We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to stay in the heart bof the Marrakech medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad El Cadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riyad El Cadi to your Saves list
Riyad El Cadi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“a wonderful place to stay in the heart bof the Marrakech medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We have just had a short break in Marrakech staying at the Riyad El Cadi. We booked it ourselves on the internet and it could not have been simpler. Ali at reception responded every time within the hour. He arranged a taxi from the airport and then a porter to meet us when the taxi could go no further because of the narrow streets. Being met like this is essential as it would be very difficult to find (as most places are in the medina). Dinner was awaiting us when we arrived (9pm) Food is excellent but maybe a bit pricey. If we wanted anything (a dinner reservation, a side trip to the coast etc.) it was done for us. The riyad is very comfortable, all rooms en suite with modern facilities. It is six town houses converted very well into one which sometimes makes it difficult to remember how to get from one part to another. Location is excellent, np more than ten minutes walk to the main square.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    31
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
97
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

A beautiful, stylish and peaceful oasis tucked away in the very heart of Marrakech's old town. You couldn't have a better contrast with the mayhem and heat of the city.

The house used to belong to the German ambassador and is now run his daughter and her family. It's really a handful of riyads (town houses built round interior courtyards) linked together and is practically like a visitor attraction it's so historic.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English (and plenty of other languages I think) and it seemed like we were guest in their house as much as anything. The waiting staff sometimes seemed to disappear altogether meaning you sometimes had to wait for refreshments - don't expect to have a quick breakfast and leave; instead just enjoy sitting in the sun on the roof terrace, admiring the atlas mountains and taking it slow.

Our room was nothing special but the common areas of the hotel really were. It really is in the heart of the medina, meaning you have to cross the bustling and sometimes a bit stressful Jemaa el Fna square to go just about anywhere. You should also expect to walk 5-10 minutes before you can get a taxi or other transport.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

October was the 2nd time we stayed at the Riyad el Cadi - the first time was back in May when we went there to check the place out.

My (now) husband and I were planning a wedding party in Marrakech and were looking for a suitable venue to not only hold it, but also to have all our friends stay. Our search online pointed us towards Riyad el Cadi due to its size (quite large for a riad in Morocco, owing to its true nature of several interconnecting courtyard houses) and its decor and understated chic. i am an architect and my husband very design conscious! Our correspondence with Julia Bartels also helped persuade us to check the place out, as she was completely unfazed by our request to hold a wedding party there, having previously held her own reception. Ours would simply be the first one organised for a guest.

Needless to say the first visit in May we fell in love with the riad, its maze of courtyards, corridors and staircases. Having stayed in plenty of riads in Marrakech before, we also found the staff here incredibly helpful and friendly yet very discreet, another plus point. Julia and her chef gave us a free dinner to showcase their culinary talents for the potential reception, and Julia also spent many hours chatting with us to find out exactly what we would like, and her suggestions on how to potentially have the reception. All boxes ticked, we then spent the following months back in England planning and fine tuning with Julia and Khadija via e-mail.

Fast forward to October, Wedding Weekend. We (and our guests) were met by an army of drivers bearing placards with "Dave and Ella's Wedding" (weeding, read one!) and by Sayid at the square. We arrive back at the riyad to a special reception, tables burdened wiith orange juices, mint tea, baklavas, olives and rose petals everywhere. Our friends and family could not believe the paradise they walked into having battled with the crowds in the square and the souks. Julia said to us, "for three days, this riyad is yours - treat it like your home".. and we did! We were receiving our friends who were staying elsewhere who just came knocking on the riad's doors, and the staff ran around looking after them as well as us without a word of complaint and with their effortless grace and charm.

Come the Saturday of the wedding, we woke up to an army of men and women turning the place into a magical venue in two different courtyards whilst still catering to all of us - every whim was dealt with regardless of whether they had a wedding party to sort out... and what a party it was. The emotional wedding ceremony was held in the Palm Courtyard, transformed into a cathedral-like space, complete with musicians that Julia had booked for us. We then had drinks in the main courtyard which was handled beautifully by Youssef and Simo. Dinner was astounding, tables groaned under the weight of local salads, 4 different tagines and a stunning array of desserts. The musicians played all the way through. The staff very discreetly lit 1001 candles throughout the courtyards whilst we were all tucking into the incredible food. Adjourning back to the Palm Courtyard we found that they had transformed the space from a church-like setting to one for dancing and drinking. Belly dancers appeared seemingly out of nowhere, got the party started, which did not end til the wee hours of the morning. And all the way through the staff worked tirelessly.

