We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a luxury Marrakech Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
AUH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect for a luxury Marrakech Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After staying at the Sofitel in Casablanca and Palais Royal in Fez we hadn't found the Moroccan experience we were looking for yet; that blend of traditional Moroccan elegance and hospitality delivered in a contemporary style. This place was just perfect. The four differently styled Riad courtyards, the historic entranceway, the beautiful pool, delightful rooftop restaurant. Everything worked so well. The service was fabulous and attentive. Will be recommending this to all our friends. The evening musician was fabulous and captivated our 2 year old who now owns an Oud.

Room Tip: The rooms have different styles, talk to the hotel about this as part of selecting where you will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    58
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
463
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Myself and three friends recently stayed at the Sultana, we had rather a fraught journey over but on arrival at the Riad, all was quickly forgotten. The reception staff ushered us through and served us tea and pastries whilst they performed all the check in formalities for us. We were then shown to our beautiful rooms, these really were quite something. We ate in the restaurant upstairs, beautiful setting, the food was good but it probably didn't live upto the places we ate on the other nights. The pool in the courtyard is a haven from the heat and hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we always had a choice of sun loungers, this may have been due to the fact we were there in "low" season though. The treatments offered aren't cheap but certainly enable you to relax properly. The location of the Riad is excellent, only a 10 minute walk from the main square with all the Souks etc etc. In short, a great place to stay and I'd happily come back for another break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The reviews on this hotel are 100% true. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are attentive and the service was amazing. My husband and I had a mini weekend break and stayed 2 nights in the Pelican room. We also had our evening meal in the restaurant and were not disappointed. I particularly appreciated the musician who played throughout the evening and really put the ambience into the evening.
I'd like to give special thanks to the staff member ( Clark Kent lookalike with the glasses ) who ran after us when we were leaving to hand me my Iphone which I had mistakenly forgotten in the IPOD docking station - thank you.
Overall if u are looking for ultimate luxury, impeccable service and first class food, this is the hotel you should book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, it's set amongst a series of courtyards, each with a unique feel and style. The roof terrace is simply perfect to enjoy the last of the afternoon sun and escape the noise and bustle of Marrakech. Our room was lovely, other reviews have commented on the rooms being dark, I found this kept the room cool, private and also provided the perfect conditions for a great nights sleep.

The restaurant food was wonderful, and service on the whole very good, reception staff in particular were fantastic, providing some good advice and booking cabs etc. Service at breakfast was sometimes a little slow, but the staff were always polite.

Would love to return to the Sultana and would recommend to anyone looking to experience a bit of luxury in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This gem of a hotel rests in the heart of the Medina close to all of the sights and sounds of the Kasbah. We arrived late but were met with a smile and some welcome refreshments and pastries.

You must try the restaurant - it isn't cheap (£90 for a three course meal for two with no alcohol) but the ambience of the roof-top together with the excellent menu choice makes it worth a go. Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, breads and meat etc.

Rooms are lovely - we had a junior suite and the fridges are stocked daily with free soft drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is in the casbah section of the Medina. You would never guess what luxury is hidden behind the plain exterior. The staff are warm and courteous and friendly. The food was superb. The rooms are luxurious. Off season, the price is about 350 euros a day, but off-season gets really hot.Lovely dining around an inside pool and rooftop breakfasts with views of stork nests, TV antennas and mosques wherever you look. Our first trip to a muslim country. Hectic., growing city, exotic and a pleasure.

Room Tip: They are all good. Best value is on the edge of off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of the best hotels we have stayed in.
Truly beautiful surroundings in the middle of the Medina.
From the moment we have arrived every little detail of our trip was taken care of and nothing was too much trouble. Every staff member made us feel they do their best to make our stay as pleasurable and comfortable as possible, but the real star in there is Saida.
Rooms are fantastic, roof top terrace with a restaurant with good food, views over the Medina and live music, spa with relaxing treatments.
It was so peaceful, we felt like we were the only guests in there.
Not one thing to dislike, place definitely worth staying or in our case going back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.