We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Majorelle

Jardin Majorelle
Rue Yves Saint Laurent, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
+212 (0)5 24 31 30 47
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$29*
and up
Marrakech Botanical Tour
Ranked #1 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nicely designed and maintained gardens, similar to those of Generalife in Granada, Spain. It’s a good place to recoup from the intensity of the market atmosphere.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth the walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

we stayed in the old city and the walk to Jardin Majorelle was a little long, but what a strange and beautiful garden!!! The colors are so saturated, we got the best photos from our trip there! It can get a little crowded, but it's worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,905
    4,124
    1,573
    298
    118
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands , England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Its a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the city to spend a few hours wondering round here. Its a photographer's heaven. Very reasonable admission prices. Berber museum can be visited for an extra 10dirhams (about £1) - Buy the combination ticket. Well worth half a day. Only downside is getting here on foot from Jamaa El Fna (Pedestrian crossings are few and frankly ignored), and the arrogant, aggressive taxi drivers when you come out, ( usual trick , want to get you in the taxi without telling you what the fare is going to be). Not very well signposted, so study the map before setting off.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was pretty. Don't let the taxi drivers just outside cheat you when you're returning to the Medina. We paid 50 Dirham (for a family of four in a Grand Taxi) from Djema el Fnaa to the gardens, and they wanted 100 for the return. When we refused, then they found us a taxi for 50.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a delightful quiet botanical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

fascinating well-designed gardens with the Yves Saint Laurant touch. The Bereber museum in the gardens well worth the extra cost to visit. Do try to get there early before the crowds arrive and do not pay the taxi from the square more than 25dh for the trip out.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I first visited the gardens about 10 years ago. I also went inside the house, which I did not do on this occasion. The gardens have matured so much since my last visit and it was truly a haven of peace and tranquillity in such a bustling town. The prevalent blue colour is such a contrast to the plants and flowers but it is magical. We enjoyed a 45 minute stroll around admiring the different varieties of plants from tall bamboos, to wacky cacti and colourful bourgainvilla. There were a few water features which added to the ambience. It is not far from the centre of Marrakesh (150 dhms from the Medina by taxi and the driver will wait for you for about 30-40 minutes). It is walkable too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Majorelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jardin Majorelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin Majorelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.