Nothing I can say can describe the overwhelming beauty of the riyad, the magic of the the weekend, the treatment of our guests, and the sheer efficiency and excellence of the staff. We simply did not want to leave, in fact the goodbye was very emotional. We now consider them friends.

We would not hesitate to recommend Riyad el Cadi to anyone wanting to hold a special occassion there, whatever it may be. Equally though, it's perfect for a romantic hideout and caters well for families ( we had plenty of them as our guests), all within the most beautiful and authentic setting of any riad we had stayed in.

Thanks so much Julia, Youssef, Khadija and the Team. We will be back with our baby!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Riyad El Cadi was the perfect spot. A restful respite from the buzz of the main square in Marrakech. Gorgeous and enormous rooms with traditional decor... delicious and memorable breakfast under a tent on a sofa on the roof terrace... peaceful dinner in the courtyard. Very helpful front desk staff. They arranged everything and it was all memorable and seamless. Easy to walk to all the major Marrakech attractions from this riyad - just be sure to get someone from the hotel to meet you in the square - it's really hard to find on your first attempt due to all the twisty, unmarked alleys.

We did not want to leave. Stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed here with two other couples for four nights. The location is excellent, with the Jemaa El Fna only a 5 minute walk away, and other sites in Marrakesh within walking distance. The Riad is located down a set of quiet alleys and consists of several buildings connected together. Thus, there are several different courtyards, one with a tiny plunge pool, one filled with palm trees, a flower filled central courtyard, and several private courtyards associated with some of the rooms. Needless to say, there were confusing halls and stairs which wandered around the various rooms and courtyards. The roof top terrace is used for breakfast, but contains only a couple of small tables; otherwise breakfast is served on low tables with pool-type lounge chairs to sit in, not very comfortable. Also, one might imagine that you would get a terrific view out over the city from the rooftop, but actually, you just see more rooftops, all with satellite dishes. Breakfast officially starts at 9:00, although we were able to get it served a little earlier as our guide was meeting us earlier. It did mean we had day old rolls, along with the standard Moroccan bread, honey, jams, yogurt, cut up fruit, coffee, juice. Other cooked items were available for an additional charge. It was nearly impossible to obtain any early morning coffee. If you happened to be sitting somewhere and one of the staff came by, you could ask for coffee, but that was rather hit and miss. We did not have dinner here as it seemed too expensive, but we saw the tables set for others and they were quite beautiful. Each of the rooms is different, some are small and others large, but the ones we saw were furnished nicely, bottled water was provided, and each room had a minibar refrigerator. One of the rooms, which was just off one of the courtyards got a lot of smoke in it from people sitting right outside and smoking. The other rooms were on the first level and didn't have this problem. Because the Riad is set in the Medina, you cannot drive to it, but they provide someone to take your luggage from a parking area; you need to call them to arrange this. The hotel also sent one of its staff members with us at night to help us find restaurants, which, although within walking distance, were confusing to find. The riad has many beautifully furnished areas off the courtyards where one can read, watch TV, play games, or relax. If you sit somewhere long enough, someone typically comes by to offer coffee or tea; be aware that you will be charged for this. In addition, we brought our own wine to enjoy in the evening before we went out to dinner, and we were charged a corkage fee for doing this. There is a computer by the front desk which is available for guests to use. The hotel also has a hammam and can arrange massages.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahg9580
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Having never been anywhere like Marrakesh before we had the most wonderful experience here for a long weekend, we emerged into the hustle and bustle that is Marrakesh and when we had had enough we retreated back into the Riyad into calm and tranquility. The staff could not have been more helpful and if we needed a guide or to organise an excursion we just had to ask and it was sorted. Breakfast was fantastic and kept us going all day. The service was great but never intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

A very stylish riad with helpful and friendly people! We loved that we felt that if we were almost alone here. You barely see other guests and feel like you are in your own paradise :-) The roof terrace is huge and offers a great view to the snowcapped mountains!
Strongly recommend it for a "1001 night" experience

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad El Cadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad El Cadi

Address: 87 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad El Cadi 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyad El Cadi - an oasis of calm welcomes the sophisticated traveller. Riyad El Cadi is a like a private art museum, but without a trace of stuffiness. Spread over 6 houses, the riad is an elegant 'home from home' - a glorious mix of chic, comfort, hospitality and art. Wander around courtyards, corridors and alcoves and you'll discover magnificent Berber and Islamic art treasures - a true feast for culture-vultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riyad El Cadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad El Cadi Marrakech
Riyad El Cadi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad El Cadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.