We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentically good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An authentically good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

You would never think, as you wander down the chaotic, dusty, donkey cart infested street with a perfume which alternates between the smoke of street vendors' charcoal barbecues and the sweet aromatic symphony of the many herbalist shops that you were 20 meters from a luxury oasis.

The hotel is delightful mix of authentic Moroccan architecture styles, finishes and fabrics understated and achieved with a certain grace. Use of natural lighting sets off the typical brickwork and the amazing intricacy of the carved paster and wood fretwork in every angle.

We stayed in the Jaguar suite which was very stylishly finished with a sunken bath, marble throughout, two terraces and two sitting rooms and walk in wardrobe. Despite its size however, it remained quite intimate and cozy with a lovely outlook over the courtyard pool.

The staff are friendly, attentive and professional and everything was made seamless and easy. The restaurant on the roof terrace at lunchtime is competent and has a limited but tasty menu. In the evening the restaurant moves to being around the pool and is both romantic and pretty good if not a little expensive (compared to similar standard non hotel restaurants, so nothing new there). Try the Moroccan tasting menu as it will give you good first impression of Morrocan food.

Finally when you have had enough of the souks grab a sun-bed on the rooftop, enjoy the complimentary virgin Mojito's and chill in the North African sun (don't forget the sun cream!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    56
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
72
399
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a special occasion, so we splashed out for dinner here and it was worth every penny.
We were treated like royalty from the beginning, the service was impeccable .
The food was absolutely delicious Moroccan cuisine with good sized helpings.
Delightful deserts too and superb surroundings.
Go if you can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Amidst the chaos of the Medina - this glorious hotel provides everything we dreamed of finding in Marrakech. It exceeded all of our expectations. The service is excellent - they were always available to satisfy every whim - and yet we felt we had complete privacy. The decor is stunning - the hotel is made up of several unique riads - each more interesting and beautiful then the last. The attention to detail is superb. The spa is a beautifully designed space and the services are amazing. This was one of the most romantic hotels I have ever been to. The food is delicious and if we expressed interest in something not on the menu - they were happy to make it for us. We really felt at home here and look forward to returning soon. Absolute Luxury and Complete 5 Star experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A stay at La Sultana is a different world from that outside in the mayhem that is Marrakech. When we were dropped off by the taxi from the airport we thought there must have been a mistake, we could not have paid so much to be staying in this dingy, noisy back street. Don't be fooled. Within seconds we were ensconced in the grandeur, calm and peace that is La Sultana.

Our stay couldn't have been better, the staff were attentive without being overbearing, which was a relief from the frenzy and stress (why do the shop keepers not seem to understand that they are likely to sell much more if you are left alone?) that is shopping in Marrakech.

The hotel itself is fabulous, the attention to detail faultless and although we thought it was perhaps slightly overdone, feels very grand, just as an old palace may have been. Our room was sumptuous, with everything you could need or want. The only slight flaw was the wonderful rainfall shower, which it was impossible to use without soaking the bathroom; but this wasn't much of a problem with the housekeeping coming in every evening to turn down the sheets and clearly mop the floor.

Marrakech is quite an expensive city to eat, if you want decent food, so although La Sultana wasn't cheap it compared well with other places we visited. And although it was wonderful to eat beneath the stars, we were underwhelmed by the lighting. I'm all for ambient lighting, in the right place, but it would have been nice to see what we were eating. Fortunately we were early enough to be able to read the menu, but more experienced visitors than ourselves had brought mini torches. A handy tip!

It was only a short walk to the Jemaa-el-Fna and if you enjoy taking your life into your hands - there seem to be no rules of the road - it is an unmissable experience to join in the evening promenade.

Overall we had a great time both in Marrakech and in La Sultana. It was a relief to hide away beside the pool after a frenetic morning and to recharge the batteries ready for the chaos that is a Marrakechi evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A magnificent hotel reflecting the indulgences of a bygone era. This is a beautifully renovated group of buildings that has become a single Riad. Our room was most opulent with all the fixtures and fittings (including Wi-Fi) that one could expect. Even the mini bar consumption of soft drinks was included.

Breakfast was served on the roof of the Riad and one could survey some of the kasbah including the Saadian Tombs which are next door. It's only a short walk to Jemaa-el-Fna square with its huge number of night time food stalls and the buzz of big and friendly crowds.

Hotel staff were most accommodating and our time here was memorable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

the Sultana Marrakech is a majic and exceptional Riad , a beautiful , luxius and a quiet hotel very well located to have a quick access to visit the city.
we've spend a fantastic week and benefit of a hight level of professional services.
Thanks to the team !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel has some luxurious rooms and amazing surroundings with several courtyards and a roof terraces. The decorations in the room and bath-room are unique; it is like staying in the 1001 fair-tale places. The reception manager Saida is very friendly and super professional; she made our stay in the hotel enjoyable despite the problems with the room and the check-in process. The dinner is very good with nice service and beautiful surrounding near the pool.
The hotel is more suitable for couples without children. Furthermore, we missed that personal approach which we experienced at some other hotels of this price range. For instance, the service during the check-in process was unacceptable. Upon our arrival at 12:45, we were told that the Prestige double room we booked does not allow a child, so we had to take one of their suits with significant amount of additional charges. We accepted it, but had to wait more than 2½ hours for the room to be ready, even though we informed them that we have been up since 5:30 am and would really like to have our room as soon as possible. The elevator needs urgent service so it would not make such noise that clearly went through to this expensive suit. The staff at the breakfast is friendly, but it misses that extra level of genuine engagement. A normal taxi from airport without any bargain cost 50 MAD. The hotel charged us 380 MAD for a very old & dirty car to pick us up from the airport. The benefit was that there was no problem to find the hotel. The street immediately outside of the hotel was dirty, smelling of garbage and crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.