We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riyad in the heart of the medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad El Cadi

Save Saved
You added Riyad El Cadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riyad El Cadi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #56 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great riyad in the heart of the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely hotel with extremely helpful staff. The hotel and patios are beautiful and it is difficult to believe you are just steps away from the craziness of Jemma El Fna. Great breakfast as well. Would have loved to have had time to use the hamam....Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
97
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had really been looking forward to my stay at Riyad el Cadi, and all of my high expectations were surpassed. Everything was truly first rate: the location, the style, the amenities, the room, the food, the staff. I would never stay anywhere else in Marrakech and have recommended to all of my friends and family.

I was a little bit worried about how I would fair on my first trip to Morocco, as a young(ish) woman, travelling with another female friend, but I need not have been worried. We never really felt unsafe and found Moroccans to be very welcoming, friendly and interesting people. That said, Marrakech is pretty intense with all of the crowds, cars, motorcycles, horses and donkeys, not to mention the pressure to buy at all of the stalls. For this reason, I was particularly pleased we stayed at Riyad el Cadi. It was very close to all of the action in Jemaa El Fna ( main square), yet it was in a good neighbourhood, and once inside the door, it was blissfully quiet and peaceful. You could really unwind from a hectic day of touring or shopping!

Finally, just wanted to say my two favourite aspects: I am a bit obsessed with interior design, and the interiors of Riyad el Cadi were to die for! – incredible collection of art works, beautiful lamps, and rugs. Beautiful, authentic Moroccan furnishings edited with a slightly more minimalist, contemporary European eye. Just loved it! Also, the staff were so lovely and all seemed to be multi-lingual - we were extremely impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

brilliantly designed and thoughtfully put-together riyad in the heart of the medina, but amazingly quiet, considering the chaos outside the door !! Wonderfully helpful staff - Ali, Saïd, Tarik et. al. - made us feel totally at home and spoiled. And do yourself a favor - have dinner here one evening - wonderful kitchen, nice Essaouira wine, and dessert, in the beautifully lit courtyard, all with lovely music playing in the background .... we stayed in the Master Suite, with quiet rooftop lounge chairs, canopied courtyard, wonderful layout, just a real treat to stay there. Breakfast on the upper terrace also a real treat. And meeting the riyad's owner Julia was a bonus. Fascinating labyrinth of rooms leading through other rooms through hidden courtyards to a pool .... one wonders at some point if you'll find the way back .... Great travel experience here !!!
Only caveat - could use a more comfortable mattress !!

Room Tip: We put AC on at night to help with morning noise, since we wanted to sleep in a bit ... otherwise am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The el cadi makes you feel at home, tastefully decorated, excellent service, a hamam just for you - the perfect place to relax after a busy day in the fascinating old town of marrakech - what else do you want

Room Tip: difficult to choose, every room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Riyad El Cadi is a perfect spot for the ones who dream about experience Marrakech: the structure with courtyards and hidden rooms makes you feel how it would be to live in that place. The staff is attentive in the Moroccan way, which means friendly and always ready to suggest you options like dinner, hamam, tours or cooking classes but you don't see them walking around the riyad as in American Hotels, which means you get all the privacy you need.
The Riyad also offers shuttle service from and to the airport and you should take it. Once the Riyad is inside the Medine, it's hard for the first time visitor to get to it. After your first night it's easier to find yourself in the Medine and it's another point for R.El Cadi: it's not far from the square and the souks (markets).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

labyrinth of narrow hallways and staircases that lead to patios, roof terraces and incredibly beautiful courtyards (one with a small pool, one with lemontrees, one I haven't even found yet). Beautiful traditional rooms, good food and super friendly staff. Layout of the place makes it easy to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The El Cadi was a fabulous experience for our entire family. Ali and his staff arranged everything for us from airport pickup, trip to the Atlas Mountains, dinners and a cooking class held right at the Riyad. We stayed in the Blue House which was perfect for the family and the pool enjoyable for hot afternoons. The Riyad staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. We so enjoyed getting to know each of them. Breakfast on the roof top should not be missed. I cannot imagine how different our experience would have been without staying in the Riyad, especially at the El Cadi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad El Cadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad El Cadi

Address: 87 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad El Cadi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyad El Cadi - an oasis of calm welcomes the sophisticated traveller. Riyad El Cadi is a like a private art museum, but without a trace of stuffiness. Spread over 6 houses, the riad is an elegant 'home from home' - a glorious mix of chic, comfort, hospitality and art. Wander around courtyards, corridors and alcoves and you'll discover magnificent Berber and Islamic art treasures - a true feast for culture-vultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riyad El Cadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad El Cadi Marrakech
Riyad El Cadi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad El Cadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.