We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jardin Majorelle, smell of YSL Opium in the air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Majorelle

Jardin Majorelle
Rue Yves Saint Laurent, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
+212 (0)5 24 31 30 47
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #6 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nicely designed and maintained gardens, similar to those of Generalife in Granada, Spain. It’s a good place to recoup from the intensity of the market atmosphere.
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jardin Majorelle, smell of YSL Opium in the air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Once you enter, air getts colder at once. This is because of the very high bamboo trees covering the sun.all the garden ''screams'' art and touch of an artist, Strong colors everywhere and a lot of plants i never seen before. YSL boutique was too exensive for me. Very nice morning spent there. only thing is that there are not many signs ob the street to direct you there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,698
    2,458
    973
    175
    67
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ratoath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Was very busy when we went and hard to get a photograph without someone in the background! Well worth a visit though!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Jardin Majorelle is definitely a peaceful escape from the heat and craziness of Marrakech. But I wasn’t blown away.

There were no explanations as to why the gardens were built or what the plants were. Maybe my expectations were too high but all I was underwhelmed.

Unfortunately the museum was shut when we went.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited the YSL gardens today, it costs 50 dhs per person to get in and 25dhs extra for the museum, it is full of tourists but didn't spoil it at all really tranquil gardens beautifully kept the colours are lovely. All in all well worth the small entrance fee and the YSL gift shop I too die for. Worth a visit 100%, also my boyfriend was converted and had a really nice time loads of nice photo opportunities.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Magical Jardin Majorelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had dreamed of visiting Jardin Majorelle for years. I have a slight obsession with Yves Saint Laurent and his book of Love.
All of my expectations were exceeded. The flora and fauna are landscaped so beautiful that I felt like I was in another world. The Berber Museum houses Yves Saint Laurent and Pierre Berge's private collection of Berber artifacts. After you exit the museum make sure you go into the Galerie Love, an exhibit of Yves Saint Laurent's LOVE cards that he personally made each year to give to his closest friends on New Years. When you get hungry walk into the cafe and be greeted by puffs of cool mist floating over the dining area...... ummm yeah it's that great.
Before you leave make sure you visit Yves Memorial.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Majorelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jardin Majorelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin Majorelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jardin Majorelle to your Saves list