We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but grubby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tachfine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tachfine Hotel to your Saves list
Tachfine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tachfine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bd. Zerktouni | Angle Rue Mohamed El Baqqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but grubby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

spent too nights here recently. Excellent, confortable bed and very efficient AC and peaceful room, despite being underneath the bar, meant that we had an excellent and refreshing nights sleep.

However, the problem with the hotel was its cleanliness - I have never seen such a badly cleaned room with large bits of dust and crumbs everywhere! We viewed two rooms in the hotel that were exactly the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    19
    12
    13
See reviews for
7
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

More of a city break than a summer holiday. Yes breakfast was the same everyday but the waiter was friendly and attentive. Great place for young people with nightlife and trendy bars not for the older couple.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My partner and I, stayed at this hotel in september 2011, before moving on to Essaouira. On arrival about 6pm , the guy on the desk acted as though he could'nt be bothered, was half asleep. Not a good start for our 3rd time in Marrakesh.
The lift to our room was tiny and smelly. The room basic , smelled musky, we opened curtains to our balcony to let in air, it stayed open all the time of our stay [only 3 nights thank god]
1 plus, the towels were actually white and clean!!
Breakfast [don't bother] the lift was broken, so we had to walk up stairs, not good as I have a bad hip. There was only 1 other couple having breakfast at the time, although all tables were laid out and the hotel was full. Soon found out why! An old man 80ish did his best to provide for us even though there were younger staff hanging around, doing nothing. I asked for more orange juice, which he willing provided, He was very attentive, I felt sorry for him working at that age, whilst others lazed about, so I tipped him a few dirhams [30] Hope he got himself a treat, he deserved it.
On the first day,after shopping, tired and thirsty, went to the hotel bar, ground floor and got told we could'nt have a drink [closed] locals in having a drink and it was 2.45pm. Closed at 3pm.
We were told to go to the roof top bar, closed as well. Was'nt a happy bunny.Nearly had a row with staff, but gave up and went to our room for drinks [bought from shop nearby].
We did'nt eat at the hotel again, but there are good cheap cafe/bistro's within yards nearby.
The roof top bar and veranda is ok at night , good veiws, cheap drinks, music and full of locals. The bar toilets are something to be desired {YUK] don't GO there, use your room loo instead.
I am not new to Marrakesh, so know what to expect, but for a 3 star hotel it's diabolical.
NEVER again.

Room Tip: No tips, but it's ok for those on a tight budget, just don't expect the Ritz
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

For the price I suppose I feel a little bad rating it as poor, but 3 stars it isn't. The hotel is old and dated in a bad way. Even down to the rugs, linen, curtains, towels. They are all faded and look several decades old. Some of the rooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms) are in a state of disrepair (holes in the walls, floor, ceiling, doors broken, plumbing dodgy. How they justified buying brand new flat screen tvs for every room and not buying new sheets is beyond me. The air con is very noisy and the balcony door doesn't close.

That said it is cheap (even includes breakfast), safe and clean. I have paid more and stayed in worse. The breakfast was plain but safe. The location was fairly convenient. It is ideal for a short stop off for a night or if you are backpacking on a budget. Otherwise pay a bit more for somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: The penultimate floor I would imagine is quieter. The top floor is away from the noisy street but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

room very dirty esp bathroom, very noisy, breakfast very poor, furniture very dated all furniture had paint splatters all over them only 1/2 a toilet roll a day put in room builing work going on over the road so ver noisy 48mins walkt to medina asked for new room but it never happened was so dissapointed would not reccomend at all

Room Tip: dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We moved to the Tachfine Hotel after staying a few days in a rather poor hotel nearby. We negotiated a small discount with the lady manager as we were a group of 10 staying for about 10 days. The staff were courteous and helpful and the rooms were clean and tidy and we were given a floor to ourselves. We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was good and reasonably priced. The hotel's location is excellent with plenty of restaurants and cafes and the train station nearby and its only about a 20 minute stroll to the old walled city and market. The only real negative point is the breakfast, which was the same everyday and very basic, a simple thing to fix by offering a choice such as omelettes or cereals. We handed over our passports, but were not asked to register, which seemed a bit odd. The roof bar is smoke filled and dingy, but we did not spend any time in it. The Tachfine is simple and good value for money and we will use it again if we visit Marrakech in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Hotel standard is as in other reviews. A dated hotel on its last legs. There are some funny practices going on here.

Booked over the internet the night before. In afternoon tried to check in. Not on list, but we provided an accommodation voucher that we printed from an internet cafe. Took our passports off us (couple), (guide book states that it is a requirement to have passports on person at all times as a legal requirement whilst in Morocco), but would not let us fill in the registration documents. Given keys to room -> Room not serviced, bed not made. Given keys to room 2 -> Room not serviced, bed not made. Given keys to room 3 -> Room serviced, air conditioning didn't work. Went out of hotel. On return another air conditioning control provided that worked. Next day went by train to Casablanca, and got passports back in case we had to stay in another hotel.

On return late saw lots of people waiting for lift to Terrace, Next day tried to go to Terrace in morning but told closed. That evening 7ish went up to Terrace by direct lift. There were a few single women drinking alcohol alone at tables. Couple of guys with 2 of the women. Later after dinner, a very hard young lady went up in lift with high heels and very short skirt. It looked like the Terrace was very seedy.

Spoke to Receptionist about a taxi to the airport the next morning. He told us that there was a fixed price of 150 dirhams. I said that this was far too much, but he said that the fair was fixed and he would book a taxi for the next morning. I said no as the guide book states a fixed price of 50 dirhams. He phoned the room to try and get us to book with him. The next morning we walked out of the hotel and got a taxi on the street straight away. We ended up paying 100 dirham inclusive of a tip for the driver.

On checking out, there was a problem. We "owed" money as the room was not paid for. We stated it was and they had the paperwork. I showed the booking email and credit card payment on a phone. After much disagreeing, a phone call was made (to a manager?) and we were asked for tax, 1 euro a night each for our stay at the hotel. This did not happen at any other hotel booked in the same way in Morocco, So a local tax was being collected in a foreign currency, even though no tax was due. This could not be converted directly to the local currency of dirhams by the receptionist. After some arguing the receptionist waved us off reluctantly.

What would have happened if our passports were behind the reception desk?? As we had not filled in the booking forms, were we officially at the hotel, or was the hotel trying not to pay local tax by keeping us off the register???

This is a cheap hotel and worth the money, however, the underhand practices, and attempts to extract money in terms of overcharged taxis and made up tourist taxes means
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL it is not worth the hassle.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tachfine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tachfine Hotel

Address: Bd. Zerktouni | Angle Rue Mohamed El Baqqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tachfine Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Tachfine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tachfine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tachfine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.