We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

You simply cannot fault this sumptuous hotel - first class location, faciities, service, quality... You are looked after every moment of your stay in a perfectly discreet and non-intrusive way. In fact, I recently stayed at the Savoy in London and the service at La Sultana was even better then the Savoy because it is a small boutique hotel so there is that added very personal touch. At over £200 a night it wasn't cheap but it was worth absolutely every penny. Marrakech is magical and when I go back I am positive I will stay at La Sultana.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    58
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
438
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

As a preamble i do stand by my title. It has been my first time in Morocco and Marrakech, the Riad is in a great setting, smack in the middle of a bustling area where few tourists go, apart from the nearby Saadi's Tombs. Is enormously silent and quiet so if relax is what you are looking for than look no further.

At the same time, as a seasoned traveller, i have to point out few things that didn't quite worked so that the charming Xavier (Manager) might find how to fix it.

Roof restaurant

On our second from last day we came back quite late (3:30pm) to the Riad and asked if we could still eat. a nice asian lady told us 'certainly, at the roof top restaurant'. we headed there and the table was been prepared for us. we were told no grill would have been available because of the late hour but anything else would. we therefore ordered two tagines, of which we made a real diet during our stay. we ordered two sides of rice as well. my tagine arrived cold, no rice. i asked for it to be heated up but i wasn't happy. after having being treated to so many good meals a cold tagine was a real disappointment. i reminded the waiter of our rices and i finally got one, quite frankly unedible.

my point is, if reception knows it's late please don't send clients to the restaurant for them to be treated like this. i am sure this will be corrected

Femme de chambre / cleaners

We stayed 5 nights. everyday the room clening was a surprise in itself. one day there were no liners in the bins. another there were liners but no pillow cases. a third there were pillow cases and liners but no hand towels...i mean come on!

SPA

We went once and we tried a relaxing massage side by side. if you have tried massages in Thailand then do not go.

Spa is in the lower ground and welcomes you with a beautiful marble pool. unfortunately the water is cold and having a jacuzzi cold is not my idea of jacuzzi.

Excursions

we spent a whole day with Assan and a private car. we were told it would have been a 4x4 and it wasn't but it was still a great day out in the Atlas Valley. Assan is a great guy and clearly knows his trades. strongly recommend.

Language

If people think all moroccans speak english and french please reconsider. the cleaning staff doesn't and their french is not the french we are taught in europe. it will require extreme patience when ordering room service and dealing with staff in general. it's the way it is and there is nothing anybody can do. just be warned.

Lounge bar

La Sultana has a lounge bar designed as a transatlantic bar. one evening we spent 15' there, hoping to have a tea. noboby ever showed up and we left...

MARRAKECH

Marrakech taxis

Main mean of transport for us. they will never use the meter and if asked might even get angry. apart from this they are very friendly and at the end of the day cheap, so it's an acceptable flaw.

Main Square

If i were you i would avoid it. it's a tourist trap with terrible food on sale in nearby restaurants. rather go to the huge souk that starts from its back.


Conclusion

I loved Marrakech and La Sultana. i think we overstayed and maube a shorter stay would have been enough. The Riad is great and has fantastic design.


hope it helps.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

La Sultana Marrakech is maybe one of the best hotels I have ever been. To start they don't make you stand in the reception, but they offer you to seat in one of the wonderful patios and they do all the check in there, while they offer you a delicious mint tea with traditional sweets! Then they guide you through the hotel. This is the way to start a unique experience!!! I was travelling with my partner and we felt all the time very welcomed. We are now in love with the hotel.

La Sultana it's based on 5 different riads, but which all make a singular and unique building, very stylishly decorated. The have (I'm sure) the best terrace in Marrakech! with views to la Kasbha or Koutoubia mosques, to the Atlas, to the Saadian tombs.... It's an amazing experience to have a drink for the sunset.The rooms are splendid, full of comfort and amenities.

The room service, the reception and restaurant staff are highly professional, they are always friendly, they get all what you want (specially appreciated are the honest taxi drivers!!!). Maybe some of the waiters of the terrace could be a bit quicker... but is it really important when we are on vacation and we have great views?

It's not a hotel in the Ville Nouvelle, it's in the Medina - so, of course, the streets are a bit messy. However, it must be said that around the Kashba mosque the area has been renovated and cleaned. From inside La Sultana we get no sounds from the streets.

To sum up: La Sultana is maybe the best hotel in Marrakech. It's expensive (and really, the access to the spa could be included....), but it does live up to the expectations! I 100% recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights with my family (2 young boys). Our room was very nice in a typical Morrocan style. Very nice breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and looked after us during our stay. The hotel has free wifi (also in the rooms). It has an indoor heated pool right next to where you have breakfast and dinner. It also has a wonderful terrace where there is a small pool and where you can have lunch and get something to drink. Our guide, Hassan, was very good with us and went out of his way to fulfill our requests (children and a birthday). He drove us around Morocco and helped us with our purchases. Thank you very much. Only negative side of the hotel is that we couldn't really go out walking buy ourselves at night as there wasn't anything or anywhere near to go to. But the hotel offers you everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've done many hotels but this remains a very unique experience.
The staff was so friendly that I just don't have any words to describe it!!
Thank you for the wonderful care.
And a very big thank you to our driver Anouar!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradignan, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It was unexpected to be wellcomed like we were... Upgrated because on honey moon, amability and efficience of the whole team.... A dream into reality... The shock going outside is hardest...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Have just returned from a week's trip to Marrakech and we both were not too happy in our comfort zone. However, after 3 days, with the incredible service provided by La Sultana as well as many great tips on where to eat, our trip ended up being fantastic. If you want to be spoilt, this hotel is a definite MUST!

Room Tip: Every room is special and has it's own character. If you wish to have privacy then you would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.