We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short a stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too short a stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

La Sultana is a true haven of peace and tranquility in a chaotic environment. It`s standards are far higher than the other 5 star hotels. It is elegant, smart and fantastically stylish but not in a garish or excessive manner.
The staff are genuinely considerate and patient; wishing for your comfort at all times, and thinking ahead to your needs.
The rooms are designed in a unique and comfortable way, and spa and the staff there are superb too.
The welcome is generous and considerate with a little surprise, and so is the departure... I won`t spoil it for you!
There is a tour of the hotel too, so if you prefer another room or suite you can chose more easily too.
How could it get better? Well it can... the food in the restaurant cannot be beaten. The menu is a fusion of French and Moroccan cuisine and it works remarkably well.
I cannot recommend it more highly. For those of you who know what luxury really means, and have high expectations; this is for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
71
403
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three glorious nights at La Sultana at the end of our honeymoon. Everything about this place and the people who work there is AMAZING! From the moment we walked in it was all about our comfort and the staff did all they could to make our stay unforgettable. Khalid welcomed us with a delicious cup of mint tea before showing us to our beautiful room. The Prestige room we had was spacious and very private. Only metres away lies the hustle and bustel of Marrakesh and yet it is so quiet inside the walls of La sultana. Breakfast is delicious and there are many choices on the menu as well as a buffet. The rooftop area is great for lunch. The bar opens at 6pm and we had our very own friendly barman. Dinner menu is great, food is so fresh and not too pricey. The reception staff are very helpful, they organised a guide to spend half a day with us. Nothing was too much trouble. The Spaa is lovely. My husband and I had a body scrub treatment and massage, and we thoroughly enjoyed the pampering. They even left a sweet gift for us on the last night. It was definitely a five star experience. The staff speak great English and we liked their sense of humour also.

Room Tip: if you have any queries about rooms, email the hotel direct and they are very helpful, especially Kh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a lovely - but too short - holiday; The room and the hotel were superb and so quiet, considering the hustle and bustle of the street outside. The food and service were exceptional and we were treated very handsomely. We were not actually on our honeymoon (!) as we have been married for nearly 48 years but perhaps we looked so happy, it might appear that we were on a special break. Thank you; we are planning to come again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is amazing. It is hidden down a small allley and through a door into a beautiful oasis. Each room is unique and well appointed. Had dinner in the restaurant and the meal was lovely. The staff was great and were very helpful with arranging a car for an early morning airport transport and having a small meal delivered to the room at 6:15 a.m. The roof top seating and bar is great to watch the sunset and people watch while having a pot of mint tea. The hotel belongs to the "Smalll Luxury Hotels of the World" group and deservingly so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Five star plus treatment at La Sultana and more!!!! Amazing hotel, small luxurious and very romantic. The staff was helpful and accommodating to all our needs. The food was delicious and the spa treatments were exceptional!!!! A hidden treasure in the Medina, looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

La Sultana was an amazing experience throughout our 6 day stay and lived up to its reputation as an SLH property. Located in Marrakech's busy city center yet still felt like an oasis. The staff had fantastic attention to detail -- most staff greeted us by name by the second day -- it gave a very personal feeling to our stay. Rooms are amazing, food is excellent, location is great for holiday traveling. Pricing is expensive, but that's to be expected for an experience like this. Looking forward to having the chance to return one day.

We considered two alternative hotels of similar caliber in the area, and I am glad we chose to stay at La Sultana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing time in La Sultana - the hotel is stunning in architecture and design and offers a tranquil retreat from the outside world after a day around the Medina. The rooms were beautiful with sunken baths and copper sinks. The staff were extremely helpful and seemed to appear just as you need them to collect bags or order drinks. The reception helped us with hiring a guide and booking restaurants. The service was excelkent overall. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Escapio, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.