We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Majorelle

Jardin Majorelle
Rue Yves Saint Laurent, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
+212 (0)5 24 31 30 47
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 90 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nicely designed and maintained gardens, similar to those of Generalife in Granada, Spain. It’s a good place to recoup from the intensity of the market atmosphere.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worth the walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

we stayed in the old city and the walk to Jardin Majorelle was a little long, but what a strange and beautiful garden!!! The colors are so saturated, we got the best photos from our trip there! It can get a little crowded, but it's worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,425
    2,800
    1,096
    204
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands , England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Its a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the city to spend a few hours wondering round here. Its a photographer's heaven. Very reasonable admission prices. Berber museum can be visited for an extra 10dirhams (about £1) - Buy the combination ticket. Well worth half a day. Only downside is getting here on foot from Jamaa El Fna (Pedestrian crossings are few and frankly ignored), and the arrogant, aggressive taxi drivers when you come out, ( usual trick , want to get you in the taxi without telling you what the fare is going to be). Not very well signposted, so study the map before setting off.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was pretty. Don't let the taxi drivers just outside cheat you when you're returning to the Medina. We paid 50 Dirham (for a family of four in a Grand Taxi) from Djema el Fnaa to the gardens, and they wanted 100 for the return. When we refused, then they found us a taxi for 50.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a delightful quiet botanical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

fascinating well-designed gardens with the Yves Saint Laurant touch. The Bereber museum in the gardens well worth the extra cost to visit. Do try to get there early before the crowds arrive and do not pay the taxi from the square more than 25dh for the trip out.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I first visited the gardens about 10 years ago. I also went inside the house, which I did not do on this occasion. The gardens have matured so much since my last visit and it was truly a haven of peace and tranquillity in such a bustling town. The prevalent blue colour is such a contrast to the plants and flowers but it is magical. We enjoyed a 45 minute stroll around admiring the different varieties of plants from tall bamboos, to wacky cacti and colourful bourgainvilla. There were a few water features which added to the ambience. It is not far from the centre of Marrakesh (150 dhms from the Medina by taxi and the driver will wait for you for about 30-40 minutes). It is walkable too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Majorelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jardin Majorelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin Majorelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.