We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellah

Mellah
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the Jewish neighborhood in Marrakech. Here you´ll find the Lezama Synagoge, an important historical site, as well as other eating and shopping opportunities.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The synagogue is hidden away on a back street. It is worth a look and has an interesting collection of Sephardic Judaica. Other than than the synagogue there was very little evidence of a Jewish presence here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank antbethf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Where is it exactly?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Although the mellah has a history to it, it's quite difficult to know when you're in it. The buildings are apparently smaller and have balconies, and residents lived above. Having said that, this isn't always obvious to the tourist looking for signs of the mellah. Take a guide.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Marrakech really touched my heart, a lot of people warned me about staying safe as i am a young blonde girl. My advice is cover up dress modestly and wear a scarf around your head if your fair and they respect that you are respecting their culture.
As for the mellah its wonderful, such vibrant colours and interesting smells and objects everywhere, my only warning would be some one will try take you everywhere and they will rip you off, find your own way. It may look like a maze but it does all join up eventually, if you are lost ask someone in a shop to get you back to the main square, they are helpful!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Marrakech Mellah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spend an interesting day visiting the Jewish quarter, first through the market which was full of fascinating spice shops, haberdashiers and more goods for its inhabitants than a tourist place. Then walked the very narrow and fascinating streets of the mellah ending up and round to the Stork restaurant for lunch. Good way to spend a morning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anne_kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“jewish quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The cemetery was a hauntingly sad place as it felt forgotten and unloved. The Halal market did not look salubrious. I believe there are about 200 Jews living here and I suspect they are all very poor which is reflected in the neighbourhood's scruffiness. well worth a wander.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellah also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing