We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you're just looking to be on outings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #405 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad if you're just looking to be on outings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not a bad hotel, but not the greatest. They have okay rooms, i had nothing to complain about other than the cab drivers that triple any price you've asked for, the smell of the shopping market downstairs in the evening was awful. But as my friend and i were out early mornings till late in the evenings on excursions we found the location a good place to stay to get anywhere....would stay again if i intended on being busy, if not id spend a few extra £ and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    97
    160
    72
    79
See reviews for
62
158
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has been given some really mixed reviews, but I found no major issues with the hotel. We stayed for 2 nights on an easyJet package, it cost £210 for flights and hotel for us both!

The hotel itself is in a good location, about a 10 minute walk from the nearest sightseeing bus stop and about 15 minutes from the medina. There is a supermarket and bakery downstairs which is really good to take drinks and snacks out with you when you're doing the trip on the cheap. There was a nice bar area downstairs where you could buy drinks and watch the TV as well as using the slightly temperamental WiFi.

The room in the hotel was adequate, it was clean and had full working AC. The only problem was the lights in the hallway which you have to switch on whenever you exit the lift, otherwise you're walking around in the dark!

Breakfast was really good, it was fresh items from the bakery downstairs and tea, coffee and orange juice.

If you want a cheap break in Marrakech I would recommend this hotel, just don't expect The Ritz! I would also recommend you request a room on higher floors, much quieter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Do yourself a favour and stay ANYWHERE ELSE in Marrakech. If I wasn't with a tour group I would have checked out and stayed somewhere else. I got food poisoning from the dinner the first night which meant being sick the entire next day and missing out on our tour of the city.
The room was disgusting - smelled like ten thousand cigarettes and the walls were actually grey from people smoking in there. The bathroom was also dirty - blood and other stains smeared on the walls.
The staff are arrogant, unhelpful and RUDE. The only nice person was a guy called Sleiman who worked the night shift on the front desk while we were there.
No internet in rooms which means you have to sit downstairs in reception. This means putting up with smoking inside with all doors and windows shut at night. Not great if you're a non-smoker or like breathing fresh air from time to time. It was also super hot in there and when asked if they could put the aircon on they switched one tiny unit on and left the rest off. I couldn't be bothered to ask for more because dealing with their staff was horrible.
An absolutely awful hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Their location is good, walking distance to the main
coach station and not far from the train station also
near to the medina (old city) walls. Rooms are tired
and worn but airy. The staff is reckless and I think
not adequate. Breakfast is basic. There was a small
pool but never tried. I suggest to them to renovate
there immediately and try to find more motivated staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

firstly if you want a quiet break do not stay here, this hotel is in the middle of the town centre, with a bus garage right opposite it, vehicles driving all night, there are loads of shops and restaurants a small walk away (5/10 mins) there is also a cheap supermarket next door. I went full board, the food was lovely, a little repetitive sometimes but I had breakfast lunch and dinner, each meal was three courses, breakie was continental and the staff we're very helpful. A few servers did not speak English so brush up on your French. Ladies cover up, you will get harassed anyway as the locals can tell your a tourist, don't let anyone show you around, they will demand money, and ignore the locals wolf whistles and gestures, the swimming pool was basic but ok for tanning. our room was fine we had decent beds that were changed daily and a nice view, bin was emptied and nothing went missing, staff even opened a bottle of wine for us, which is major, since they don't drink here, you will have to pay local tax. bathroom was clean although the bath had rusting? we just put a towel down ands stood on it when we showered, only downside of the room. Also air conditioning was free :) This hotel has wifi, we 2 young girls had a great time, we rode camels, haggled at the market and explored, the hotel does what you need it too. I think I preferred our time at the hotel to our time exploring, make sure you check out the jardin majorelle, beautiful, absolutely beautiful, and the markets and ride a camel, it is hilarious, haggle anywhere you can, it's quite funny to watch a 700dirham item go to 5 without you saying so much as nah I'm alright. I would definitely go back, very interesting country.

Room Tip: All rooms will hear the noise, try and get a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Worst hotel ever!!
Soufiane, the man on the front desk, the manager apparently - though God knows how with his demeanour, so rude and unhelpful, the worst service I've ever encountered.
We arrived late at night, only to be told we couldn't stay at the hotel, even though everything was already arranged and paid for. We were not allowed to use the telephone to contact our travel agents, we actually had to leave the hotel, buy a phonecard and find a public phone to use on the street. The worst thing about it was the way in which we were spoken to, Soufiane had a constant smirk fixed on his face, it was like it made him so happy to be as unhelpful as possible.
All of this because myself and my partner didn't have a marriage certificate (we are getting married this Summer). We have stayed at hotels in Morocco in the past, in Marrakech, Casablanca, Chefchaoun and Fesand, everything has always been fine, the staff always helpful, polite and friendly.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

had an unexpected visit from friends and a contct said this was a cheap n cheerful hotel. however my friends who stayed a week said it was pretty run down, the staff just wanted tips all the time and one of the female receptionists was quite rude to them, but they said the food was good altho breakfast basic pastries. the noise from the main bus station across the road was the biggest problem and the blowing of horns goes on 24 hours a day and the dual carriageway outside the hotel never really dies down. moroccans drive blowing their horns for any reason. so best ask for a bedroom at the back of the hotel facing the petrol station if you want a quiet night's sleep. inside the bedrooms were basic but comfortable and fairly clean. towels were not replaced every day or sheets changed, just beds made. floors were not swept every day. the shower worked and the bath was ok. the satelite tv only has two english speaking channels. the rest are arabic. phones are avail in the room. ok for a quick stay but for the same price better hotels can be found in the same area. i'll know this next time friends stay.

Room Tip: there was no spa or fitness room inside tho they say if you go to another hotel nearby you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Mogador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Hotel

Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Mogador Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ryad Mogador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.