We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Moroccan Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Moroccan Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Magnificently decorated with service to match and right in the heart of Marrakech.
It is like walking into 1001 nights. The moment you enter the hallway you are enthralled.
Beautiful courtyards invite you to linger. Food and service are excellent.
The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated.
This is one of the best Riads in Morrokko.
Highly recommended. You step out of the front door and you are in the middle of the Souk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    66
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
72
409
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my wife just came back from a Honey Moon in La Sultana. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great, the service is friendly, the food is good and as honey moon guests we have received great extras but above all management was remarkable, especially Saida who made sure that every moment of our stay will be pleasant and enjoyable from recommending the right spa treatments to great town tours. Thank You

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. The hotel is beautiful, whichever part you stay in is highly decorative. There are several courtyards and our room Camélion opened onto the largest where the swimming pool is and also the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. This had one great advantage. In the afternoons after we had visited the Medina there was never anyone at the pool. With the pool just outside our room it was like having our own private pool!
Our room was very nice with some exquisite Morrocan details although I found a little small. The bath was quirky and the bathroom was lovely with a variety of lighting. The bed was sooooooo comfortable and huge. Lighting in the room was atmospheric and innovative but it lacked the odd lamp here and there. There was a desk but absolutely no lighting at that end of the room. For a new hotel we found the lack of sockets irritating. We couldn't both charge our phones at the same time and all sockets were inaccessible except one in the bathroom.
Breakfast was really nice, an array of juices, cereals and breads and things on the breakfast menu we have never been offered before or even heard of before. The cooked food you order is delicious, hot and arrived quickly. Breakfast service was really excellent.
Dinner? Dinner was strange. Service seemed slow and underwhelming although always polite. The food was a little bland and the style inconsistent considering there was only one menu. One evening our main courses really made us laugh. My plate looked like I was eating in a Michelin starred restaurant - a plate of neatly arranged food equal to any fine dining restaurant and my husbands looked like a meal for at least 4 hungry peasants plonked on the table with no finesse at all!! The other thing about dinner.... there is a musician who sits at the other side of the pool. He plays authentic Morrocan music. At first you think this is nice, then you wonder if he will ever take a break (he doesn't) as it become tedious and then it becomes downright irritating. It is loud and the sound harsh with all the hard surfaces. After dinner we would have like to have sat on our terrace with a drink or two and relaxed. Instead we had to go into our room and shut the shutters and watch a DVD.
The hotel claims the rooms are soundproofed and we can testify they certainly are,we couldn't hear the music from inside our room so you will not be disturbed by noise in this hotel.
One thing I would like to mention we went in February,early in the month. The days were pleasantly warm and the nights very cold. The hotel has a system of covering the courtyards with a clear plastic roof so that you are not cold when dining, swimming or sitting. This makes everything more comfortable. There is a superb roof terrace with tiny plunge pool where you can enjoy sunbathing,(there are sunbeds) fresh air, refreshments and lunch in the open air restaurant.
The position of the hotel is pretty good as you can walk to everywhere in the Medina from there. There is a huge taxi station nearby if you want to go outside the Medina.
I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel and I would certainly stay there again but I did email several times before we went to ask for a pick up from the airport and did not get a reply. In the end I had to phone to confirm the airport pick up, which was there to pick us up and bring us to the hotel in a nice air conditioned limousine. I did feel that the service was very good but did not match the price paid for the hotel but perhaps that is Morrocco.

Room Tip: All rooms are soundproofed so you will not be disturbed by noise but for privacy a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a long weekend at La Sultana and it was wonderful. The hotel is perfect, very good service, nice decoration and very relaxing despite the location very close to the busy centre. We really enjoyed our stay there! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Thanks to the hospitality of the people an amazing experience. And indeed they give you the feeling of being home, a beautiful home where you can be spoiled as much as you like: a nice treatment in the spa, fantastic food in the restaurant or being served at the roof of the riads while overlooking the city or reading your book. Just do it and go!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Five riad put together to create a perfect magical atmosphere. Every day you discover something new walking in the various corridors, stairs, rooms which animate this special place.
The entry of the hotel is completely hidden arriving from the kasbah. As soon as you step in the hotel, you find a different world full of serenity and extreme relaxation. All the 31 rooms have a different design and personality. We love to have breakfast and dinner in the small restaurant around the pool seating always at different tables discovering new angles of beauty. View from the roof is amazing with the Atlas mountains far away on the horizon and just below the fast life of the Medica with its sounds, parfume and colours. Service in the restaurant was excellent, very professional concierge staff and a very amazing hotel guide Hassan. Two thumbs up for any of my international friends who likes a luxury vacation with the true taste and spirit of Maroc.

Room Tip: All the suites and junior suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A wonderful magic Riad where we had an unforgetable honeymoon!!! A place to find sirenety after the lifely busy streets either in the Spa or on the Medina overlooking roof terrase to chill-out accombined with the wonderful redish sky of the sunset. Beeing pampered in the Spa with couple treatments in the Hammam and relaxing massages is another highlight of La Sultana. A magnificent and authentic Riad which makes you drift into another world. Excellent service with very friendly and superb staff! A place you don't want to leave anymore and we deffinitly will come back to celebrate our wedding anniverseries!! A place with only superlatives! A big thank to the entire team at La Salutana!!
We also recommend La Sultana - Qualidia where we have spent the first days of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.