We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Medina & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas Medina & Spa to your Saves list
Atlas Medina & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The double room we booked was not up to the standard we expected with no slippers, a broken socket and it had a strong smell of cigarette smoke. We asked for a different room at reception the next day and was given a much better one: cleaner, no smoke smell, plate of fruit on the table, flowers and basically looking much more like a really nice room. The bed was not a double though, they were 2 large singles that we had to push together. Very firm mattresses.
Despite the eco notice about where to put your towels if you don't need the changed, the cleaners will change them but not straight away - in the morning while you're at breakfast and then will come back about 4pm with the replacements. This is inconvenient if you need to shower or bathe within this time. There's a good omlette station at buffet breakfast (6.30 - 10.30am). Morrocan tea was great, also French bread, Viennese pastries, very limited cooked veg and fresh cut fruit, boiled egg, hot milk and selection of Lipton teas early one, they run out towards 10am. So you can really pace yourself and treat it almost like a brunch.
Pool water was fairly cold mid morning but good! No lifeguard though. Hardly anyone swam in it when we stayed for 5-6 days. Similar menu offered in bar and one restaurant apart from the one where breakfast is served. They give olives and nuts at the bar with the food but not elsewhere. Great singer and guitar player at the bar. I would say the standard of the house keeping was pretty basic. But all the staff are friendly especially if you're courteous and greet/speak French to them. I think it has the potential to be an excellent hotel with the facilities they have but not there yet. It's spacious which I thought was lovely but then they had a constant stream of package tours.
They have beautiful grounds where we really enjoyed a long walk after breakfast as the weather was wonderful, not too hot or bright.

About a tour, we took the one to the Berber village advertised in the hotel among others. Be warned, this involves rock climbing a mountain to see a waterfall which was very nice (though it wasn't Niagara rpoportions!) but potentially extremely dangerous involving a slippery metal ladder! And boulder and almost a vertical climb literally. I do not know how we survived it back down (a different slightly easier route). We went to one very nice restaurant outside of the hotel but they served similar types of food, burgers, brochettes of chicken or mini burgers, pizzas (really good!), grilled fish, pastas. No alcohol outside of the hotel but plenty of mocktails which were enjoyable.

Market place was pretty hardcore, sellers will be very persistent if you show any kind of interest. You need to be firm or you'll feel really harrassed. I just tried to remember that they're only trying to earn a living. I loved the semi precious stone and silver jewellery but if you're not confident in choosing, avoid as you could end up paying too much for not good quality. Some of the woolen coats and jackets, robes with the hoods, leather slippers, small leather goods were worth buying but research your prices and quality of sewing etc..
Walking around was ok except for the road crossing - they can be a little hairy and I was approached by beggars which was hard. Best if you have a working knowledge of French since outside of hotels, signs will be in Arabic and French only, even the menus.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms on the inside facing the swimming pool but you can look into it because there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    260
    120
    58
    37
See reviews for
79
244
28
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at this great new hotel. The lobby is grand and well decorated. Dinning and breakfast rooms were great. Food was good for buffet dinner and breakfast. Great and fast service.
We even had bacon for breakfast.
The pool and pool side were great. On our last night, we had pool side entertainment. The girl was a great singer, singing in Spanish and English.
The room is spacious and clean. Good bed, though a bit too firm.
We could change money at the reception at a good rate for local currency.
Wifi was free and fast in my room. Best we had so far in Morocco.
We had enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this hotel is very modern my room was nice and the best amenities of all the hotels we stayed in. My only comment would be no iron or board but this seems to be the common thing about Spain Portugal and Morocco. Banks close by attractive area, small convenience store a short walk away. Taxi rank out front. Lovely reception area, restaurants and gift shop

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Compared to it's sister hotel in Fez this hotel is a real step up. I am not able to find significant negatives except to say yet again the bath/sowers from hell are still in existence. Also I want to sent a drainage plunger to every Europeon hotel. We have not had one where the water from bath or hand basin doesn't take forever to drain. However all in all this hotel is very good. Very nice room, lovely outdoor areas, magnificent pool. Lunch and drinks can be delivered from outdoor catering setup. Staff are lovely. A taxi fare to the market and souks is 60dh's in a large Mercedes taxi and about 40dh in a "petite" taxi. Drivers are friendly and go by direct route to hotel. Breakfast foods are plentiful and tasty. We were very happy with this hotel. Spent two nights there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent there just one night as a part of our grand tour of Morocco. Probably because it's a one-night stay hotel for many tourists they do not care much about the service. It took them quite a lot to check us in and there was still a less fortunate couple whose room was not yet ready (at 4 pm!!!) and they had to wait for another 30 min.
When we finally got into the room there were no towels, pillowcases and bathrobes! And again it took them 30 min to bring them.
The food is good but scarce, it disappears as soon as it arrives and if you haven't managed to get something you wanted you have to wait.
At breakfast they had absolutely not fresh orange juice, and not a great variety of food.
But the territory is well keeps and clean as if it compensates for the discomfort and inconvenience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived at hotel and all seemed nice until went to room which was dirty. When I went to reception to ask for a clean room was given a different room but was told the view was not as good. What could be worse than looking over a dump. The second room was even dirtier. When I went back to reception and spoke with the manager, his response was" madam the hotel is full we don't have time to clean all the rooms." he then asked me what I wanted done. He said there was nothing he could or would do. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in my life but this ranks as one of the worst! I understand standards are not the same. I have traveled all over the world - china Tibet, kenya, tanzania, Mexico, Caribean, Europe and North America, but of all the 3, 4 or 5 star places I have stayed this the worst. Most of the night was kept awake by packs of howling dogs. The patio door is broken and won't lock, paint is peeling off the walls, the TV works sporatically and the barhroom has black mold.The staff is incredibly rude and condescending. The food is barely edible. All in all once you get past the lobby the hotel is below average. Would recommend
avoiding this hotel. The hotel is booked by mostly tours groups and they know that the individuals will probably never be back, so they are not interested in repeat business, because they know the tour groups will keep coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

i spent few days in this hotel,
the rooms are big and very comfortable the AC works very well, the staff is good and ready to answer all your questions.
the beak fest is a good buffet and they can prepare other things if you ask them to.
good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Medina & Spa

Address: Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#203 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlas Medina & Spa is surrounded by a garden of 5 hectares in the heart of the Wintering in Marrakech. It offers rooms with private bathrooms, a spa and free parking. Conditioned Atlas Medina & Spa rooms have a TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace overlooking the pool or garden and all have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlas Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Medina And Spa
Atlas Medina Hotel Marrakech
Medina Spa Marrakech
Atlas Medina Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Medina & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.