We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel room, poorly lit restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Medina & Spa

Save Saved
You added Atlas Medina & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlas Medina & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
gagadju
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel room, poorly lit restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our hotel room had a balcony overlooking the garden, outdoor restaurant below and the swimming pool. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Like all other hotels in Morocco, there were no slippers, complimentary bottles of water or tea/coffee however, it did provide us with bathrobes. The hotel grounds had nice greenery and there were lots of seating areas away from reception where one could attempt to connect to the wireless internet. Like all the five star hotels I have stayed at in Morocco, this one also suffered from poor and very slow internet connection. No one used the swimming pool, so I think like all the other hotels that we stayed at on this tour, it wasn't heated and therefore too cold for swimming in winter.

There is a bar near the restaurant and in the evening a live band performs there. The restaurant in early morning and at night is poorly lit. I have good vision and even I struggled in there. It was worse for those who are visually impaired as the restaurant was pitch black to them. All the hotel has to do is use brighter lights. There is no need to create a romantic ambiance if people cannot find their way to the buffet or see what they are eating on their plate.

This hotel is located in the area of Marrakesh where there seems to be a concentration of hotels. It is a good half an hour walk to the bustling market (Djemaa El Fna).
The spa at this hotel is very expensive and difficult to book as the lady at the spa reception only spoke French and Arabic with very rudimentary English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the garden area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    231
    108
    52
    37
See reviews for
65
216
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

As soon as we opened the door to the first room we had been allocated, you could smell that there was a drainage problem. We therefore immediately asked, and were given, another room with no problems. The Hotel is well presented on the ground floor but there is no disguising that the rooms need some refurbishment. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean and we'd be happy to return.
We were there for two nights with a tour group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

stayed there for two days last month(november) overall experience was good, good ambience, good facilities, helpful staff, had nice courtyard in the middle, restaurant was good , but slightly expensive, choice of food was also good.
Rooms were spacious with nice window opening towards a street. overall enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I only stayed here for one night during a tour through Morocco and I wish it were much longer. My room was huge with a nice and comfortable king bed and a sofa/sitting area next to the bed and another small sitting area with a sofa and 2 chairs by the window. The window slide open. The bed had one of those thicker comforter/sheet combos on it, I didn't notice a thin light sheet on the bed. The room did not have a balcony but some did. My room faced the pool area and it looked beautiful. When I got into the room there was a free bottle of water, plate of pastries, and small bowl of fruit waiting. The room had a tv with some English channels, AC/heat controls, a safe, good sized closet, scale, hairdryer but no iron or clock radio. The hotel does offer wake up calls. The bathroom was spacious with some nice toiletries, the bath tub was a bit high to climb into and may be difficult for shorter or older people.

The staff in the lobby area was very friendly & helpful. They offer free WIFI in the hotel but it was a little slow. I had breakfast in the restaurant and it offered a nice variety of things to eat. There is a limited menu for lunch and on the pricey side, service was a bit slow as well.

I wish I had more time to explore and enjoy this hotel because the pool area looked wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

service was fantastic at the hotel. room was clean and up to standards of typical 5 star. Im giving a four because it didnt meet my expectations with other european hotels. no mini shaving kit or toothpaste if u forget urs, and no iron only expensive laundry service. location is in the middle of airport, gueliz and jemma el fna. single trips 20 to 40 dirhams. and coffee shops and grocery store, mcdonalds walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is nice and service is kind but... If staying there you may sleep or not depending on noise. The disco is located right below the rooms so the nights when they open de disco it is hard and almost impossible to sleep. And not that there is noise at 1am but... at 6am you still hear the music out and loud. Not a place to stay if trying to enjoy your stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good hotel, well located (5 minutes driving with taxi to city centre) and with a nice garden outside. However, i found this not a 5 star hotel in European standards, i would rather give it 4 stars. The hotel is 10 years old and you can see some parts of the hotel might need a renovation in the near future. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Food was good, but not overwhelming, that's why we went to 2 other restaurants for dinner during our stay. We liked the pianist in the restaurant at evening. Prices at the bar for 1 beer were too expensive. Personnel at the reception is friendly, but some were quite rude or not interested. Overall, we were happy of our stay at the Atlas Hotel Medina and i would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Medina & Spa

Address: Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Medina & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlas Medina & Spa is surrounded by a garden of 5 hectares in the heart of the Wintering in Marrakech. It offers rooms with private bathrooms, a spa and free parking. Conditioned Atlas Medina & Spa rooms have a TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace overlooking the pool or garden and all have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Atlas Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Medina And Spa
Atlas Medina Hotel Marrakech
Medina Spa Marrakech
Atlas Medina Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Medina & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.