonderful, looking across the Medina and towards the Atlas Mountains in the distance. The staff are great too, nothing is too much trouble. From reception to check-out, the service is top class.

We ate in the restaurant 1 night, it was without doubt the best food we had during our trip, so that is recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The Sultana offers a sanctuary away from the bustle and madness of the medina. Each of the 5 linked Riads are influenced by different decor and styles. We stayed in Gazelle, a sumptuous room, all be it one of the smaller, more than adequately furnished with every amenity on hand. The staff are friendly, cheerful and cannot do enough for you. With a wonderful bright central pool area, divine rooftop looking towards the Atlas Mountains and relaxing spa on hand, La Sultana is a fabulous boutique property for those looking for a genuine and real Moroccan stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.