We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camel ride through La Palmeraie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Palmeraie

La Palmeraie
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 61 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Parks, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Vitre, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Camel ride through La Palmeraie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked our camel ride through our riad. They booked our other excursions with good success so we trusted them to steer us to the best. The driver who took us out to the camels even stopped and bought us cold, bottled water for our trip. We had a great ride. It was my first time riding a camel and I was really looking forward to it. I wanted to go faster than we did but it was great fun and longer than what most people are stating here. I guess we went to the right camel guys! We were told they are not actually camels but "dromedaires". Our guide told us camels are in Australia and another place, but not in Morocco. Some of the estates we passed were amazing. Lots of money in real estate out there. I really want to go back to Morocco and take the three day tour into the Sahara to sleep in tents. Sounds cool.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    31
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth stopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best way to visit the palmeraie, is through the hop on hop off bus, climb on and sit in for the hour long ride. You will go pass nice hotels and golf courses. The driver will take a 5 minutes break, where you can take a few pics of the camels. But do it from your bus as if you climb down the cameliers are likely to ask for a small fee to the pic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seen the worst part pbly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went there with a horse wagon. Driver took us to a single stand. No choice to look for another offer. Had a 20 min camel ride (promised >30mins) throught a dump. Trash everywhere inbetween some single palm trees. Completely our fauft for not insisting of going around a bit more to see cheaper camel rides. Driver takes you there where he gets comission.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
849 helpful votes 849 helpful votes
“Camel Rides! (don't get ripped off!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We drove out near La Palmeraie to ride camels.

The 'camel lords' as I'll call them try and charge upwards of 600 dirhams for an initial price of a 30 minute camel ride.

For 2 people and a 30 minute rode each on our own beast we ended up paying 200 dirhams (100 each).

This is my second time on a camel. 30 minutes is more than enough time. In fact I would've been more than happy with a 10 minute ride.

Either way, still a fun experience in Marrakech!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Villas, colour, beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

While much of the Palmeraie lies behind the walls of the rich and famous, just cruising through its lanes and byways is a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. Visit one of the many hotels or restaurants in the Palmeraie for lunch and enjoy the wonderful views of the date palms and the mountains in the distance behind.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palmeraie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.