We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Medina & Spa

Save Saved
You added Atlas Medina & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlas Medina & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while on a tour. Our room was large with lots of room to put suitcases & it also had a lounge. It was situated on the top floor with a good size balcony which had a nice view overlooking the pool area. Our room was near the lift area but was very quiet and we couldn’t hear any outside noise. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable as were the pillows. There were also a couple of small holes in the sheet on the bed. The bathroom was also large with a shower over the bath. At times both the lobby and lifts smelt of smoke. Breakfast was good and you could get omelettes & eggs freshly cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    231
    108
    52
    37
See reviews for
65
216
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

...as others have commented, this benefit was seriously marred by poor maintenance standards.

Similarly with the common areas; appealing at first but poor maintenance and cleanliness standards quickly become apparent on closer inspection. We also stayed in their sister hotel in Fez and I seem to recall similar issues there. It would seem that there is a poor maintenance culture with this chain so probably best to avoid.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. The reception staff was pretty dry but efficient. The dinner waiter was straight up rude and the dinner buffet was highly disappointing. Dried up chicken and fish and some salads. Very blah. Breakfast was a little better but nothing special either.
The room was very comfortable and clean. It had a little balcony which sadly faced the construction across the street although noise was never an issue.
The little store downstairs had cute things which weren't too ridiculously expensive.
Overall it was a very decent experience. I only stayed one day which included the meals I had. Maybe I caught the kitchen on a bad night?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

You have to deduct one star compared with American/European standards. Then further for other deficiencies. In our case the wifi only works in the lobby and barely even then. The beds are hard and the sheets are not fitted so the come undone. Same with the duvet. The Bathroom is all good with bidet and nice assortment of amenities. The A/C works well and their is a nice pool area and garden. Breakfast was good with Omelets and good assortment of pastries. Fruit was lacking so we mainly had yogurt. Ver pleasant setting. Location is a bit off from attractions. Their are a lot of fine Hotels in Marrakesh.
This is part of a chain of Hotels which I would rate similarly and mainly used by bus tour groups.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is close to airport and Medina and new town centre. It looks wonderful and 5*, it is big and spacious with big,luxurious rooms and bathrooms. The moment we arrived they treated us great. We went for our honeymoon and they gave us twin room, but quickly replaced it with one with enormous double bed with poolview. Breakfast was various and tasty, but restaurant is bit expensive so we dined out of hotel.
Staff helped us with all inquiries and called places for us. At the end of the stay there was room service which we did not use and there was no problem for them removing it.
The room tax of 28,6 MD pp is mentioned in booking and was no surprise for us (and I take it its for every hotel in Morocco).
Overall, we had a pleasant 5 night stay in this lovely Marrakesh hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with poolview and on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our first impression was that of a complete building site and to add to it our bedroom was facing the complete demolition of the hotel opposite. The room was grubby and although our bed had been made it looked as though someone had had a lie down on it. We requested another room and were placed around corner with a busy road for a view. (best rooms face the pool).
The balcony was a risk with the fencing being thoroughly rotten and at danger at any given time of giving way. Definitely not a room to be in with children. The pillows were as hard as rock and gave us a dreadful neck ache and the bathroom was tired with grout missing and the bath stained.
There also was a very strange ritual of staff knocking on the door at 9 am asking for the towels and even though room had been cleaned at times the towels were not returned till very late afternoon.

Reception staff were unhelpful and quite grumpy. Drinks were extremely expensive and to add to our discontent the waiter took cash for our drinks and decided he would keep the change without even offering us our change. When challenged later in the evening he grudgingly agreed he had forgotten to give us our change.

On a kinder note the pool man was courteous and always helped to find a chair for us with a smile. The breakfast was also good with a good choice of cooked foods and pastries.

Finally make sure you are advised about the extra taxes the hotel charge you on a daily basis. Even though we had pre paid this hotel we were charged an extra tax every day. On our departure not knowing about this we happily took off in yet again an over priced taxi only to find that the hotel had gone to all the trouble of finding the cab drivers mobile number and phone him to demand he take an extra £6.00 from us for the last days taxes. Can you imagine our horror. Certainly not a destination we will re visit.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool have a better outlook although just as tired as the rest.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour. At first glance this hotel ticks all the boxes but on closer inspection it seems the owner does not realise a hotel needs renovation after 10 years in operation. It is quite tired in many areas, particularly the rooms and public areas. The first room I was given was a joke - the door wouldn't close (sagged on hinges) plaster was cracked, balustrading on balcony severely weather damaged. Was given other room which was better (still had to slam the door to get it to shut though). The bathroom had insufficient hooks and no clothesline. The wi-fi is free and worked fine in the room, but not so well by the pool. The lounge and bar area seemed nice although dominated by a big tv showing soccer matches. The pool area was good and the attendant prompt to remove towels and reposition pool chairs as soon as they were empty, even if one had left other belongings there! With all the hotels available in Marrakech I suspect there are better choices than this one, at least until it is fixed up a bit. If you do stay here insist on a room overlooking the pool, and if allocated 431 reject it out of hand!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Medina & Spa

Address: Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Medina & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlas Medina & Spa is surrounded by a garden of 5 hectares in the heart of the Wintering in Marrakech. It offers rooms with private bathrooms, a spa and free parking. Conditioned Atlas Medina & Spa rooms have a TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace overlooking the pool or garden and all have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Atlas Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Medina And Spa
Atlas Medina Hotel Marrakech
Medina Spa Marrakech
Atlas Medina Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Medina & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.