We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous from beginning to end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous from beginning to end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It started with the warm welcome accompanied by mint tea and pastries and the attention to detail never stopped. It is peaceful haven within the busy streets of the medina and walking distance to the souks and many of the famous landmarks. The gorgeous courtyards, fabulous roof terrace and excellent service made this a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: The rooms off the African riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    61
    13
    13
    9
See reviews for
60
363
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

delightful check in done at the beautiful cafe on the roof top, beautifully appointed rooms and excellent service and helpful and cheerful staff.

was nice to have peace and quiet and heating in the winter but was unable to sleep as the heater was a tad noisy. turned off heater but as they have put a covering over the courtyard to keep out the cold, the smell of cigarettes wafted up to the room as they allowed smoking in the courtyard restaurant below. we had guests in another room that also faced the same problem with a covered courtyard and smokers in the next suite polluted the whole place with their smoking. temperature would have been perfect for sleeping without heating. what a shame to allow smoking in the rooms and in an enclosed area.

wonderful breakfast and dinner also marred by passive smoke from other smokers.
would not consider staying there again in winter as i am 100% against passive smoking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

As the taxi dropped us off on the busy street I thought he had taken me to the wrong place but in fact the hotel is located on the busy Kashbah street which can be hectic. It's full of life which people buying selling and cars, motorbikes and bikes flying past.... Then you enter La Sultana and it couldn't be further away from that atmosphere. It's peaceful, beautifully decorated and truly out of this world. The welcome we received was excellent. We were given a tour of the hotel and served mint tea and Moroccan cakes on the roof top. I was in in rush to get to the room as I was enjoying the tea and the surroundings. Then when we saw the room we were thrilled it was so beautiful and everything you needed is there, iPod docking station, DVD player, all the usual extra slippers robe etc. Bathroom was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. It's by the far the best 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in. I'm sad to leave but look forward to returning. The staff go out of their way for all their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at La Sultana for 4 nights. And we loved it!!
The staff is absolutely wonderful, they makes you feel at home and so comfortable. I´ve been on their website before to look at the pictures. But in real life it exceeded the photos. So if you want to live in a Morrocan dream & fairytale for a couple of days. This is the place!
And don´t forget to book treatments at the spa. We went twice, because it´s so beautiful: And so relaxing to have the hamambath with a massage.
I would love to stay there again, next time I go to Marrakech.
/ Christina Karlsson Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was an absolute amazing stay at La Sultana, Saida the Front Office Manager will do everything for you what is in her power to make it the most memorable stay. The Hotel is a small Boutique Hotel, with excellent Staff, food is outstanding and very fresh. If you are vegetarian or you do have some food allergies like Gluten Allergie or Lactose intollerance you just let the staff know and they will organize everything for you what you need.
The Spa was excellent, clean, very hygenic and amazing treatments.
I will definately come back and i hope very soon.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms have no windows to the outside so they are quite dark. Windows only facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, tastefully decorated riads and very friendly staff make this luxury hotel a definite recommendation! They were very flexible with breakfast times, and we really enjoyed the hamam treatments. The rooftop terrace is a great place to hang out and observe busy Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spend 10 days in Marrakech and 6 in La Sultana. We had a wonderful time. The staff is lovely and very helpful. La Sultana is probably the best boutique hotel in town and the Kasbah or Median is the best place to be off season, as most of the hotel in the Palmeraie are empty. Also you can walk to the Medina from it.
We visit most of the top hotels and really the Sultana is the most beautiful one. The renovation is spectacular and the furniture are gorgeous.
One little point I will prefer that the all breakfast will be serve than on a buffet...I don't like buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel
Hotel La Sultana
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio and Otel so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.