We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good that I registered to this site to spread the word...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good that I registered to this site to spread the word...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I think the true test of a good hotel is not necessarily in its successes, but how it deals with its mistakes or failures (no hotel is perfect after all). This hotel was truly beautiful and offered really great service, but it truly distinguished itself with how it dealt with one of its mistakes (more on that at the end).

I stayed at La Sultana with my partner for a quick romantic getaway and we were drawn by the reviews on this site. They did not disappoint...we have had an amazing stay.
The roof terrace (where they take you for your check-in - inc. mint tea and lovely Moroccan pastries) was like a small paradise. Palm trees, wicker chairs in the shade, loungers with parasols (needed in June!), a plunge pool and a very helpful and attentive staff. In the heat of the afternoon, there are misters under the gazebo spraying quietly to keep you cool. The pool in the courtyard was absolute tranquillity and lovely in the heat of Moroccan summer. We made excellent use of their Spa (a little expensive, but well worth the top-class treatments), and would HIGHLY recommend a four-handed massage and a traditional hammam!

The Restaurant was lovely (we made a point to eat out on most nights, but for our last dinner, we couldn't resist the La Sultana tasting menu!) and the setting is truly perfect - up on the roof terrace with the musician and the adhan serenading you...it felt a little too good to be true at times! Breakfast was great and can be brought to your room at no extra cost.

As mentioned, the worst part of our stay was the excursion to the Ourika Valley (including visiting a traditional Berber village) which the hotel arranged for us. This trip just went all wrong from the very start. The 'driver' / 'guide' could not speak English or French and he stalled our 4x4 several times (not giving us a great feeling of security as he drove along some VERY precarious roads in the High Atlas). He stopped at several unscheduled places (usually friends of his who tried to sell us things) and he didn't make any effort to speak to us or explain anything. To top it all off, he took us to a restaurant for lunch which was FOUL! We both became ill as a result and could not go out the next day.

So why have I given La Sultana 5 stars despite this? Because I am willing to accept that this was caused by a bad tour agency and that the Hotel will not let this happen again. When we returned to the hotel and told them of our 'adventure', their reaction was admirable. Almost immediately afterwards, the desk manager came to find us and apologised unreservedly. She offered an explanation, made no excuses, refunded the cost and offered another day trip gratis as compensation. We could not, unfortunately, take her up on the kind offer as we only had 1 more day in the country, but even then she offered us a free guide to take us around Marrakech. I am sure if we had been able to stay at La Sultana any longer, they would have more than compensated for this error made by the outside agency they used, but perhaps this will have to wait until next time.

I can't say for sure if we will be returning to Marrakech, but I can definitely say that if I do, I would be staying at La Sultana.

Top Pros:
- Excellent staff who bend over backwards;
- stunning roof-top terrace and swimming pool; and
- great location.

Top Cons:
- Room was a little dark;
- pretty pricey (but they do offer a lot of freebies!); and
- the excursion (maybe source this yourself with a reputable company).

Room Tip: There is only once Riad with lots of light, so if you specify that you would like to have more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    66
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
380
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at La Sultana for 5 nights from 4 June 2012. We were really impressed by the quality of the hotel and the decor in particular is just divine. We visited a number of the other hotels in Marrakech for dinner and La Sultana was by far the best we saw. The location is also perfect for visiting the sites of Marrakech and you feel completely protected from the hustle and bustle of the city going on around you.

Having seen the layout of the hotel, I think in hindsight we would have asked for a room with as much light as possible. Our room was lovely, and there are great little things like dates on the pillow and free soft drinks from the mini-bar that add those little touches to make a stay even better. However it was very very dark - there was one very small dark stained glass window which looked out onto a corridor which meant that in reality there is no natural light at all and I had a lot of trouble waking up in the morning. Having looked at the website again though, it does warn you of this and tells you to mention it at the time of booking if you would like a room with natural light.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and courteous and always wanted to help any way they could. We ate dinner there on two nights and both nights asked for our tea to be brought to the room which they were happy to do. Saaida the general manager in particular deserves a special mention for being lovely and friendly. Everything was easy, taxi's were arranged, dinners booked, and we were even checked in on the terrace with mint tea and a welcome tray of morrocan pastries.

We ate at the hotel three times, twice for dinner (once the a la carte and once the tasting menu) and once for lunch. The tasting menu was absolutely divine, and didn't suffer from the problem a lot of Marrakech seems to have which is to provide you with so much food it's wasteful and you cannot possibly finish. Other than that I think the dishes are a bit hit and miss. The lunch was perfectly nice and very tasty food, and our starter of Morrocan salads from the a la carte was also by far the best we had, with delicate spiced flavours. Unfortunately, what let it down was the lamb couscous dish which I had on the first night. The lamb was by far the worst quality I had anywhere in Marrakech and was on a giant bed of flavourless couscous with a jug of some sort of stock which was supposed to be used as a sauce to provide flavour. The whole dish was a disaster and it was a real shame as everything else we ate at La Sultana was amongst the nicest food we had on the trip, however the lamb dish sticks in my mind as the worst thing I ate. I would still recommend the food though, and would definitely tell people to go for dinner on the beautiful terrace (avoiding the lamb dish!).

Unfortunately we arranged a tour through the hotel which did not go to plan and which we were very disappointed with and when we arrived back from the tour we did complain. Their response could not have been better, they phoned the agency they use to establish what had gone wrong, didn't charge us for the tour and offered us a chance to take another tour. Unfortunately we couldn't take them up on this as we were short on time but their response was really fantastic and I think in the circumstances they did everything they possibly could to compensate for the bad experience (even though it wasn't really their fault but the agency they book the tours through).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

great location, wonderfull rooms, delicious food, friendly and proffesional staff, unforgettable stay in heart of marrakech.

Room Tip: any room is perfect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic beach, florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a lovely place, as with most here the charm is well hidden behind a huge door in the corner of a bustling market. The central courtyard is beautiful, you can breakfast or dine here beneath the palms. The food and service very good. The rooms are dark and cozy, beautifully furnished and comfortable, but definitely an AliBaba cave feel, everything is oriented toward the interiors. I prefer light and openness so I would not plan a long stay. Bathrobes and Sultana toiletries are nice touches in the modern comfortable bathroom, though even here we were told NOT to use the water for tooth-brushing or drinking. Really DONT, it;s just how things are in Morocco, even in the nicest hotel apparently. Nice touches like a book closet where you can help yourself to volumes left behind by others, and leave one behind in return. The rooftop bar is magical and you can dine and watch the world go by in the streets below. A small gift shop with luxurious things too. Staff on the whole helpful but small front desk which can get a little overloaded on checkout - allow plenty of time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Experience was fantastic, dinners were great on the roof terrace overlooking the kasbah

Very expensive but worth the money. Location just behind the main square of Marrakech and close to getting in and out of the city...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is the epitome of great taste. Impeccable service yet friendly, luxury without pretention situated in an ideal location foot steps away from all the main attractions.

Food is great and rooms are gorgeous and the view from the roof terrace is breathtaking.

This hotel is an absolute must!!

L. Levac

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is one of those special places, the service was excellent and the accommodation out of this world. We stayed in the Tiger Room (all the rooms were named after animals), it was truly special with a huge and comfortable bed and elegantly decorated. The various courtyards all had a theme and the facilities were luxurious yet tranquil. I had a massage which was sooo relaxing.

The location was great, on the outskirts of the town and a short (10 minute) walk to the town square.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Marrakech.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there's a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.