We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Medina & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Atlas Medina & Spa to your Saves list
Atlas Medina & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this hotel is very modern my room was nice and the best amenities of all the hotels we stayed in. My only comment would be no iron or board but this seems to be the common thing about Spain Portugal and Morocco. Banks close by attractive area, small convenience store a short walk away. Taxi rank out front. Lovely reception area, restaurants and gift shop

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    241
    111
    55
    37
See reviews for
73
232
26
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Compared to it's sister hotel in Fez this hotel is a real step up. I am not able to find significant negatives except to say yet again the bath/sowers from hell are still in existence. Also I want to sent a drainage plunger to every Europeon hotel. We have not had one where the water from bath or hand basin doesn't take forever to drain. However all in all this hotel is very good. Very nice room, lovely outdoor areas, magnificent pool. Lunch and drinks can be delivered from outdoor catering setup. Staff are lovely. A taxi fare to the market and souks is 60dh's in a large Mercedes taxi and about 40dh in a "petite" taxi. Drivers are friendly and go by direct route to hotel. Breakfast foods are plentiful and tasty. We were very happy with this hotel. Spent two nights there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent there just one night as a part of our grand tour of Morocco. Probably because it's a one-night stay hotel for many tourists they do not care much about the service. It took them quite a lot to check us in and there was still a less fortunate couple whose room was not yet ready (at 4 pm!!!) and they had to wait for another 30 min.
When we finally got into the room there were no towels, pillowcases and bathrobes! And again it took them 30 min to bring them.
The food is good but scarce, it disappears as soon as it arrives and if you haven't managed to get something you wanted you have to wait.
At breakfast they had absolutely not fresh orange juice, and not a great variety of food.
But the territory is well keeps and clean as if it compensates for the discomfort and inconvenience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived at hotel and all seemed nice until went to room which was dirty. When I went to reception to ask for a clean room was given a different room but was told the view was not as good. What could be worse than looking over a dump. The second room was even dirtier. When I went back to reception and spoke with the manager, his response was" madam the hotel is full we don't have time to clean all the rooms." he then asked me what I wanted done. He said there was nothing he could or would do. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in my life but this ranks as one of the worst! I understand standards are not the same. I have traveled all over the world - china Tibet, kenya, tanzania, Mexico, Caribean, Europe and North America, but of all the 3, 4 or 5 star places I have stayed this the worst. Most of the night was kept awake by packs of howling dogs. The patio door is broken and won't lock, paint is peeling off the walls, the TV works sporatically and the barhroom has black mold.The staff is incredibly rude and condescending. The food is barely edible. All in all once you get past the lobby the hotel is below average. Would recommend
avoiding this hotel. The hotel is booked by mostly tours groups and they know that the individuals will probably never be back, so they are not interested in repeat business, because they know the tour groups will keep coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

i spent few days in this hotel,
the rooms are big and very comfortable the AC works very well, the staff is good and ready to answer all your questions.
the beak fest is a good buffet and they can prepare other things if you ask them to.
good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed two nights on tour.on arrival the entrance and foyer looked good but when we went to our room and had a look around and swim plus deal with the front desk it all went down hill.the lay out and general design is very good but MAINTINANCE must be forbidden here. Everywhere you look and anything you touch or want to use is damaged broken or absolutely worn out and dirty. Our room had the following broken. Towel rail,table to put your bag on only had three legs left,the fawcett in bath and the piping for the shower was hanging out of the wall,lights in bathroom hanging on wall,toilet door would not close as it was swollen from water damage,the shower water could not be regulated it was red hot or freezing cold the mixer did not work,the
sheets on the bed were a size to small and only did part of rested, the balcony timber rails are all rotten therest for breakfast had sparrows flying around on table etc,the pool was very dirty on the bottom with tiles missing as well as drain plugs,there was a lot of pavers around the pool loose,24 of the 60 deck chairs were broken or had one wheel on no wheels the balance had bird droppings all over Them.the service at the pool bar was no existent and when you can get someone they only speak French,do not know the price of a lot of drinks plus they have no change to give you.the front desk are rude and not helpful
The breakfast was very good the porters were quick even though one lift was stuck.

Room Tip: Try not to stay here if you can there are alot of other hotels within a 1klm radius of this place.if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
2,348 helpful votes 2,348 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

...if only they understood the concept of customer service. Wonderful lobby and common areas and the rooms are also large and spacious. We had a room on the third floor with a view of the pool, which was really nice. The beds were comfortable and my head sunk into the pillow so I had no problem sleeping. However, the internet is slow as molassas and when I called down to inquire if there was a problem, I was even told that "we do not have good internet. Come to the lobby and use one of the computers in the business center." So I trekked downstairs, as inconvenient as it was, only to find both computers occupied. I even subscribe to a private internet service (Boingo) for times like these, but even they didn't offer a connection at this hotel.

The other problem is the scarcity or rationing of food. This hotel caters to tour groups, most of which have meals included with their accomodations. Because it's basically all you can eat, they have a monitor standing at the buffet watching while you're filling your plate. He doesn't say anything-just stands there looking stern. One woman told him that they were almost out of both the fish and chicken at dinner one night and asked if he could let the kitchen know so that the could replenish and he just said ok and didn't move. After about 15-20 more minutes, they finally brought out new pans of both chicken and fish, but both were only about half full and the chicken emptied quickly. We left shortly thereafter so have no idea how long it took to bring out more and I'm sure he made no effort to help. Obviously, his assignment is to look like a monitor so people won't take or waste so much. It sure me feel uncomfortable, although I eat small portions, anyway. Fortunately, breakfast the next morning had no monitor, they was a good selection of food and they even had an omelette station, which had a constant line and the omelettes looked good.

But the lack of good internet service and the monitor at dinner were a big turnoff for me and if I returned to Marrakech would certainly not choose to stay here, even though it's a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Medina & Spa

Address: Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlas Medina & Spa is surrounded by a garden of 5 hectares in the heart of the Wintering in Marrakech. It offers rooms with private bathrooms, a spa and free parking. Conditioned Atlas Medina & Spa rooms have a TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace overlooking the pool or garden and all have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Atlas Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Medina And Spa
Atlas Medina Hotel Marrakech
Medina Spa Marrakech
Atlas Medina Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Medina & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.