We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise island in the souks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad El Cadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riyad El Cadi to your Saves list
Riyad El Cadi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86, 87 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Muenster, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“paradise island in the souks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Dive into the souks, hustled by the vendors, amazed by snakes and monkeys, negotiate with the berber, smell the odors... your body and mind go through a wide range of feelings here in Marrakech. Your in the orient. Then you open the door of this beautiful riyad and you step into a different world. Calm and stylish rooms, sunny roof terrace, friendly service and yes, luxury too. If you're willing (and financially able) to mix the authentic market experience with high class overnight stay, this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
100
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days at Riyad El Cadi and love our time there. Our room was lovely and bright and we loved all the artifacts and textiles throughout the riyad. We had a fire lit each evening and enjoyed tea in front of it late afternoon. We shared a Hamman which was fun and celebrated New Year's eve with a delicious meal and music with other guests. Breakfast up on the sunny roof was a fabulous way to start each day. I would thoroughly recommend it as an elegant retreat from the bustle of the Medina.

Room Tip: we loved the Berber Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I celebrated my 50th birthday at Riyad El Cadi a couple of weeks ago with 22 friends from around the globe. We rented the entire place. It was a dream come true! The riyad is in a fabulous location. An oasis of calm. Fabulous service, food (especially the breakfasts) and the rooms---like being in an art museum with gorgeous decor and tapestries and art works throughout. The level of attention to detail from the staff was unlike anything I've experienced (and I travel extensively around the globe for work). They arranged live music the night of the birthday, prepared an elegant dinner, presented me with a beautiful bouquet of flowers and even lit dozens of candles in the courtyard to say "happy birthday." Several guests also took cooking classes with the chef, which included a trip to the market. The most memorable birthday celebration in my entire life!

Room Tip: the berber suite is exquisite as are many other rooms...you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Clusaz, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Everything about this stay was fantastic. The staff went out of their way to ensure our large group was well catered for. Special touches of roses in each room (including sitting rooms connecting bedrooms), breakfast on the rooftop and mint tea by the fireplace really made this stay memorable for me. I hope to go back in a warmer month to fully enjoy the pool and a private terrace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This stunning hotel is like a tardis, with multiple communal rooms to escape to and an awesome rooftop terrace to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast or just soak up the warmth of the city in peace and quiet. It is a real treat for the eyes, with a multitude of traditional rugs tapestries and old wood. The staff were amazing, very attentive and available whenever needed. The food was great too and the breakfast perfect (fresh fruit salad, fresh yogurt, pancakes, croissants or bread, with soft cheese and honey - yum!). The tucked away location has it plus and minus points. It's quiet and away from the mayhem, but like all over Marrakech the small alley ways are not to be walked alone, especially after dark.

Room Tip: Overall all the rooms are fantastic although there are a couple to avoid if you can - the Camel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel with only 12 rooms is a combination of 8 small houses hidden within the bustling souk. Each room is different and special. It cannot be compared to any hotel, motel or other place I have previously stayed. We had the 'suite' over the patio overlooking the garden - beautiful. The fire place was lit for us each night. Heating was also available in the bedroom as in the shower room. The staff was more than helpful and provided the necessary support for our transportation to and from the organized driver each day with our luggage/or golf bags. Free wifi in the patio. A private haman/sauna with massage is available upon request. Breakfast on the roof or in the patio was romantic!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garching an der Alz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a workshop in November in this location. It is a beautyful, lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. The room, where we had the workshop in, was a little bit cold, because the ancient doors couldn´t be closed very well, but the staff did their best to make it as comfortable as possible.
To recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad El Cadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad El Cadi

Address: 86, 87 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#90 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad El Cadi 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyad El Cadi - an oasis of calm welcomes the sophisticated traveller. Riyad El Cadi is a like a private art museum, but without a trace of stuffiness. Spread over 6 houses, the riad is an elegant 'home from home' - a glorious mix of chic, comfort, hospitality and art. Wander around courtyards, corridors and alcoves and you'll discover magnificent Berber and Islamic art treasures - a true feast for culture-vultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riyad El Cadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad El Cadi Marrakech
Riyad El Cadi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad El Cadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.