We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Serail of 1001 nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Le Serail of 1001 nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A wonderful magic Riad where we had an unforgetable honeymoon!!! A place to find sirenety after the lifely busy streets either in the Spa or on the Medina overlooking roof terrase to chill-out accombined with the wonderful redish sky of the sunset. Beeing pampered in the Spa with couple treatments in the Hammam and relaxing massages is another highlight of La Sultana. A magnificent and authentic Riad which makes you drift into another world. Excellent service with very friendly and superb staff! A place you don't want to leave anymore and we deffinitly will come back to celebrate our wedding anniverseries!! A place with only superlatives! A big thank to the entire team at La Salutana!!
We also recommend La Sultana - Qualidia where we have spent the first days of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
389
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This is probaly one of the best hotel I have ever been. I would go back to Marrakech just to stay there again. Everything is just magic... The building is hidden in the lanes and once you enter the door, this magnificent riad duzzles your eyes. What impressed me much was the athmospheare you could breath in it. The roof is amazing with the view over the city...the perfume of the roses in the inside garden and other tropical plants..the music and the noize of the praiers..the taste of the the extraordinary maroccan cusine.. And of couse the rooms and the spa... Everything was just perfect. You cannot miss it even if it is more expensive than others, it is really worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A place to be pampered and relax from the craziest that's Marrakesh. The zebre room was simply wonderful. A great location to explore the medina with easy access to most of the sights of Marrakesh. From the roof deck one can look down into the Saadian Tombs and looking to the east the Atlas mountains along with Morocco's high peak complete the view.

Room Tip: For a room with a balcony overlooking the main courtyard the zebre room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

our family, with 2 teenagers, stayed at La Sultana for 4-5 days, and could have spent a month- or more!
La Sultana is beautiful, peaceful, quiet and comfortable in the midst of bustling Marrakech. The staff is superb- and will arrange everything. Every room is gorgeous and different in design and decor elements- while maintaining your arabian dream.
You can walk to almost everywhere you want to go within the city walls which makes morning and late afternoon ideal for touring around easy and spontaneous (early morning runs recommended for optimal weather, nice orientation, less crowds, and a real picture of daily life in Marrakech). Breakfast or evening drinks on the roof deck overlooking the city surrounding you are a must for sunrises and sunsets. Mid afternoons are usually hot- so ideal time to rendevous back at La Sultana for lunch at the poolside. Although the restaurant is superb, the staff will help book the best tables at the best and most scenic restaurants in Marrakech for a few dinners. They also will arrange the requisite camel rides just outside the city. La Sultana is a must experience while in Marrakech, and a 'home' I would love to live in anywhere.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and unique. Some are larger- Ask staff about the options, as i doubt there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

La Sultana is a true haven of peace and tranquility in a chaotic environment. It`s standards are far higher than the other 5 star hotels. It is elegant, smart and fantastically stylish but not in a garish or excessive manner.
The staff are genuinely considerate and patient; wishing for your comfort at all times, and thinking ahead to your needs.
The rooms are designed in a unique and comfortable way, and spa and the staff there are superb too.
The welcome is generous and considerate with a little surprise, and so is the departure... I won`t spoil it for you!
There is a tour of the hotel too, so if you prefer another room or suite you can chose more easily too.
How could it get better? Well it can... the food in the restaurant cannot be beaten. The menu is a fusion of French and Moroccan cuisine and it works remarkably well.
I cannot recommend it more highly. For those of you who know what luxury really means, and have high expectations; this is for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three glorious nights at La Sultana at the end of our honeymoon. Everything about this place and the people who work there is AMAZING! From the moment we walked in it was all about our comfort and the staff did all they could to make our stay unforgettable. Khalid welcomed us with a delicious cup of mint tea before showing us to our beautiful room. The Prestige room we had was spacious and very private. Only metres away lies the hustle and bustel of Marrakesh and yet it is so quiet inside the walls of La sultana. Breakfast is delicious and there are many choices on the menu as well as a buffet. The rooftop area is great for lunch. The bar opens at 6pm and we had our very own friendly barman. Dinner menu is great, food is so fresh and not too pricey. The reception staff are very helpful, they organised a guide to spend half a day with us. Nothing was too much trouble. The Spaa is lovely. My husband and I had a body scrub treatment and massage, and we thoroughly enjoyed the pampering. They even left a sweet gift for us on the last night. It was definitely a five star experience. The staff speak great English and we liked their sense of humour also.

Room Tip: if you have any queries about rooms, email the hotel direct and they are very helpful, especially Kh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a lovely - but too short - holiday; The room and the hotel were superb and so quiet, considering the hustle and bustle of the street outside. The food and service were exceptional and we were treated very handsomely. We were not actually on our honeymoon (!) as we have been married for nearly 48 years but perhaps we looked so happy, it might appear that we were on a special break. Thank you; we are planning to come again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.