We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in Marrakesh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tachfine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tachfine Hotel to your Saves list
Tachfine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bd. Zerktouni | Angle Rue Mohamed El Baqqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #415 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Long weekend in Marrakesh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just spent three nights at this hotel, very friendly staff, food in restaurant was good, breakfast a bit basic. Beds very comfortable, good room size. I found it okay. If you like bartering in the markets you'll be fine. Don't wander off the beaten track as can be a bit scary, we went to find the tanneries you need a strong stomach!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossomtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

spent too nights here recently. Excellent, confortable bed and very efficient AC and peaceful room, despite being underneath the bar, meant that we had an excellent and refreshing nights sleep.

However, the problem with the hotel was its cleanliness - I have never seen such a badly cleaned room with large bits of dust and crumbs everywhere! We viewed two rooms in the hotel that were exactly the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinoudelondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

More of a city break than a summer holiday. Yes breakfast was the same everyday but the waiter was friendly and attentive. Great place for young people with nightlife and trendy bars not for the older couple.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My partner and I, stayed at this hotel in september 2011, before moving on to Essaouira. On arrival about 6pm , the guy on the desk acted as though he could'nt be bothered, was half asleep. Not a good start for our 3rd time in Marrakesh.
The lift to our room was tiny and smelly. The room basic , smelled musky, we opened curtains to our balcony to let in air, it stayed open all the time of our stay [only 3 nights thank god]
1 plus, the towels were actually white and clean!!
Breakfast [don't bother] the lift was broken, so we had to walk up stairs, not good as I have a bad hip. There was only 1 other couple having breakfast at the time, although all tables were laid out and the hotel was full. Soon found out why! An old man 80ish did his best to provide for us even though there were younger staff hanging around, doing nothing. I asked for more orange juice, which he willing provided, He was very attentive, I felt sorry for him working at that age, whilst others lazed about, so I tipped him a few dirhams [30] Hope he got himself a treat, he deserved it.
On the first day,after shopping, tired and thirsty, went to the hotel bar, ground floor and got told we could'nt have a drink [closed] locals in having a drink and it was 2.45pm. Closed at 3pm.
We were told to go to the roof top bar, closed as well. Was'nt a happy bunny.Nearly had a row with staff, but gave up and went to our room for drinks [bought from shop nearby].
We did'nt eat at the hotel again, but there are good cheap cafe/bistro's within yards nearby.
The roof top bar and veranda is ok at night , good veiws, cheap drinks, music and full of locals. The bar toilets are something to be desired {YUK] don't GO there, use your room loo instead.
I am not new to Marrakesh, so know what to expect, but for a 3 star hotel it's diabolical.
NEVER again.

Room Tip: No tips, but it's ok for those on a tight budget, just don't expect the Ritz
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gr20goody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

For the price I suppose I feel a little bad rating it as poor, but 3 stars it isn't. The hotel is old and dated in a bad way. Even down to the rugs, linen, curtains, towels. They are all faded and look several decades old. Some of the rooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms) are in a state of disrepair (holes in the walls, floor, ceiling, doors broken, plumbing dodgy. How they justified buying brand new flat screen tvs for every room and not buying new sheets is beyond me. The air con is very noisy and the balcony door doesn't close.

That said it is cheap (even includes breakfast), safe and clean. I have paid more and stayed in worse. The breakfast was plain but safe. The location was fairly convenient. It is ideal for a short stop off for a night or if you are backpacking on a budget. Otherwise pay a bit more for somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: The penultimate floor I would imagine is quieter. The top floor is away from the noisy street but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djk1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

room very dirty esp bathroom, very noisy, breakfast very poor, furniture very dated all furniture had paint splatters all over them only 1/2 a toilet roll a day put in room builing work going on over the road so ver noisy 48mins walkt to medina asked for new room but it never happened was so dissapointed would not reccomend at all

Room Tip: dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We moved to the Tachfine Hotel after staying a few days in a rather poor hotel nearby. We negotiated a small discount with the lady manager as we were a group of 10 staying for about 10 days. The staff were courteous and helpful and the rooms were clean and tidy and we were given a floor to ourselves. We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was good and reasonably priced. The hotel's location is excellent with plenty of restaurants and cafes and the train station nearby and its only about a 20 minute stroll to the old walled city and market. The only real negative point is the breakfast, which was the same everyday and very basic, a simple thing to fix by offering a choice such as omelettes or cereals. We handed over our passports, but were not asked to register, which seemed a bit odd. The roof bar is smoke filled and dingy, but we did not spend any time in it. The Tachfine is simple and good value for money and we will use it again if we visit Marrakech in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#418 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#384 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#421 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#379 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#373 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#322 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tachfine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tachfine Hotel

Address: Bd. Zerktouni | Angle Rue Mohamed El Baqqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tachfine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tachfine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tachfine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing