We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel itself is made up of a number of houses and the variety of architectural styles makes for a fascinating atmosphere.
The staff could not have been more friendly or efficient. Our dietary needs were understood and well catered for from the off, and with some thoughtfulness. The room (La dromaderie) was a hoot with an amazing bathroom and spotless.
Dinner around the pool and breakfast on the roof terrace were treats, as was the view down into the kasbah and the royal tombs.
We only had one night here as we were headed off to its sister hotel, but we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
72
403
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We liked the different raids, the pool is nice and the roof terrace is lovely in the evening. The staff area very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The food is very good, and the wine list particularly the marroc ones, the head waiter selected some lovely ones for us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

First let me start by saying the staff are the best and most friendly I have ever meet in any hotel I have stayed in.
The food in the restaurant is very good.
This place is a jewel in the crown and I will be back again , thank you too all the staff there for making my trip so peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This riad stye hotel is just great, one of the best in town. Only 10 minutes from the medina centre, you can enjoy traditional architecture, food and comfort in a luxury way and with the finest service. Besides the inner pool and the spa centre, having your breakfast or just sunbathing on the roof terrace is simply a must. Our room ("La Cigogne") was amazing: pleasant and quiet sleep, always clean, very comfortable and an unexpected & wonderful hearth which made you feel just perfect. Don't get fooled by the street before the entrance of the hotel: remember in muslim culture luxury does not shine on the outside but in the inside!

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a hearth, you will love it in winter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After two nights in the Palmeraie region of the city, my husband and I headed to the medina for one night. La Sultana is in the Kasbah region of the medina and a 10 minute walk to the jemaa el fna (main square). We were greeted when we arrived by the luggage porter and welcomed into the main Riad (La Sultana is 5 small riads joined together) and offered traditional Moroccan Tea and pastries. We were shown all around the hotel and then to our room - the Lion apartment. Beautifully authentic old Marrakech. We had drinks on the roof, listening to the magical call to prayer and were only sorry that we had dinner reservations elsewhere that night. Khalid on the Front Desk was an angel - always smiling and nothing was too much trouble for him. A lovely property and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is great in every way. The local is fantastic,10 minutes from the medina centre. The style is very traditional and authentic, loads of lovely artifacts and magical little corners of peace, but also very luxurious. Nice ppol, alhtough a bit crowded during the afternoon. Our room was the apartment, a great option for a family of 4. Breakfast was really good on the terrace, but the dinner on the roof was truly outstanding - the tasting meal at around £60 per head without wine was a high cost but the food and location and service made is very special - highly recommended. Nothing to fault on this hotel; five star all the way!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUH
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After staying at the Sofitel in Casablanca and Palais Royal in Fez we hadn't found the Moroccan experience we were looking for yet; that blend of traditional Moroccan elegance and hospitality delivered in a contemporary style. This place was just perfect. The four differently styled Riad courtyards, the historic entranceway, the beautiful pool, delightful rooftop restaurant. Everything worked so well. The service was fabulous and attentive. Will be recommending this to all our friends. The evening musician was fabulous and captivated our 2 year old who now owns an Oud.

Room Tip: The rooms have different styles, talk to the hotel about this as part of selecting where you will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.