We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 girls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayoub Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ayoub Hotel to your Saves list
Ayoub Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Medecine Lamhita, Marrakech 14000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #441 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

very cheap great staff, we couldn`t complain about anything, but we didn`t eat there, we are going back again to see our friend hamid who works there we loved it

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    5
    15
    9
See reviews for
5
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

It is an average hotel with average accomodations. The rooms were basic, but clean. A buffet dinner and breakfast are included in the price (I didnt know when I booked), but are very basic and repetitive. The biggest concerns involve the staff and the location. It is far from the Medina. If you want to be close to the action then this hotel is not for you. The staff were not very friendly and only a couple were proficient in Spanish or English. They were not helpful at all with advice about the city unless you wanted to book a tour through them in which case they were your best friend. I am sure they get comission from booking tours. Instead go to an actual agency were it will be 25-30 % less.

  • Liked — Couldn't beat the price
  • Disliked — Inaccessibility and the staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

Booked from easyJet Hotels.com at an excellent price.

Hotel is excellent value for money and the rooms are basic, but clean. Only grip was the air conditioner / room heater didnt work, and it did get a little cold at night in January.

Food - Breakast is very very basic! Orange Squash is offered not Juice, with a selection of sweet pastries. In the evening the food is a little repetitive but okay. Best advice is to eat in the Jemma el Fna sqaure in the evening - great experience!

Service - I found it was nothing special. Bar staff came accross as being quite rude, however the hotel restaurant staff came accross as being friendly.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

Very cheap stay at this interesting and comfortable hotel. Bad bits - evening meals were a little repetative. Bidet was a fountain and the shower had to be hand held. Good bits - Excellent friendly staff. I liked the eating fresh bread made in front of your eyes for breakfast. It was easy to reach from the airport - Taxi. We walked to town a couple of times but it took about an hour to get to the square. Taxi's were cheap -15 Dirham if you got one with a meter. Some of the others tried to charge four times that much!. The town is great. The hotel echos a little so if there was a noisy group in you would here them!. We had a quiet week. Great supermarket and fruit stall at the bse of the hotel.
Once again - the main attraction is the comfort anf friendliness of the staff (Tip frequently but not too much)

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed at this hotel, a family of 3. We were given a room with 4 beds. The first room we stayed had problems with the Heatin and TV. Moved to another room which had these working OK. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed.

The room needs some maintenance but nothing too much of a problem.
The breakfast was continental style with freshly fried parathas, with slight waiting time as most people wanted these. Dinner was OK but repeated.

Some front office staff speaked good English and gave directions. We went to Chez Ali(Moroccan evening with Dinner and a show) and a trip to Ourika, booked through the Hotel. Overall our 5 day stay was good.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

A No Frills 3 Star Budget Hotel

I stayed here for 7 nights was given a room with 3 single beds (I only paid for a double plus child £140). But was upgraded to a quad room (4 single beds) free of charge. I booked via Thomascook but found it a few pounds cheaper with medhotels.

The hotel is only 15/20 minutes from the Airport you should pay no more than 100DH for a grand taxi (Mercedes). Good customer service there are 2 men who work on reception who speak good English they do offer you day trips excursions but check other places like Sahara in Djemaa el-fna who were cheaper or even hire a private taxi which works out cheaper if your in a large family.

The rooms were clean & the cleaners came round ever day to tidy up the room. The beds were not very comfortable but bearable. Last year my brother stayed here and told me there were some cockroaches in the bathroom. Thankfully I did not see any, and my wife checked every nook & cranky, cupboards & draws. There was a shop behind the hotel selling spays just in case.

The bathroom was basic but functional, no problems with hot water. There was also a fridge which was very handy as I purchased a pack of 24 bottles of mineral water and stocked up for the week. There was A/C with remote & a TV with a remote with worked fine. There were no English channels but mbc2 showed Hollywood movies in English with Arabic subtitles in the evenings.

The design & layout of the building was nice with 2 lifts. There was a small pool, ok for teaching kids to swim but there are no towels or guard, and the water was cold. There was a safe in Reception where I decide to keep my passports, & the hotel offered currency exchange at the same rate I got at the airport £1 = 16.35DH.

Breakfast was very simple some rolls, cheese, honey & croissants and tea ,coffee & juice thankfully we took our own Weetabix for the kids, as there was no cereals on offer, however there was a lady who made fresh Paratha in the mornings, she was in demand usually people queuing up ! Probably because there was nothing else better to eat.

I noticed some people complaining about the morning call (Azan) but this is to be expected as there are Mosques are located everywhere in Marrakech. I did not have any problems with power sockets either I just used a standard 2 pin converter bought in the UK for a £1 form any high street pound shop.

The bad thing about this hotel is the location it’s out in the sticks! Nowhere near the centre so you need a taxi if you want to go anywhere unless you fancy a long walk. The problem for me was we are a family of 4 and the small taxi’s are only licensed to carry 3 people. So we had to get a grand taxi or take 2 small ones, and because the hotel is north of Gueliz you don’t get many taxi’s we found ourselves fed up sometimes just waiting & waiting.

Overall the service I received in the hotel was excellent, with the downside the location. But for £20 a night for 4 beds & breakfast this place was a bargain so you can’t really complain.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

We had a very cheap holiday to Marrakech, £160 each including breakfast for 7 nights. The Hotel Ayoub is a 3 star hotel situated a good 20 minute walk from the Medina and 500 metres from the local prison. The staff are very friendly and the food is good, there is even a bar serving alcohol, very popular with the locals who were in there most nights from about 6pm.

The downside to the hotel was the fact that the mattresses needed to be replaced as they were extremely uncomfortable and every morning at 05:50 you could get an alarm call as the minaret was not far away. My advice is to book a 4 day trip, a week is just too long.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayoub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayoub Hotel

Address: Medecine Lamhita, Marrakech 14000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayoub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ayoub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayoub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.