We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Kasbah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Kasbah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for a few days wishing we could have stayed for a bit longer. La Sultana is a beautifully designed hotel combining 5 separate riads, each one of them have different feel and finishes. Some riads are minimalistic and traditional and some very bold and colourful eager to surprise you with distinctive African furniture. We have stayed in the Africa themed riad in the gazelle room. The room wasn’t very large but was well designed and comfortable. Housekeeping went the extra mile to keep our room clean and tidy, rose petals in the bathroom and traditional sweets and nuts on a tea table were well received. Small touches like chocolates at night and complementary gifts made us feel very special. Everything from arrival to departure was perfect and well thought The hotel staff are well trained and exceptionally polite & helpful but not intrusive.
Breakfast in the hotel simply amazing with prepared to order dishes. The ingredients used are the highest quality and cooked to perfection. Those tasty dishes are served in the restaurant area, which is beautifully designed around the indoor swimming pool.
On the first night we drank cocktails in the basement bar that resembles a luxury boat, the barmaid was very friendly and made as feel very welcome.
One evening we used the indoor pool in Spa area and had an amazing experience there, which made us feel very invigorated before a night out.
Throughout our stay we used different communal areas, which were designed in an individual style and for different purpose, finishes in the hotel are wonderful and you can admire so many pieces of beautiful furniture and decorative objects around the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel to couples for romantic breaks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    66
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
380
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in La Sultana for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. The hotel is amazing and it is the perfect getaway if you want to relax and want to have privacy. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated, staff is super friendly and willing to arrange everything that you need during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Sultana for 7 nights in mid-March. We had a ground floor Prestige room which was very well appointed and spacious. The service in all areas of the hotel, from reception to restaurants, was superb. We ate dinner in the hotel several times and particularly enjoyed sharing the shoulder of lamb. Less enjoyable was the musician who plays ethnic music endlessly - a short break occasionally for some peaceful conversation would be welcome! The staff must get a particular mention. They were always attentive without being obtrusive, addressed us by name and seemed to anticipate our needs even before we knew them ourselves. The hotel's location is within easy walking distance of many of the places of interest in the centre of Marrakech. It's not cheap but is heartily recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Magnificently decorated with service to match and right in the heart of Marrakech.
It is like walking into 1001 nights. The moment you enter the hallway you are enthralled.
Beautiful courtyards invite you to linger. Food and service are excellent.
The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated.
This is one of the best Riads in Morrokko.
Highly recommended. You step out of the front door and you are in the middle of the Souk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my wife just came back from a Honey Moon in La Sultana. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great, the service is friendly, the food is good and as honey moon guests we have received great extras but above all management was remarkable, especially Saida who made sure that every moment of our stay will be pleasant and enjoyable from recommending the right spa treatments to great town tours. Thank You

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. The hotel is beautiful, whichever part you stay in is highly decorative. There are several courtyards and our room Camélion opened onto the largest where the swimming pool is and also the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. This had one great advantage. In the afternoons after we had visited the Medina there was never anyone at the pool. With the pool just outside our room it was like having our own private pool!
Our room was very nice with some exquisite Morrocan details although I found a little small. The bath was quirky and the bathroom was lovely with a variety of lighting. The bed was sooooooo comfortable and huge. Lighting in the room was atmospheric and innovative but it lacked the odd lamp here and there. There was a desk but absolutely no lighting at that end of the room. For a new hotel we found the lack of sockets irritating. We couldn't both charge our phones at the same time and all sockets were inaccessible except one in the bathroom.
Breakfast was really nice, an array of juices, cereals and breads and things on the breakfast menu we have never been offered before or even heard of before. The cooked food you order is delicious, hot and arrived quickly. Breakfast service was really excellent.
Dinner? Dinner was strange. Service seemed slow and underwhelming although always polite. The food was a little bland and the style inconsistent considering there was only one menu. One evening our main courses really made us laugh. My plate looked like I was eating in a Michelin starred restaurant - a plate of neatly arranged food equal to any fine dining restaurant and my husbands looked like a meal for at least 4 hungry peasants plonked on the table with no finesse at all!! The other thing about dinner.... there is a musician who sits at the other side of the pool. He plays authentic Morrocan music. At first you think this is nice, then you wonder if he will ever take a break (he doesn't) as it become tedious and then it becomes downright irritating. It is loud and the sound harsh with all the hard surfaces. After dinner we would have like to have sat on our terrace with a drink or two and relaxed. Instead we had to go into our room and shut the shutters and watch a DVD.
The hotel claims the rooms are soundproofed and we can testify they certainly are,we couldn't hear the music from inside our room so you will not be disturbed by noise in this hotel.
One thing I would like to mention we went in February,early in the month. The days were pleasantly warm and the nights very cold. The hotel has a system of covering the courtyards with a clear plastic roof so that you are not cold when dining, swimming or sitting. This makes everything more comfortable. There is a superb roof terrace with tiny plunge pool where you can enjoy sunbathing,(there are sunbeds) fresh air, refreshments and lunch in the open air restaurant.
The position of the hotel is pretty good as you can walk to everywhere in the Medina from there. There is a huge taxi station nearby if you want to go outside the Medina.
I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel and I would certainly stay there again but I did email several times before we went to ask for a pick up from the airport and did not get a reply. In the end I had to phone to confirm the airport pick up, which was there to pick us up and bring us to the hotel in a nice air conditioned limousine. I did feel that the service was very good but did not match the price paid for the hotel but perhaps that is Morrocco.

Room Tip: All rooms are soundproofed so you will not be disturbed by noise but for privacy a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a long weekend at La Sultana and it was wonderful. The hotel is perfect, very good service, nice decoration and very relaxing despite the location very close to the busy centre. We really enjoyed our stay there! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.