We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed You Will Feel Like a Sultan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Indeed You Will Feel Like a Sultan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I recently had dinner at La Sultana and was incredibly impressed with the property, staff and restaurant. I did not stay at this Riad, but stopped in one afternoon whilst in the Kasbah to inquire about directions around Marrakech and get a tour of the property. The staff was amazingly attenttive, spent time making recommednations, providing direction, giving me a tour of the property then booking a table for dinner the next night. When I arrived the next eve the staff remembered my name, greeted my warmly and escorted me to a wonderful dinner around. Started with drinks on the rooftops with the long view over the Medina then dinnner around a glowing pool with top-notch service, food and drink. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. They could not have made me feel more welcomed if I had been staying there which indeed I will next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
385
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trebetherick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

5 wonderful days and nights at this superb Hotel.The room was comfortable in every respect, all the staff were exceptionally helpful (nothing was too much trouble), and the location was ideal, near enough to the action but far enough away to be peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Hidden away from the hussle and bustle of local Marrakech, this is a haven of beauty, luxury and calm. This beautiful Riad excels all expectations of even the most discerning customer. The opulence of the decor and high standard of accomodation is made even more special by the wonderfully attentive personable staff and the top grade standard of cuisine. The dining area surrounds the most beautiful indoor pool which contributes to its peaceful tranquil atmosphere.
La Sultana THOROUGHLY deserves its already first class reputation and I fully intend to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent a week at this lovely hotel and were thoroughly spoiled, the staff were excellent and had a good sense of humour. Hidden down an alley, away from the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech you enter a different world with beautiful riads each with its own unique decor with luxurious rooms leading off them. The food was delicious with a large choice of Moroccan and European food.
The web site does not do justice to the charm of the place.

Room Tip: Suits in Riad Bahia have a nice sitting area outside in the riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

We arrived yesterday and have been amazed by the beauty of the buildings, the decadence of the room and the service.

We have tried a lot of the spa treatments already and I would recommend the 50min massage and the angel skin hamman.

The food is wonderful and the atmostphere takes some beating. As I'm writing this we are overlooking the pool and it is all lit by lights.

I would absolutely recommend this as a place to stay. They have arranged a tour guide, camel riding (which we do in the morning) and have been very helpful in everything that we have asked. It is my birthday today and I've also recieved a present! The manager, Xavier, has a wonderful sense of humour and Ghislaine deserves a special mention along with all the members of staff in the spa.

Overall, the hotel has been the highlight of our trip so far!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Although a fairely regular user of tripadvisor.com, I don't typically take the time to comment on my stay at particular hotels. Most of the time, the stay is "fine," so I don't bother to highlight anything in particular. Our most recent stay at La Sultana, however, is worthy of note.

We have traveled extensively around the world for both business and pleasure. As a result, we have experienced a very wide range of accommodations, from the lowliest hostel-style, bare bones rooms to the finest five-star resorts. La Sultana stands out among all the great hotels of the world that we've visited.

From the moment we arrived in reception to the moment we departed for the airport at the end of our stay, we were struck by the incredible level of service we received. Beyond the truly magnificent architecture and interior design details of La Sultana, the staff rates among the best we've ever encountered. Hassan and Saida (I hope I spelled their names correctly!), in particular, were gracious, accommodating, and unflappable as we peppered them with typical tourist questions as well as several special requests designed to accommodate our limited schedule in Marrakech.

By the end of our stay, our discussion had turned from "Where do we want to go next?" to "How soon could we arrange to come back?" La Sultana offered everything we look for and more. In short, we would highly recommend this property to anyone, anytime.

To the skeptical (or jaded) traveler, I say "You won't be disappointed." To the excellent staff of La Sultana, I say "Well done....and thank you! We will see you again!"

Reese Lackey and Greg Erfani (Nov. 2011)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

A great place to escape to if you want some winter sunshine in an oasis of calm set overlooking a lagoon. Excellent service in charming surroundings. Beautiful gardens. A fabulous indoor pool and a gorgeous outdoor pool as well. The staff will do their best to provide whatever you want whether it is a private picnic on an island or a trip to a local souk. Nothing is too much trouble. It seems a long way from home but is only a short flight and the whole trip was beautifully organised by Red Savannah.

Room Tip: We were spoilt in the presidential suite with two decks and a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.