We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LovelyTropical Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Assafir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar El Assafir to your Saves list
Dar El Assafir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 bis, Arset el Hamed | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“LovelyTropical Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Riad Dar El Assafir is tranquil retreat in the old section of the city within walking distance of the main square. It is an authentic riad with a modern feel which contains more plants and flowers than most. There are two courtyards, one with a refreshing tile swimming pool and the other with a large cage of multi-hued lovebirds who provide background "music" during the day but retreat into their nesting boxes at night. Our room was magnificent, suite-sized with a walk-in closet area and huge divided bathroom where the tub/shower was built into an old mosaic fountain. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. A wonderful, relaxing experience!

Room Tip: We had room #1 on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Dar El Assafir is a charming Riad just minutes away from the Jamaa el Fna Square in Marrakesh. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and comfortable. The staff is friendly, welcoming and available to assist you with any questions or problems. I enjoyed my time here and would consider a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dar El Assafir in the last week of February 2012, we loved it! This was our 2nd riad experience and this one totally outshined the previous...
I e-mailed a week before arriving, asking for a room with a quiet location. Well, that's exactly what we got! A room doesn't begin to describe the 3-bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment we got, the place was huge!
The whole layout of this riad is appealing: 2 courtyards (of which one had a plunge pool) end a nice roof terrace for enjoying a sunny February breakfast. The breakfast consisted of freshly baked msammen and another small roll, pieces of a baguette, jams, yoghurt and freshly squeezed OJ.
The staff were very friendly and in no way out to sell you excursions and whatnot.
No minusses at all? Hmm, the location is very good (a bit close to the Bab Doukkala mosque), on the edge of the medina. Our previous riad was smack in the middle of a local market street, which added to the atmosphere. But then that one didn't have parking right outside the door. Which means El Assafir is perfect if you have a rental car.
Cleaning maybe could be done more thoroughly, but it was done well enough for North African standards. The bed was a bit hard as well.
All in all we recommend this place heartily.

Room Tip: If you are with a family of max. 6 people, book the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

If one likes tranquility, no phone,radio,TV, fridge, total quietness, away from the manic crowds, then this Riad is ideal. A 5-10 minute taxi ride to all places worth seeing or a 15 minute stroll to Place Jemaa El Fna square.
Breakfast was very basic but adequate, coffee excellent. Their attempt at a scrambled egg was poor.
I had a double bed room upstairs which was lovely and large and comfortable. Small problems I encountered, which could be over come if someone carried out maintenance, sewage smell in the mornings, bath and wash basin water extremely slow to drain, curtain pull back supports coming out of the walls, keys to bedroom door and the main Riad front door difficult to operate.
The staff were friendly and helpful and my basic Arabic and French was enough to get by.
Overall the Riad could do with a good spruce up, it just looked tatty and run down.
Would I stay there again ? probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

From the moment we arrived when our cases where whisked to our room, to the moment we left and thougtfully given the airport embarkation cards we were looked after very well at Dar el Assafir riad. Staffed by very helpful people and the layout, design and atmosphere make it a perfect counterbalance to the happy hustle and bustle on the streets and souks that is Marrakech

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I took my 16 managers for a weekend in Marrakesh, satying at Riad Dar El Assafir was the best decision I made as I stayed in several Riads but this one by miles the best in terms of its space, rooms, decoration, plunge pool, the libraries, the bird cage and the service.

Jibril & his brother Amin looked after us all weekend inside & outside the riad.
I can't thank Amin enough for his support when one of our colleagues broke his arm and had to be taken to hospital , Amin was there from the start to finish.

I would recommend this Riad to all my friends, Family and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Dar El Assafir was lovely. It was my first experience of a Riad and I loved it. The staff were really nice, the food was good and the sun was shining. The market is just down the road, and the location is close to the airport. I would like to visit this Riad again.
Thanks
Richard

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar El Assafir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Assafir

Address: 24 bis, Arset el Hamed | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar El Assafir 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar El Assafir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Assafir Hotel Marrakech
Dar El Assafir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Assafir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.