We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL TOUR SCAM” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tachfine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tachfine Hotel to your Saves list
Tachfine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bd. Zerktouni | Angle Rue Mohamed El Baqqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #407 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Agra, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“HOTEL TOUR SCAM”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in tachfine hotel for 8 nights and while there, agreed to do one of the hotel operated tours to the famous waterfall - after paying 350 dirhams in full before the tour, our driver on the day drove us 4 hours before dropping us off on the side of the road and
telling us it is a transport only tour, the hotel has not paid for a tour guide and we would need to pay all over again for a tour and to be walked through the track to the waterfall. Hotel offered an apology and admitted it was supposed to be a full day tour but we did not receive any money back, a discount nor an explanation for this full day "tour". Cleanliness was iffy at best, any requests take days to fullfill and
no wifi in room as promised. Won't
be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    23
    12
    17
See reviews for
9
30
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed in Tachfine for 1 week April this year. Yes it's basic, but for £20 B/B what do you excpect. I have paid twice as much for worse in Blackpool. The breakfast was always the same, a daily fresh bread roll, small portion of jam/butter/cheese and a large croisson, no variation. Room was clean, and towels/bed sheets changed often. Bar/ restaurant is on the 6th floor, for all floors for security you must go down to the ground level in the lift, then up in another dedicated to 6th floor only. The bar is frequented by locals men and women, and seems popular. No local women are allowed in any Morrocan hotel room as a guest. The tour buses (2 tours) leave from about 100yds away, and is stop no 1. for both tours, tickets are valid for 24hrs and good value as you can stop and go along the route. To Medina Sq takes about 10min and costs approx 3euro in a taxi.
Most of the bad revues seem to be a few years old, and I would ignore.
There is nothing actually bad I could say, apart from the same breakfast every day.
A good well located cheap base to see Marrakech.
I will go back again in September.
The Very Good rating is for a cheap hotel. ( it is not 3 star)

Room Tip: You are not getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Had a four day break in Marrakech and didn't want to spend a fortune on accommodation. The Tachfine is in a newer part of the town and was probably built in the 50s.I don't think a lot has been spent on it lately. It was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful. The main criticism would be the breakfast, which was very basic and the French bread we always love was not as good as our local Coop convenience store's. They have a street level veranda which gets the sun but it wasn't exploited as much as it could have been. We ate there a couple of times and the food was good an inexpensive. The main advantage of the Tachfine is that it is about 50 yeards from the cross roads where the double decker tour bus starts. Well worth getting a 24 hour ticket as you can spread over two days. It is a hop on hop off service and there are two main tours - the old town and what they call the Oasis, which goes out of town to ares full of desert palm trees. We uses the bus to suss out the best hotel for a swim and sunbathe and returned there a couple of times. On our anniversary the receptionis arranged a trip to the Atlas Mountains with another couple. A very pleasant day out.
You can get a service bus into the main square or walk it... probably just over a mile down a main road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We agreed wtih one of the negative comments in other reviews - it's true the crockery at breakfast benefits from a quick wipe from your serviette before you use it but, aside from this, we thought this hotel was very acceptable for the price. The room was pleasantly furnished in the local style and, from the 5th floor, there was always an interesting view of activity on the street below from our balcony. It's an easy an enjoyable walk into the Medina, and we would have missed many interesting sights, especially the wonderful gardens, if we had stayed in a Riyadh in the Old Town and not walked in every day. The breakfast is unimaginative, it's true (but great if you love Dairylea triangles and crunchy-crusted, fresh white bread). It's worth staying here, though, just for the delightful elderly waiter who serves at breakfast - a lookalike for Ben Kingsley in Gandhi - who, though speaking little English, had a warmth and sense of humour that made it a sheer pleasure to start the day in his company. All the staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly, without being over-trained and obsequious (this is not 5-star, thank goodness!) and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

i travelled with my husband this is my second stay at this hotel why cause good value for money,near train station,in the city i love noise thts what marrakech all about noise fab, clean room, staff were very welcoming,breakfast was simple at least food went in my tummy,balcony just great loved the view the hustle and bustle of marrakech, i would def recommend this hotel 2my friends,im travelling again and am booking this hotel again service was exellent could not ask 4 better x

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We spent a night on two occasions at this hotel in Marrakech, located near the train station in the new district of the city. The first stay we were met by rudeness and a very pushy bell boy who insisted on a tip before the bags hardly touched the floor in our rather shabby room. The reception staff insisted it was not possible to have a cup of coffee at 6 am because breakfast didn't start till 6:30 - other places had kindly even offered us a pack breakfast if we left very early. As it happened, a nice elderly man DID serve us coffee and bread before 6:30 and we were happy to leave him 20 Dirham. The early morning reception staff was also at least friendly though unhelpful. On our second stay (we tried to cancel but didn't get an internet connection in time) we experienced the same extreme rudeness of the reception staff (insisting on a 'voucher' when none is given if booked online). We knew our booking was in their diary since we checked on our previous visit and eventually he relented though no apology. In the evening we ventured up to the 'terrace' where we found an extremely smokey lounge type atmosphere with rather sozzled-looking characters (both men and women!) and tables covered with empty beer bottles. A rather bizarre site after 2 weeks travel in Morocco. It was quite a heavy atmosphere so we left. The rooms are beyond shabby, noisy, TV not working, poor repair. We would not recommend this place even though it seems convenient for a quick departure for an early morning train. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We found this hotel very dirty, the crockery in the dining room was covered in dust, when we complained and assured it would be sorted, it wasn't. The toilet leaked and had a big crack in it. The next room we had was a bit better but there was a horrible smell . Loved Marrakech but would definately never go to this hotel again. It is not as clean and shiny as the pictures point out. If you stay there you will be dissappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tachfine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tachfine Hotel

Address: Bd. Zerktouni | Angle Rue Mohamed El Baqqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tachfine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Tachfine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tachfine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tachfine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.