We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic 2-star European style hotel! Not my idea of an authentic Moroccan experience!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Mogador Hotel to your Saves list
Ryad Mogador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #425 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A basic 2-star European style hotel! Not my idea of an authentic Moroccan experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I initially stayed in Marrakech for one night before onward travel. As I booked late I reluctantly accepted this hotel from my Flight Centre travel agent, though it had very mixed review; my judgement was correct and I was grateful that I only had to stay one night.

The hotel was clean, had all the advertised amenities, the staff (particularly the porter) were friendly and helpful. Though it is far from Jemaa el Fna (the square) and really far from Bahia Palace, Badii Palace and the souks; each outing will cost you a 50 dirham mini-taxi ride. However, is a basic, clean, 2-star European-style hotel really what you want if you are visiting this beautiful North African city, which is filled with delightful and affordable riads in the heart of the Medina that are 5 minutes walk from the action? If it is, which is sad, please note that a city-view room is not a good thing. You have a view of the minaret of the Koutoubia Mosque and the city wall, but also have the deafening traffic noise, which permeated through two closed double-glazed patio doors. And never stopped. And Moroccans drive with the car horns. And you get the same view at breakfast. [Also note that this is not Ryad Mogador Opera, which is confusing while researching.]

In addition to the amenities in the hotel, it is directly above a supermarket where you could buy drinks, snacks, fruit and even a washing machine or exercise bike. It was also close to the Supratours office to buy a coach ticket for onward travel (e.g. Essaouira, a beautiful coastal town that you really must visit!) However 1. Practice just a little French to buy your ticket (if you don’t speak Arabic) and 2. walk carefully but do buy your ticket here as early as possible as the bus station can be busy and the buses sell-out very quickly.

I would not recommend this hotel, as riads are much better in terms of location, service and amenities, but you are free to make an informed choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    112
    179
    84
    93
See reviews for
72
178
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottihngham uk
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We spent three nights in this hotel as an introduction to Marrakesh.

We got the bus from the airport, purchasing also our return ticket. The driver was excellent, even giving us a map that proved invaluable. This was much cheaper then a taxi. The bus was right outside the airport.

the hotel staff were friendly & efficient, one of the porters chatted to us, pointing out stuff on the map outside so that we could find our way.

the lift was a bit dodgy, did not always seem to work, but the stairs adequate.

the room was exactly what I would expect from 3 star. Clean, adequate, not fancy, soap & shampoo & towels. The safe needed a key, 20d a night but was worth it to have the passports & cash safe.

We were on the 4th floor overlooking the road & garage & bus station. It was constantly amusing, always something going on night & day. It was quite noisy but fine with the double glazing closed.

The breakfast was a bit samey but classic continental with pastries,cake & pancakes, salads & toast & bread, plus coffee & juice.

The hotel was good walking distance 15-20 mins from all of the souks in the old town although we discovered that there was loads of stuff 5 mins away just behind the wall by the bus station as well. The new town was 10-15 mins lots of cafes & quieter shopping.

There was a shop below us that sold water & a supermarket as well. The hotel changed money & so did the bank that was just up the road.

We got a train to Casablanca, 3 hours each way. It was worth it to see the landscape of the dessert, traditional houses, sheep/goatherders & small settlements surrounded by cactus walls. Casablanca itself was rougher, dirtier, but cooler.

This is a tough country! Tough place, everyone wants to do you a favor all of time at a price!! We fell in love instantly & are planning our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed here on 10-17 july 2010. After reading reviews i was slightly worried,but was pleasantly surprised. I arrived in the evening and the check-in process was very easy, reception staff speak good english and were very pleasant. My bags were taken up to my room by the porter.Room was very clean,with twin beds and very small balcony at front of hotel. The road outside was very noisy,but ddint keep me awake. The hotel is in a good position opposite bus station and within waking distance of everything. Taxis were always outside and no more than 20dirhams to city centre.Breakfast was ok but a bit boring as it was same every day.However it was value for money and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thms3251
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We read lots and lots of reviews and feedbacks regarding this hotel. We decided to give it a go...
Hotel is 10 to 15 Min away from airport via taxi.Got checked in no problem,chap spoke good English was grate.Got our keys for room 308,room was small,toilet was terrible! Black mould in the corner of the shower area (see pictures) The frame work of the door is full of rot with ants going back and forward.Later that night we had cockroaches everywhere in the toilet!!
The room itself had a small balcony which faced onto the main road. 2 small built in wardrobes. 1 solid king-size bed and i do mean solid.
Spoke to reception regarding room were palmed off with the hotel was full,check next day with regards to changing it..!
We could not believe what we were hearing! Sickened big time!
checked up every day with regards to room change were unable to do so as they were fully booked!
Breakfast is terrible! No hygiene! Fly s are sat on all food bread,pancakes,pastries etc..
Lift strongly smells of B.O Swimming pool is very very very small.
Please Please avoid this hotel, Do not make the same mistake that we made!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Pulling up outside is not the most joyful of experiences. The hotel is on a busy main road and the ground floor of the building is mostly taken up with a large supermarket. so looks are not its strong point.

Check-in was straight forward (the desk staff all had a reasonable standard of English so we weren't forced to fall back on our French). We had originally booked a "City View Room" but on arrival these seemed to be in short supply. Having seen that the City View rooms would be overlooking the busy road outside (and having heard how much the locals use their horns) we opted for a room at the back instead, not a decision that we ever regretted. Having seen the views from the 2nd floor restaurant I don't think we missed out on any stunning views over the Medina.

