We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Oasis of Ease and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad El Cadi

Save Saved
You added Riyad El Cadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riyad El Cadi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
20% Last Minute
Ranked #65 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quiet Oasis of Ease and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This charming Riad close to the famous "Djerma El Fnaa" in the middle of Marrakesh Medina is truly recommendable! A friend and I stayed for 3 nights and it was so relaxing and cosy. I wish it had been longer. You feel like King and Queen in the cool garden courtyards, the lovely furnished Salons...The rooms were beautiful, clean, cool and quiet. Everything is decorated and furnished with love and charme, a thousand candles at night, sunset-dinner at the roof-top, very romantic and truly a special place, managed with love, care and true marrocan hospitality! We also really enjoyed the Hammam and Pool. Moreover the Service is really First Class. The friendly and caring staff is extremely helpful in any situation you can think of.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
97
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have spent three nights in the Riyad which we will never forget. We had book a double room with separate beds ... but due to very quite constructions we were upgraded to the "maison blue". We immediately fall in love with this beautiful house, the calm and cool patio, the smell of the orange tree and the wonderful interior. The staff was very amiable and definitely contributed to our wonderful experience! You can very quickly enter the busy life of Marrakech or enjoy the view from the terrace. If you decide to stay there do not miss a breakfast on the roof terrace or book a dinner. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

A Riyad with only good things to say. Very nice decorated (incl. fine art), clean, high quality, excellent food, very nice staff and owner. Perfect location - very close to Jama el Fna. Will go there again this year and can overall recommend this Riyad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

5 minute walk from the "Big Square" at the end of a narrow alley. Through a non-descript door into another world of splendour. Wonderful staff could not be more helpful. Suggesting restaurants (all fabulous), making the bookings and even providing a guide was done with the least amount of fuss. A meal at the Riyad itself is a must. Our room was better than expected and worth every penny. Breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of the Atlas Mountains was indeed a special occasion. We spent four nights at Riyad El Cadi and certainly hope to return one day. Special memories of a special place.

Room Tip: First floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The staff were extremely helpful, we had a wonderful dinner at the Riad our first night, we loved the Maison Bleue - perfect for families as it is your own courtyard house within the Riad. The location is fantastic. Don't be alarmed by the walk in - you can't drive to the hotel - a porter comes and takes your bags and you follow him across the main square and then down a very chaotic, narrow road (Derb Dabachi) that seems like a pedestrian road but isn't (donkeys, scooters, bicycles) right near many souks and then suddenly you duck into a quiet dead end and after 300 m more of winding through quite dark passages you arrive at the gorgeous sophisticated Riad hidden behind a huge wooden door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We couldn't have asked for more from the Riyad from the time we booked until our departure. Perfectly located just 2 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Jemma el fina, the Riyad somehow manages to be a little sanctuary of quiet and calm indulgence. Wonderfully cosy rooms and other little spaces to stop and relax with some mint tea at every corner; we hardly saw another guest the whole stay. The service was impeccable at all times. The charming staff couldn't have done more to attend to our needs. Breakfast on the roof terrace is not to be missed and make sure you have a meal at the Riyad; probably the best food we ate in Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon in Marrakech and were delighted with our experience. The service in particular was excellent - we returned to the riad for one final night after a week away exploring the country and were pleasantly surpised to find they had prepared us a welcome snack, upgraded us from a room to a suite, and prepared the hammam (Turkish bath) for us.

The rooms were simply and elegantly furnished, with interesting features such as handwoven rugs and unusual artwork hanging on the walls. Our room was a little cool at night as it was in a shady courtyard but we thought that was to be expected in a traditional rather than modern home. The riad overall was lovely and had unexpected charms - when taken on a guided tour one of the staff pulled back a big tarpaulin on the roof to reveal a drop down into a courtyard where a wonderfully fragranced orange tree was growing. The scent hit us like perfume. Oh, and breakfast on the sunny rooftop was a treat.

The location was very central - only minutes from the main square- which was great. Some guests may find it a drawback that the riad is down a winding alley with a very rough, potholed surface that is difficult to navigate on foot, nevermind in a wheelchair / vehicle / with a pushchair. But the advantage was that it was tucked away from the chaos of the city.

Overall, really lovely.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad El Cadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad El Cadi

Address: 87 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad El Cadi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyad El Cadi - an oasis of calm welcomes the sophisticated traveller. Riyad El Cadi is a like a private art museum, but without a trace of stuffiness. Spread over 6 houses, the riad is an elegant 'home from home' - a glorious mix of chic, comfort, hospitality and art. Wander around courtyards, corridors and alcoves and you'll discover magnificent Berber and Islamic art treasures - a true feast for culture-vultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Otel, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Riyad El Cadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad El Cadi Marrakech
Riyad El Cadi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad El Cadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.