We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in a too hectic city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Assafir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar El Assafir to your Saves list
Dar El Assafir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 bis, Arset el Hamed | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a too hectic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Dar El Assafir is a well hidden jem at sufficient distance from the hectic, noisy, stinky city centre of Marrakesh. It takes a 10 to 15 min. walk to Djemaa el Fnaa but this makes it the perfect oasis of calm. The owner and staff are very helpful and not morning over a special request. Cleaning lady is very honest in returning lost money. The pool is too small for a descent swim but excellent to cool down. Having very good breakfast alongside the pool is quite charming. The riad is a very good choice though the price is at the high-end compared to similar others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

the staff was extremely friendly and made us feel home. The riad is run by a family and you have a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The architecture and details in typical Moroccan style are beautiful and the pool makes you feel in paradise after a hot day in the medina. definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Unfortunately this is probably the worst place I have stayed in. It is really run down and badly maintained and the staff are not easily accessible. Our aircon didn't work properly so we complained after finally finding a member of staff. They said they would fix it and they wouldn't let us move into another room even though they had a vacant one! After a very hot night we complained again in the morning and this time they admitted that they had previously had problems with the aircon and that it now needed more gas. The toilet also didn't flush properly and the sink didn't drain which they never fixed! I feel that the manager didn't really care and there certainly were no apologies. Our breakfast was very basic with no fruit. Definitely a very shabby place as I read in someone else's review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here with a tour. We would probably not have made this choice on our own but it was clean and quiet. Our suite was quite large with an outdoor sitting area right outside our door. The bathroom could use a bit of updating but again, it was clean.

I am not sure if it was well located to the Medina as we went by car every time we visited but the location was very quiet. The pool in the center of the Riad is a nice touch.

The staff was helpful when something was requested of them but aloof at other times. The cooking class did not encourage much participation, mainly just watching the chef prepare the dish.

Not a bad choice as I understand the price is a good value but it is not as special as others you might find for exploring this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want the 5-star, top-end luxury, rose petalled, almond toasted service that Marrakech can give then this Riad is definately not for you. The Riad has a fairly 'shabby-chic' feel but that's not the point - it is insane value for money. The guys who run the Riad are very friendly and you don't feel stressed at all as it's got more of a 'hostel' feel. We wanted to stay in a Riad with our two teenage girls and ideally wanted an apartment sized room so we could be self-contained. One night we had dinner around the corner in the amazingly beautiful Riad Kniza (yes, Brad Pitt and Will Smith hire it out when in Marrakech yadda, yadda) and overheard a very posh pair braying that their two young daughters were deposited in rooms on the opposite side of the Riad to them. Couldn't really see the funny side of that one. Therin lies the problem with most Marrakech Riads, they are not set up for family accomodation or co-joining rooms. That's where this place delivered in spades. The three bed accomodation is huge, with a spacious living area, surrounded by 3 bedrooms, a TV lounge and a day bed large enough for all four of us to doze/chat and read on. It's like a mini Riad within a Riad! OK the furniture is a bit shabby, the shower is basic, but it was quiet and I have never seen such an gargantuan lamp in my life hanging in the domed living area!
There's been a couple of people whinging about breakfast in reviews below. Yes, it is basic, freshly squeezed OJ, handcooked pancakes (yum) and huge stack of the local flatbread with honey, yoghurt and apricot jams, and served in a cute little verandad area surrounded by flora and fauna. Again, I stress this is not a Riad that's going to charge you EURO20 for a gourmet breakfast. There are plenty of those in Marrakech already. One last word on location. It is a great location for the old town medina and the new town on the west. We walked through the Bab Doukalla to Jardin Marjorelles and there is a Taxi rank a short walk away. In the past we stayed more centrally in Marrakech - but sans kids and this Riad is quiet, just out of the madness, perfect if you have a familly in tow. Stay there - if you are taking family, if you want great value, if you like shabby chic, if you want a huge room. Thanks to the Dar El Assafir for a great stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Go for the 3 bed apartment if you are a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed a large, quiet rooms or our first days in Morocco. The staff was helpful and friendly. My husband and I enjoyed a cooking class with the wonderful ladies in the kitchen. I loved the sound of the birds and access to the roof. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Riad Dar El Assafir is tranquil retreat in the old section of the city within walking distance of the main square. It is an authentic riad with a modern feel which contains more plants and flowers than most. There are two courtyards, one with a refreshing tile swimming pool and the other with a large cage of multi-hued lovebirds who provide background "music" during the day but retreat into their nesting boxes at night. Our room was magnificent, suite-sized with a walk-in closet area and huge divided bathroom where the tub/shower was built into an old mosaic fountain. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. A wonderful, relaxing experience!

Room Tip: We had room #1 on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar El Assafir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Assafir

Address: 24 bis, Arset el Hamed | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar El Assafir 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Dar El Assafir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Assafir Hotel Marrakech
Dar El Assafir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Assafir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.