The room itself was fine but by no stretch of the imagination great. Reasonable size and clean but clearly showing its age (light hanging down in bathroom, cracked paintwork, plenty of little niggles but nothing that was going to put you off a good nights sleep. A major plus, especially with temperatures hitting a high of 48C, was aircon that worked well.

Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor, where you will find this hotel's wierdest feature. There is a large atrium in the restaurant area that goes all the way down to the supermarket on the groundfloor with travellators to take people up and down. This is currently blocked off but only with curtains and waist-high boards. I suppose it does let you see what the queues are like at the checkout without having to go all the way down. Breakfast itself is quite limited, the same range of pastries, olives, eggs, salad everyday but it does the job. They also claim to do food of an evening but we never checked it out.

There is a pool but we never used it. It's small and shallow, set in a small bare rectangular concrete courtyard, surronded with a few sunloungers. It looked clean enough but wasn't enticing.

The location of the hotel is pretty good. It is handy for both the Medina and the New Town. Once you've managed to cross the road (just follow a local until you get the hang of it) you are a couple of minutes walk from the Medina walls and about 10-15 minutes by foot from the New Town. The Djemm al Fna is probably a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel or about 5 minutes and 10 dirhams by taxi.

All in all, a perfectly acceptable hotel but nothing to set the heart racing and certainly not the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We travelled to Marrakech for the first time in March for 4 days, we took local bus from airport to hotel we purchased our return ticket at the same time so it worked out a lot cheaper than taking taxi, bus took only 15 min to get to Ryad Mogador Hotel, upon on arrival to hotel local rep was waiting for us at the reception to give us a welcome meeting, member of hotel staff took us to our room which was on the top floor and facing to main road, the place of room was great cause we could watch Marrakech from top; sunset was brilliant, watching main road was funny.

Bus garage is in front of hotel that's a lot of noise but it is quite and peaceful as long as balcony door is closed, air con was on at all time it was cool everytime we got to our room. The room wasn't great but it didn't bother us a lot because we all day everyday outside exploering the city, we walked from and to hotel everyday it took us 15-20 min to walk to Souk. We travelled to Casablanca for a day we took train from Marrakech train station to Casablamca train station, train journey is app 3.5-4 hrs journey (one way)

Don't expect much from the hotel stay as you get what you paid for but Ryad Mogador is in a great location, be very careful with taxi drivers ALWAYS bargain with them never pay them what they ask for!! always give the half of the amount what they ask for. Taxi should cost MAXIMUM 10 dirhams in the day time and maybe 20/30 dirhams in the evening. 1 half day is enough to visit madresa museum etc. Ladies should be careful with the way of they dress up as they would get a lot of attention doesn't matter if you walk with your partner :) definately take a few paracetamol and a tablet in case if you get diarrhea (most commen problem) generally it is a great different experience and max time recommended to stay is 4 days.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I recently stayed at the Ryad Mogador Marrakech hotel for 7 nights with my boyfriend and found it terribly disappointing!

We arrived at the hotel at around 8.30pm and were greeted pleasantly by the porters and reception staff. Once checked in, we were told which way our room was (not shown) and were left to our own devices! When we came to unpacking, we realised that we hadn't brought the key for our suitcase padlock, we telephoned reception who sent a maintenance guy to our room to help. He sawed the lock off for us then stayed in our room and demanded money! Had he not been so pushy we would have been happy to give him a tip but after the way he reacted, we were eager to get him out of our room.

Our room was average. Although I'm sure the sheets were clean, they were a bit grey looking and the blankets put on the beds weren't clean.

After 2 nights staying there, we decided that we needed some luxury and booked to stay in a 5* hotel in Agadir (which was a palace compared to the Mogador!) When we returned to the Mogador on our last night, I turned over my pillow and noticed that the pillow cases and none of the bedsheets had been changed all week as there was a mascara mark still there from the nights before our trip to Agadir! I was then horrified to see an ant crawling across my pillow!! I was not impressed!
Another downside to our room was the bathroom. The sink didn't drain properly and we ended up with a full sink a number of times and had to resort to cleaning our teeth over the bath!

Breakfast was appalling! The orange juice was more like a very strong orange squash, the bread was as solid as a rock, there was no fresh fruit and although it was a novelty on our first morning, we were served Brownies for breakfast! Brownies!! - by the end of the week, I couldn't stomach eating anything at all from the restaurant.

Lunch/Evening meals in the hotels restaurant were very poor. I'm a vegetarian so I expected there to be a limited choice but only being able to order Cheese toasties or Spaghetti Napolitana (I feel queasy just thinking about this dish!) was a little too limited for my liking!

The lounge/bar was a nice area with aircon but smoking is still allowed at the hotel which was very off putting and we'd end up stinking of smoke.

Some of the staff were very helpful but others were just happy to get rid of you as soon as possible. The porters were very helpful though.

Although I didn't enjoy my stay here, the hotel was in a good location for the market and the local bus station.

Needless to say, I will not be staying at this hotel again and would strongly advise people thinking to book this hotel to think again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#394 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#366 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#301 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#397 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#402 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#367 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Hotel

Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Mogador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Mogador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.