We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Sultana Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Milano
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Beautiful place, romantic, clean and quite. Excellent service, fantastic rooms. Front desk is very professional, helpful and extremely kind. They make you feel welcome.
The riad is perfect in spring time, as te ceiling is covered by a plastic protection. This keeps the temperature inside the riad quite worm, perfect to enjoy a swimming pool side dinner.
Definetely, a place to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
385
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oporto
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Plus:
- The Hotel design, decoration, facilities (terrasse, spa, small charming leusure rooms etc..);
- The location (10 minutes walk from the main square Jemma el fna)
- Concierge + Front desk service (friendly, helpful and competent)
- The rooms are very well decorated (arab and africa style)

(Little) Minus:
- 350x2 dirahms for the 2 transfers from and to airport. Two expensive for the kind of poor and untidy transfer car presented (other hotels have a mercedes for almost half the price). Does not suit the hotel and its luxury image.
- The front desk of the spa was quite unfriendly and lazy. (were particularly unhappy that we undressed in the spa instead of in our rooms). Wanted us to walk barefoot in the hamman and take our spa slippers off, which we obviously did not do (although they were not barefoot either).
- The breakfast staff were sometimes very nice but other times a little forgetful with newspaper and other stuff.
- The water of the jacuzzi was too cold.
- Although we did not use the TV duriing our entire stay it us not up to the standard of our room. The tv us some 10 years old and we stayed in a deluxe suite.
- The bathroom was great but the bathroom kit (shampoo, hydratant etc) should be better for a deluxe suite. For instance shaving and toothpaste and better shampoo products).
But these were just small negative details that were easily forgotten when taking into account the positive aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Muy, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had a 3 night stay in this dream place as a couple. I recommand this establishment without hesitation. We had a perfect time, the hotel decoration is magnificent, the suite wonderful. It's location is ideal to visit the Medina, but still it's a quite place. Food and services are excellent, the staff was very kind and helpful. The Spa is of excellent quality as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The decor, staff and cuisine were faultless. A truly beautiful hotel that succeeds in creating the ambience of refined historic Morocco without trying too hard. Elegant, discreet and quiet, yet right in the heart of the Kasbah, it is a wonderful place to return to at night and wake up to in the morning. The craftsmanship, furnishings and art in this restored palace are the perfect blend of 5 star hotel quality and antiquity. We really couldn't recommend La Sultana more highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

All the services and warmth of staff in this riad is just superb. Will recommend it to my friend, will stay here again on my next trip to Marakech.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I have just returned from a four day stay at the Sultana with my husband - a 50th birthday treat. I cannot praise this hotel enough. It is an amazing riad. You approach a magnificent gold door from a passage way and enter a hidden paradise in the middle of the city.
The decor is sumptuous; Morrocan with a contemporary twist. The fixtures and fittings have been chosen with exquiste detail to make each room different, but equally beautiful.
We arrived to find a host of welcome items in our room, and the staff were attentive without being overly so. Soft drinks from the mini bar are complimentary.
The food in the restaurant is very good - the evening meal particualry so.
The spa room is a great way of unwinding after a day battling in the souk.
The location is brilliant. You step out of the riad and are immdiately immersed in the streetlife. Atmospheric and lively. Everywhere is within easy walking distance. A trip to the main square at night is a must.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We (two girlfriends) staid at La Sultana for 4nights for our city trip. The hotel is fabulous and actually the best part of the whole trip! Great location, beautiful hotel, very friendly stuff members. As soon you enter the hotel, you are in a different world, we loved just to hang out in the hotel, reading our books on the gorgeous roof top. We staid in a Junior Suite, which was nice and big enough. Well you have to get used to the door system. The spa is ok, try a hamman but I wouldn't recommend the massage. The breakfast which is included is pretty small but ok. I absolutely can recommend the hotel and would stay there anytime again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;